We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“town center cafe fantastic food”
Review of St Magnus Cafe

St Magnus Cafe
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: St magnus cafe is near the bottom of the website mentioned above
Restaurant details
Description: St magnus cafe is near the bottom of the website mentioned above
orkney
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“town center cafe fantastic food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

i visit this place a lot great service sit down or takeaway , my favorite is there bacon and egg rolls , Lots of items on sale staff great to

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank willieOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    19
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This cafe is in a great location opposite St Magnus Cathedral. It was very clean and we could see the staff working hard in the kitchen behind the counter. We had an extremely good breakfast, with the full works being well cooked. The coffee was ok, although I would have preferred filtered rather than instant.
They seemed to have a good range of menu choice for lunch written on the blackboard although I did not have lunch - breakfast kept me going for the whole day!
It was quiet when we were there, but not many people were around as there were 80-100 mph winds and lashing rain at the time!
Altogether extremely good value for money, efficient and friendly staff and I would visit this cafe again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mabel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“its a cafe and they serve coffee.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

very average but the locaion cannot be better as it is right opposit the cathedral. a large cafe means you can find seat at busy lunch time so thats good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celiy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good food at a reasonable price,varied menu to suit all tastes clean facilities. In the heart of Kirkwall.Lots of information on whats going on locally and current.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank comack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“St magnus Cafe”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This cafe okay for a quick bite and a warm drink. It is like a community facility and is family friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Magnus Cafe also viewed

 
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to St Magnus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing