We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and handy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable and handy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Albert Hotel for 5 nights during a recent holiday in Kirkwall and was most impressed with our accomodation.
We requested and were given a quiet room (Room 201) after reading some of the previous comments about these premises on Tripadvisor. The room was excellent - modern, clean decor with not one but two flat screen TVs in the room, a large spotless, comfortable bed and large bath/shower room.
The hotel is well situated only a minutes walk from the harbourfront and the main shopping street/restaurants.
The staff are pleasant and helpful, the breakfast is fresh and extensive and the adjacent hotel lounge is well worth a visit if you are too tired at the days end to trek any further for evening meals.
I do not totally disagree with previous comments regarding noise - I heard nothing from the nearby Bothy Bar (even when they had the fiddle band playing on a Sunday evening) but you can hear next room showers/water running in the morning. We may have been lucky with our room situation, but i have heard the same thing in most hotels that I have stayed in and certainly would not allow this minor inconvenience discourage use of this hotel.
The hotel is not cheap but for a handy, comfortable, contemporary base from which to explore Orkney, I could not really fault it.
If ever I can visit these fascinating islands again, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Albert.

  • Liked — Modern decor and location
  • Disliked — Still trying to find something
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
49
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

I do not wish to be overly critical about the Albert Hotel. The management has clearly gone to a great deal of effort refurbishing this property but unfortunately there are some fundamental problems with this hotel that make it very difficult to recommend to others.

At first glance my room appeared nicely refurbished, boutique cues clearly drawn from Ian Shregar's properties: the bed and linen excellent and most comfortable. However, the room I was allocated (101) suffered from an unpleasant moth ball odour and surprisingly, the window was inoperable. The staff happily (although body language suggested otherwise) moved me to 103.

This room also appeared pleasant enough, on initial inspection. One functional issue with the bathroom. The wash hand basin is fixed ridiculously low that only an infant could use it comfortably. However, niggles aside, the noise pollution from the street became a major distraction. To echo, buttercup1974's experience below, you need to be a seriously heavy sleeper to enjoy a stay at this hotel. Had I not arrived equipped with ear plugs, I would have 'walked'.

Breakfast which closes at 9am sharp (10am weekends) is for early birds, or for those who somehow manage to sleep undisturbed.

  • Liked — The bed - it was fabulous
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Prosperp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

I spent one night in the Albert Hotel during a business trip to Orkney. The staff were pleasant and the room clean and newly refurbished - with a comfortable bed, cotton sheets and a flat screen tv. However, the hotel was unbearably noisy. The bothy bar below my room was incredibly loud, making rest and sleep virtually impossible. That coupled with hotel staff slamming doors in the staff annex next to my room - so hard it made my door shake - I was kept awake until about 2am. Not good.

The food in the restaurant is ok, not great for vegetarians and appalling for vegans, but is highly recommended by my carnivorous friends and colleagues.

I'm not sure I'd stay there again, but then I'm a relatively light sleeper, so it may suit someone less sensitive to noise.

  • Liked — High quality, well decorated, boutique style hotel
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank buttercup1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

Just came back from a 3 night stay at the Albert Hotel. We actually booked the West End Hotel (for my husbands 50th in December 2006) but when we arrived they had no record of the booking (despite a confirmation note from the manager who has apparently since left). Was recommended the Albert by the west end as their 'sister' hotel. I must admit i was a bit apprehensive as the first impressions of the West End were not good - and when we drove to the Albert there was scaffolding all around it!! (not a good start). Having made enquiries at two hotels close by who were both full we had no choice but to go to the Albert. However I was very surprised and even delighted at what we found. The reception staff very very helpful. Our room newly re furbished and very clean and modern - had a double bed, flat screen TV and modern clean bathroom with bath and shower. The breakfast was very good - full choice usual cereals, yoghurts, fruits, cheese etc as starters with a full english or kippers etc - lots of toast and tea too. I would recommend the Albert Hotel- don't be put off by the scaffolding they have cleverly split the hotel off from the on going building work and the finished part is to a good standard. A good hotel in a superb part of the UK give it a go!!

  • Liked — the cleaniness
  • Disliked — some building work still on going
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Arrived at 9.05pm after 12 hour journey to be told the restaurant shuts at 9pm but there was a chinese restaurant around the corner!! Staff have strange take it or leave it attitude and do not appear to be happy at there work? Gave up after 2 nights and moved to another hotel in Kirkwall.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Orkney Hotel
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank senator2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINDOCHTY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Did not stay here but visited for a meal which was thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and myself.Bar area was really nice and staff friendly food tasty and well served.Would recommend if you are feeling hungry while in Kirkwall.

  • Liked — food & surroundings
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANSMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

On arrival not shown to my room which was unfortunate as the toilet was unflushed from the last pee and liberally stained with --- (i.e. had not bee cleaned or inspected since the last occupant). The bed needed a new mattress. Breakfast, (though I have to admit that I needed an early breakfast) was missing elements on two occassions. Staff seemed generally indifferent to your welfare. This is an hotel that does not deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Mounthoolie Lane, Kirkwall KW15 1JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#2 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing