We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karrawa Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

found the karrawa a lovely place to stay with warm and friendly hosts.enjoyed breakfast ,good choice and cooked perfectly.only a short ten minute walk to the town centre and harbour.very quiet locale and off road parking was a plus

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your brilliant review! We are delighted that you both had a nice stay :) Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This beautiful B&B, and the lovely owners, Aileen and Albert get an A+++ for accommodations, food, atmosphere and hospitality. Not only did they graciously await our arrival by boat from Aberdeen (at nearly midnight!) but when the Northlink Ferry that was to take us back to the mainline was put into dry dock for maintenance problems, Albert became our savior and hero! We were 3 couples with no idea when we would get back to the mainland and considering we were in Scotland for a month with a very full schedule, we were panicked. Albert explored every option and relentlessly pressured the ferry company to take responsibility and get us back. He knew what he was doing and successfully negotiated an option for us on a freighter!! Yes it was an experience we will never forget ---- and we will never forget his kindness and genuine care for us. Thank you so much Albert and Aileen. It was a privilege to stay in your home. Susan & Dave McLeay, Niceville, FL

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SookieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for you're lovely review! We were more than happy to help you out, it was a horrible situation for you all but we got it sorted in the end. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland too :) Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at Karrawa Guest House, and would have booked a third night if this were available - but they were booked out. This guest house is beautifully fitted out throughout, modern and clean, with everything of high quality. We had a bright and spacious family room, with a lovely bathroom. Very nice breakfasts, served with a smile.
As we were arriving from Aberdeen on the late ferry (11 p.m.), Aileen kindly booked a taxi to collect us. The distance was a bit further than expected, but not really that far; in the light of morning we realised that we were actually very close to the town of Kirkwall, so we could walk down the hill to the impressive St Magnus Cathedral (past the Bishops and Earls Palace) to find ourselves only a stone's throw from the bus station. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyntum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it :) It was lovely to meet you all and we are so delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We has a most enjoyable stay at the Karrawa Guest House for 3 nights at the end of July. We found the family room (a double and two single beds) to be spacious, light and airy and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a large adjoining bathroom with a powerful shower. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and Aileen and Albert are lovely hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionak261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family had a comfortable stay, it means a lot to get such lovely feedback! Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Karrawa house in July after traveling through much of Scotland and rate our there as being one of the best. Our hosts were more than accommodating - for example, helping us have a breakfast before we took the early ferry back to the mainland. But the important thing is that Karrawa Guet House is just an excellent place - with great showers!

We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobKelly950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked our high pressure showers! It was lovely meeting you all. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We left booking a trip to Orkney later than hoped which meant we could only stay at Karrawa for 3 nights. That was the downside. We would loved to have stayed longer. The room was comfortable and very clean. Aileen apologised that it was the smallest of all the rooms, this wasn't a problem for just 2 of us. The hosts are very pleasant with great local knowledge. Some great tips for visits and places to eat.
Excellent breakfast to set you up for a busy day....home made rhubarb jam just like my mum used to make.
We were also spoiled by the great weather which unfortunately I can't attribute to Aileen & Albert.
We will definitely like to stay here again on our next visit to Orkney. It'll be first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and my homemade rhubarb jam! I will have to make a double batch next summer as it is all finished now :) It was lovely meeting you both and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B for two nights in July with our son.
The room was very nice. Main bed was so big we didn't even need to use fold out bed. The was space to accommodate luggage.
Breakfast was very good too, with plenty to choose from, served in a nice room.

The only thing is location. I guess you can walk to town centre but it might be more than a kilometer away, so with the child we'd rather take the car. Anyway, parking in Kirkwall harbour was free and easy, so it was fine.

Aileen is a lovely host (so is the lady who serves breakfasts) and we would return to Karrawa Guest House again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the room which had a large superking size bed in it.

As for location, we are 1 km from the town centre which is a couple of minutes drive by car or a nice 15 minute walk straight down the road. We are also situated on 2 local bus routes- the town centre bus and airport bus routes, both of which will pick up and drop off guests from right outside our front door.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland and hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes,

Aileen & Albert Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrawa Guest House

Address: Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: $93 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karrawa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karrawa Guest House is set in the centre of Kirkwall and within 2.5 miles of the airport and ferry terminal. This family run property offers comfortable, modern en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. Kirkwall town centre is less than a mile away with an easy 15minute walk into town or 2 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Karrawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karrawa Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing