We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place, lovely host..!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellavista Guest House
Ranked #4 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely place, lovely host..!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We hardly spent time in there to be honest. Waking up early and coming back late at night... The breakfast was nice, perfect location, lovely hosts and pretty reasonably priced. Clean, silent and the best sunset across the road. If you are choosing Kirkwall as your location on Orkney Islands I definitely recommend Bellavista.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozkurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
51
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

To get to the guest house you have to drive through Kirkwall which was no problem as it is not exactly a sprawling metropolis. It was easy enough to find and in the summer it would have made a lovely sea side walk back into Kirkwall. However we did not do this when we stayed in middle of May this year as the wind was strong when we were there. As we arrived early from the morning ferry from Scrabster I telephoned the owner (Angela) to ask whether we could drop the bags off. The lady was really helpful and said not only could we drop off the cases; we could put all the bags (two couples) in respective rooms as she had just finished cleaning them. Good start I thought.

We drove to the guest house and it sits sideways onto the sea about 100 yards up a side road so you do not get a full sea view but as we only use the B&Bs for sleeping, this did not bother us at all. There is a large car park, with of plenty room to park.

It was quite obvious that she took pride in what she was doing as we were made to feel at home straight away. Tea/Coffee with biscuits was supplied on arrival. We were shown our rooms and not the largest rooms I have seen but more than ample for us. They say first impressions count and when I opened the door, on the bed was towels, menus for breakfast separated out for each occupant (nice touch). There was information for the local area with plenty more downstairs. The room had hair-dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and shortbread for each person. There was also a small flat screen TV attached to the wall. I was able to use the Free WiFi for the laptop in the evenings. The bed was large and comfortable with extra pillows / blanket if needed. It was en-suite with separate shower room which was quite narrow (not a criticism though). It had a built in wardrobe with enough room to store our things. If you did not have a laptop, then there was computer for use by guests (free of charge) downstairs

Angela had a lovely personality, she explained that in the evening we could use the guest living room which contained a 42” (?) flat screen TV. In the room was a small table and chairs for four people and it was explained if we wanted to bring a takeaway back then we could eat it in the guest living room. Everything was provided, crockery, cutlery, glasses etc for the guest’s use. Talking about home from home, she even said leave the dishes as she would clean them away in the morning, sheer bliss I thought but wife and sister-in-law thought that was too much and wanted to make sure everything was left clean and tidy.

We stayed three days there and it was a total pleasure. The breakfast was served in a large room across from the guest living room with separate tables. was either continental style or full cooked. There was tons of food with home produced cheese and jams. The rhubarb jam was totally ‘Lush’ as sister-in-law said the first morning. The last morning she was presented with a jar (medium sized coffee type) full of rhubarb jam to take home. I had the porridge every day fro breakfast and this was truly amazing taste, not salty at all.

We felt totally relaxed with our stay there and at home when we did go back on the late evenings. Would we go back? Definitely, the only thing is that we have to go back to Orkney, what at outstanding place and three days was just not long enough. So we may have to get a cottage and we were even recommended one by Angela. This is clearly a guest house of high standards and well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

On the edge of Kirkwall along the coast road. You really need a car, but could walk it in about 20 minutes.
Unusually this is not the usual B&B of a house adapted to being a B&B, but has the feel of a purpose built accommodation block with carpets and homely touches added on.
There is nothing negative I can think of at all. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The free Wi-Fi was good and the room cleaned well. There is a comfortable lounge with plenty of information about the island, not just the usual promotional leaflets and a fridge where you could store your food.
Patsy the landlady was effecient and friendly. No problem at all with parking. The sea front is only 50 yards away.
Didn't take breakfast so cannot comment on that aspect.
All in all I can't think of anything more I could wish from a B&B and it was excellent value for money. So if I ever return to the Orknies I won't be looking any further than Bellavista.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Recently stayed 5 nights at The Bellavista and I would definitely stay again and recommend it. The rooms were beautifully clean and bright, with everything necessary in them. The breakfasts were brilliant with plenty of choice and use of local products. Nothing was too much trouble for Patsy and her family and their attention to detail was excellent. There were loads of useful books and leaflets available, and a great resident's lounge with a fridge, crockery, cutlery, tea and coffee making equipment. I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Great B+B not so far from the town, with sympathetic lady taking care about everything. Superb breakfasts. Nothing to complain about if you have a car (by car cca 5-10 minutes to the citycetre, by walk cca 30 minutes).
The names fits, views are nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taborskyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed with a group in Sept 2009 and had a really first-class experience in this lovely B&B. The rooms were clean and well decorated, with local artwork on the walls. The guests' living room was well supplied with a fridge, glasses, corkscrew, magazines etc, plus TV and DVD player, so it felt very much like a home-away-from-home. Breakfasts were gargantuan and well-cooked with wonderful home made cheeses and jams and the welcome from Patsy and Angela was warm and friendly without being obtrusive. I plan to return to Orkney in the next year or two and would definitley book into the Bellavista again. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1vicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

My stay was a pleasure from beginning to end. They have a knack for making you feel completely at home without ever intruding upon your privacy or compelling you to make polite chit-chat when you're in the mood to hibernate, or something. My room was lovely, warm and inviting, not to mention spotless. The only drawback is that the B&B is a little bit of a walk from Kirkwall, if you're travelling without a car. Don't let that stop you, though. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieTeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Guest House

Property: Bellavista Guest House
Address: Bellavista Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellavista Guest House where we strive to make guests feel they are staying in their own home from home. Bellavista is an Orcadian family run Guest House in a quiet, peaceful area of Kirkwall, Orkney. Bellavista is situated near the shore and is a 5 minute car journey or a 15-20 minute shore hugging walk from Kirkwall harbour. Free Internet Access Throughout the Guest House we have free Wi-Fi and a guest computer with free internet access and a printer. Dietary Requirements Bellavista tries as much as possible to accommodate all dietary needs, please discuss any requirements when booking Own Private Car Park Bellavista has its own large private off-street car park where we can have anything from vintage tractors, to buses or vans and lorries staying with us. Locked Bicycle Store We welcome guests who travel to Orkney on their bicycles or hire ones in Kirkwall. Guests are given a key to our locked shed and are able to access the bikes whenever they want, not depending on us to open it up for them. Guest Laundry Room Bellavista has a Guest Laundry Room where clothes can be washed and tumbled dry for £8.00 per load. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing