We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“is currently being re furbished but don't be put off”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“is currently being re furbished but don't be put off”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Just came back from a 3 night stay at the Albert Hotel. We actually booked the West End Hotel (for my husbands 50th in December 2006) but when we arrived they had no record of the booking (despite a confirmation note from the manager who has apparently since left). Was recommended the Albert by the west end as their 'sister' hotel. I must admit i was a bit apprehensive as the first impressions of the West End were not good - and when we drove to the Albert there was scaffolding all around it!! (not a good start). Having made enquiries at two hotels close by who were both full we had no choice but to go to the Albert. However I was very surprised and even delighted at what we found. The reception staff very very helpful. Our room newly re furbished and very clean and modern - had a double bed, flat screen TV and modern clean bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfast was very good - full choice usual cereals, yoghurts, fruits, cheese etc as starters with a full english or kippers etc - lots of toast and tea too. I would recommend the Albert Hotel- don't be put off by the scaffolding they have cleverly split the hotel off from the on going building work and the finished part is to a good standard. A good hotel in a superb part of the UK give it a go!!

  • Liked — the cleaniness
  • Disliked — some building work still on going
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
50
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Arrived at 9.05pm after 12 hour journey to be told the restaurant shuts at 9pm but there was a chinese restaurant around the corner!! Staff have strange take it or leave it attitude and do not appear to be happy at there work? Gave up after 2 nights and moved to another hotel in Kirkwall.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Orkney Hotel
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank senator2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINDOCHTY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Did not stay here but visited for a meal which was thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and myself.Bar area was really nice and staff friendly food tasty and well served.Would recommend if you are feeling hungry while in Kirkwall.

  • Liked — food & surroundings
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANSMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

On arrival not shown to my room which was unfortunate as the toilet was unflushed from the last pee and liberally stained with --- (i.e. had not bee cleaned or inspected since the last occupant). The bed needed a new mattress. Breakfast, (though I have to admit that I needed an early breakfast) was missing elements on two occassions. Staff seemed generally indifferent to your welfare. This is an hotel that does not deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Albert Hotel for 2 nights in June, 2004 on an "Orkney short break" package deal available through the John O'Groats ferrry company. We found the hotel to be very pleasant, with an adequate-size double room and bathroom ensuite. The meal we had in the pub one evening was excellent. Breakfasts (included in the cost of the room)were good as well. Although not luxurious, the hotel has old-fashoned charm and is well-located near the harbor in Kirkwall. Be warned about Orkney in general: lodging costs are somewhat higher than in other places in the Scottish highlands. However, don't t let that deter you from visiting this magical place.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pemquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Mounthoolie Lane, Kirkwall KW15 1JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
#2 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing