We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring Orkney”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Travelmai...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Orkney”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment on the outskirts of Kirkwall is a total delight. It's easy to walk or drive into town - plenty of free parking - and in the other direction you have a lovely walk to the beach or the distilleries.
The apartment itself is beautiful, with everything provided. I always go with a box of essentials when we are self-catering, as we have on occasion found no soap and had to go and buy foil, clingfilm etc. Christine and Colin have thought of everything, and that was very impressive. There was a nice welcome pack of goodies when we arrived, and plenty of advice and guidance if we needed it.
We could have stayed much longer than a week, and I'm sure we will return, certainly to Wayward Apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mdolly_82
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and my friend have just come back from spending a few days here, we couldn't of asked for anything more it was perfect, beds were comfy clean and fresh bedding, whole apartment was clean and tidy, Colin and Christine were very friendly and helpful. Very accessible for anyone with disability issues. We will definitely be booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter L
1 review
“Perfect apartement”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderfull apartement, very clean and spacious. Everything you may need is in it s place. perfect for two couples. Just 15 minutes on foot to the center of kirwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Highly recommend this apartment. It was BRILLIANT! Very clean and was like a home from home. The owner is very helpful and kind. Definitely coming next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pflannery...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb apartment in excellent location”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for a week in June 2016, having travelled up for the Jutland commemoration. The apartment was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. It is in a great location on the edge of town, with a 15min walk into the centre of Kirkwall with its lively pubs and restaurants if you don't want to take the car. The owners are kind and very helpful if you need it - and low profile if you don't! We would highly recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimacsco...
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous ground level apartment”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautifully decorated and equipped, spacious apartment on ground level.
Only suitable if you come by car though as its out of town within a residential area.
Lovely hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment - wonderful holiday”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I and 2 friends spent 6 days in early June, when the weather turned out sunny and dry on 5 days. The apartment was very comfortable, and very spacious too. Enjoyed a drink out on the veranda most evenings, with the long days of midsummer. A twenty minute walk to most restaurants or pubs, of which there were many good ones to choose from. We went to Helgi, Lucano, and the Bothy, all different, and all very good food.
Our hosts were very helpful and friendly, and sought to make sure we had no problems, or felt we were missing anything in the flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing