We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfasts”
Review of Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfasts”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My wife and I visited Orkney on holiday in October, 2010. This little hotel was very nice and convenient to downtown. The room we had was clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and very helpful. October may not be the best time to go sightseeing in Orkney, but we thoroughly enjoyed the visit and everyone was very helpful to us in planning our sightseeing itinerary. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
50
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Albert Hotel in late May 2011. Very nice hotel, completely modernised inside. The bar food is good quality and inexpensive. We asked for a quiet room and were given a two room suite at the back of the hotel. The biggest problem is finding the hotel !. Mounthollie Lane is a pedestrian only walkway. If you give your GPS the front door co-ordinates to the hotel you will end up going round in circles trying to get there as we did. Parking is in a "park and pay" area et the back of the hotel and the co-ordinates for the car park entrance are N 58 59 02.7 W 02 57 36.7. Once parked, facing the car park entrance, it is a short walk around the corner to the left to the hotel entrance. The hotel sign cannot be seen until you are directly in front of the entrance. Enjoy your stay, the Orkney Islands are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

A good nights sleep is what everyone wants when they have to leave their own bed. I was worried having read a previous review which mentioned a noisy extractor or air con unit heard from room 201 (the very room i had booked). I bit the bullet and emailed Sheila at the hotel who was mystified and personally checked the room. There is no noise!!! I have stayed in other hotels in Kirkwall and there is some noise along the front from pubs/traffic in high season or from snoring people heard through thin partition walls (!!). My experience in room 201 under the eaves was trouble and noise free and we slept soundly. Booking was efficient and swift as was the handling of our upgrade as I wanted a room with a bath. What a bath we got. we are both 5ft10 and we could almost strecth out in the bath..it was even longer than the one we have at home. There was also a shower in the very spacious bathroom and an oversize heated towel rail which is very necessary in Orkney and much appreciated. The room had two flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilites (including herb tea, decaff and biscuits), hairdryer and complimentary mineral water which was a very smart touch.
The thing that lets the hotel down if I had to spell it out are the communal areas. I personally didn't like the Bothy Bar where breakfast was served. It felt rather dark and didn't seem to match up with the decor of the room which was light and modern. The breakfast was Ok, varied and plentiful and I'd give it 7/10 as no decaffeinated filter coffee and the juice and croissants ran out.
The staff were very efficient and helpful, rooms exceptionally clean. Signage could be better..a sign on the side of the property nearest the carpark or at the rear might be helpful to people unfamiliar with its location of better location map on website? Just a thought as others have found it tricky to find. All in all though I would receommend the room we stayed in for two nights as a comfortable place to retire to at the end of a busy day.

Room Tip: If you want a good bath have room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HONORIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We booked this hotel on strength of Tripadvisor reports and it didn't disappoint. Lovely room (201) in eaves with lounge area and very smart bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the Scottish breakfast both mornings which lasted us till evening - don't miss the black pudding! Only gripe is the slightly noisy airconditioning but it wasn't too bad with the windows closed. Easy walk to the town and cathedral and all the restaurants and bars you could need. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Scalpay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

First time to Orkney - taster visit if you like - wanted one night in "capital" town. Booked hotel en-route from Northlink`s M.V.Hamnavoe, very easy and clear process. Arrival and check-in at hotel most friendly and efficient, thanks Sheila. Room and en-suite spotless. Public areas spotless. Recently renovated but not overpowering and good use of key colours throughout building, retains shape and arrangement but you can see it is and old building and is very much part of this old town centred on the harbour. Fantastic bed, good pillows, all was grand for £108 per night. Breakfast well thought out - continental style/preserves/fresh fruit/bakery/cold cuts on side table. Hot breakfast well served with very good local components - check out by 11:00 am very handy. One of the old Kirkwall hotels revamped - and as a visitor made to feel very welcome indeed :-) Bar excellent, did not dine in hotel. One favour please, more teabags on roomtrays please Albert Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlayJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The U2 song 'Where the streets have no names' applies here. Although the address on Monthoulee Lane showed on my GPS, and on the maps I had, I could not find it while driving. I finally parked in a pay parking area and started walking. It turns out that Monthoulee Lane is about 6 feet wide and is not open to vehicles. Once I found the hotel it was very nice. We had a thrid floor room with two single beds. Bathroom was very spacious and everything was recently upgraded. Breakfast was served in the breakfast area near the lobby. Other meals were available in the attached restaurant or the pub. The hotel is literally feet from the main shopping area in Kirkwall and an easy drive to major neolithic ruins, standing stones, wineries, distilleries and incredible ocean views. Wireless internet didn't reach our floor but there was wired available.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is a great hotel with really nice, modern rooms and the most friendly of staff. This is the place to stay in Orkney without a shadow of a doubt. Recently refurbished throughout, the hotel offers bars and restaurants as well as a central location. Be sure to get a room with a bath as some only have a shower but most have both. This is a great advert for Scottish tourism. Make the most of the excellent breakfast to fortify you for your day exploring Orkney.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: Mounthoolie Lane, Kirkwall KW15 1JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
#2 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing