We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellavista Guest House
Ranked #5 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Bellavista with two friends on a fishing trip. I cannot recommend this place enough, really first class. Clean and tidy. Comfortable rooms. Good showers. Excellent breakfast with option of early breakfast if you want to catch the tide. Very friendly staff. There is a guest lounge where you can cook your own evening meal, though we walked into town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PuyLentil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
53
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Worth every penny
Thoughtful care herefrom a marvellous host
Beds and food fantastic
No rules to hold you back we were made completely comfortable and welcome no restrictions all our activities early breakfast usually available
Maybe cure that were here early school a fishing trip great
Heating and washing facilities excellent report
Will return for future trips for fishing and recreational activities with friends including

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
358 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

About one mile from Kirkwall town centre, twenty minutes to the airport this clean, seafront b&b is what you ne ed if your first goal is to escape from noise, crowd and comfusion. Been there in Autumn it was such a good idea to really meet the true taste of these splendid inlands. Good confort, nice owners, wonderful silence.
Breakfast? Full Scottish!
Maybe too far from the centre without a car, but it is a nice walk, in the dark or in the light of the stars.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A quiet BnB away from the town centre but walkable distance from the harbour and ferry in Kirkwall. Lovely scottish oat cakes and Orkney soft cheese for breakfast. Cheerful friendly owners. Good parking and it is warm, clean and modern.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First visit to Orkney and a great place to stay-thoroughly recommend.
Very friendly and helpfull hosts.
Very comfortable room which was spotless.Comes with tea/coffee facilities. Free Wi-fi throughout property however fixed computer available on ground floor for use also.
Choice of three options for breakfast which you select the night before all of which very filling.
Guest lounge also on ground floor where tea/coffee also available and "honesty" box to pay for any biscuits,crisps etc.There is also a microwave available for use.
Car park adjacent to property.Its a 15/20 minute gentle walk to the town centre.Plenty of taxis at harbour side to get back. Local takeaways will deliver.
Very enjoyable stay and exceptional value for money. would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzdorf, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had wonderful three nights in this B&B and were heartily welcomed on arrival by the very friendly host Angela. Car park is close to the house. The room and bath on the first floor were very clean. The guest lounge on the ground floor was clean and homely. You can select your choice of breakfast the day before, the choice is between continental and fully cooked breakfast. The town centre of Kirkwall is in easy reach, either by car or just walking.
Angela nicely decorated our breakfast table on my wife's birthday ! That was great !

We learned that there are almost always heavy winds blowing on Orkney so it was wise to have caps and good coats.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This family have turned an unexceptional house into a perfect base for the traveller who wants an unpretentious, warm, comfortable and very friendly place to stay at a price that provides exceptional value. There are several breakfast choices at different prices, to suit everyone, all fresh and tasty and with real awareness of dietary needs. Rooms are not large but very well thought out, comfortably providing all that you need, and there is a lounge/kitchenette available to all as well as a terrific range of brochures about Orkney and well provided bookcase. Best of all there is Patsy, whose local knowledge and desire to help her guests enjoy their stay, combined with her professional approach to standards, ensures a winning combination.
Bellavista may not be the bonniest location in Orkney, but it is close to the shore, away from significant roads, and a fine walking distance back from Kirkwall after a meal out and a local dram.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
303 reviews
1.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Guest House

Property: Bellavista Guest House
Address: Bellavista Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellavista Guest House where we strive to make guests feel they are staying in their own home from home. Bellavista is an Orcadian family run Guest House in a quiet, peaceful area of Kirkwall, Orkney. Bellavista is situated near the shore and is a 5 minute car journey or a 15-20 minute shore hugging walk from Kirkwall harbour. Free Internet Access Throughout the Guest House we have free Wi-Fi and a guest computer with free internet access and a printer. Dietary Requirements Bellavista tries as much as possible to accommodate all dietary needs, please discuss any requirements when booking Own Private Car Park Bellavista has its own large private off-street car park where we can have anything from vintage tractors, to buses or vans and lorries staying with us. Locked Bicycle Store We welcome guests who travel to Orkney on their bicycles or hire ones in Kirkwall. Guests are given a key to our locked shed and are able to access the bikes whenever they want, not depending on us to open it up for them. Guest Laundry Room Bellavista has a Guest Laundry Room where clothes can be washed and tumbled dry for £8.00 per load. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing