We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
south australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is a centrally located hotel in the middle of Kirkwall. The reception staff member, a young NZ girl was very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are modern, very clean, very comfortable beds and they have a good bar.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
49
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Albert for one night and I wish it had been longer! Great hotel, amazing rooms. I had a double room right under the rooftop which was huge, modern, spotless and had the most amzing hotel bathroom ever.
We didn't have breakfast and didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that. but have nothing to complain about the rooms or check-in.
I'd recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Called in one night and had a steak and ale pie. Thought I normally think the Kirkwall Hoteldoes the best steak pie on this occasion The Albert in my view was better. Really filling. well done Chef.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The long & Winding Road
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Albert Hotel was recommended by the local tourist information bureau which is conveniently situated over the road. I was greeted with a warm welcome and shown around the hotel by a very helpful member of staff. The room was super with a modern boutique hotel style. The bed was very comfy and all the amenities including: power shower, flatscreen, sky, WiFi (the signal was week in my room so they gave me an ethernet cable) and lovely local short bread with the tea & coffee. The Hotel is right in the centre of Kirkwall which is great for the shops and local attractions, it does however mean that the views are not as good as some on the islands and the locals (youths) do seem to like to make noise in the evenings. I chose to eat in the Bothy Bar as the restaurant seemed empty and unwelcoming. I was seated on a very small table and stool, in the busy bar, the food and service where average - poor at best and I was made to feel like an outsider (its a popular bar with the locals). It is quite possible the restaurant is much better, i would not however recommend the bar unless hard drinking is your aim. The hotel parking is in the public car park where the meter needs to be feed if you arrive before 5 of leave after 9.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Bison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

We ate and drank in the reasonably good bar all week but when I asked to use their free internet connection I was told it was for residents only – how ridiculous is that? Do hotels not realise once they have the connection there is no penalty for letting customers use it. We left and didn’t eat there that night – they lost about £50 – so there is a cost for them in lost business - hell mend them. Gordon

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

The location is perfect, the staff friendly and the room large and clean. Breakfast was good, especially the rhubarb marmalade.Both the cooked and the continental. On Sunday night there was a session in the Bothy bar and, since Iam a piper , I was invited to join, nice evening.

T.R. Anderson

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trarapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Booked in for 1 night and stayed for 2!. The staff were extremely very friendly and helpful. The hotel was modern and very clean. Breakfast was great. Having stayed in 4* & 5* hotels all over the world, I would rate the kingsize beds at the Albert as the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. Was definitely worth the money. Will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Mounthoolie Lane, Kirkwall KW15 1JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
#2 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing