We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B when staying in Kirkwall!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellavista Guest House
Ranked #4 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best B&B when staying in Kirkwall!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very neat and clean rooms. All kinds of breakfast. A lounge and breakfastroom. Just to good to be true. We've stayed here for 3 nights with pleasure. Very friendly host too. Oh, and if it comes to money. This is the best price you're going to get! Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annejanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
54
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

All the previous reviews have said it all! This is an exceptional B&B where everything has been thought of and considerately provided. I wish there could be a Bellavista everywhere I go! The best B&B I've stayed in. Thank you to the Walls family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying in the Bellavista (on business) for one week. I normally go to another B&B, but is was full up. What a find!!

The house is beautifully located near to Kirkwall bay. My room is spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with its own air conditioning system, flat screen TV, etc. Fluffy towelling bath robe provided, along with fresh towels and nice toiletries. WiFi (which works perfectly) is throughout the house.

The house is very peaceful. Breakfast is from 7:15 am. The cooked option is absolutely top notch, whilst cold option with hone made cheeses and chutneys is also excellent.

A separate guests living room is provided (very comfortable) with snacks available at any time. Computer and selection of books also available.

This is an outstanding B&B run by a quiet, friendly family. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

found this place by chance in 2007 - and kept returning to. The Walls family will give you a welcome which - even in Scotland - shall be deemed exceptional.
The house has ground floor and upper floor rooms, ensuite. Very nice breakfast selection with exellent marmalades/jams. Bird watching during breakfast included (bird feeders installed in front of breakfast room window). Guest lounge with glasses, plates and cutlery, and guests' fridge available. Free internet access. Ample car parking space.
The house is situated just off Carness Road (N58°59'47", W2°56'42", within WGS84 and satnav accuracy), a 3 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk into the town of Kirkwall.

Room Tip: for those hard of walking, ask for a ground floor room - the stairs are a little bit steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lykos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner and me spent 4 nights in the Bellavista Guest House and we couldn't have been happier! The location is great, being close to Kirkwall, but in a very quiet area. Directly at the water, so plenty of opportunities for evening walks.
The service was great! Lots of leaflets at the front door, amazing choice of breakfast and in general a very homey atmosphere!! We were free to use the lounge in the mornings, if we just wanted to help ourselves to breakfast or we could have breakfast in the dining-room at a certain time and could fill out a form to choose our breakfast.
The room was clean and spacious and the shower was possible the best i've ever been in!
Apart from Orkney being absolutely beautiful, the Guest House made our trip so much more enjoyable and we felt extremely relaxed after staying there!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and everything was perfect!
Lovely room and bathroom, very clean: this b&b is situated in a quite road, near the sea (there's a lovely bench where you can sit and admire the sea view).
The breakfast was very good, you can choose if you want a cooked one or not.
It's 2 miles away from Kirkwall and a very good location to visit all the wonderful Orkney!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well situated with beautiful views over the sea from the walk to and from Kirkwall; hospitable, friendly, helpful owner - Orcadian-born and bred, so extremely knowledgeable about the islands and offered useful, reliable recommendations for places to go, in addition to the comprehensive, up-to-date tourist information and library of guidebooks provided; comfortable rooms with all amenities and a well-equipped guest lounge so that it was possible to self-cater (using a microwave) in the evenings. Breakfasts were delicious. Like other reviewers, we plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank festina_lente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
12.8 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Guest House

Property: Bellavista Guest House
Address: Bellavista Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellavista Guest House where we strive to make guests feel they are staying in their own home from home. Bellavista is an Orcadian family run Guest House in a quiet, peaceful area of Kirkwall, Orkney. Bellavista is situated near the shore and is a 5 minute car journey or a 15-20 minute shore hugging walk from Kirkwall harbour. Free Internet Access Throughout the Guest House we have free Wi-Fi and a guest computer with free internet access and a printer. Dietary Requirements Bellavista tries as much as possible to accommodate all dietary needs, please discuss any requirements when booking Own Private Car Park Bellavista has its own large private off-street car park where we can have anything from vintage tractors, to buses or vans and lorries staying with us. Locked Bicycle Store We welcome guests who travel to Orkney on their bicycles or hire ones in Kirkwall. Guests are given a key to our locked shed and are able to access the bikes whenever they want, not depending on us to open it up for them. Guest Laundry Room Bellavista has a Guest Laundry Room where clothes can be washed and tumbled dry for £8.00 per load. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing