We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
118
105
52
29
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
105
52
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge bar four poster bed dining room st magnus cathedral great bar central location comfortable bed bit dated business trip traditional hotel friendly hotel large room local produce stayed here for nights high standard meal orkney
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 319 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We stayed here as part of our North Coast 500 visit and given its name we expected great things. Unfortunately it was not the case. Our room was fairly sizeable and was quiet, but the service in the hotel was hit and miss. The American owner seemed affronted when we commented on the lack of consistent service.

However it is in a prime location for exploring the sites and the other places to eat nearby are very good. Just wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WendT3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

The service and the staff are nice. The room is somewhat different. I was placed in a room opposite the hotel. While the bed was made that was as clean as the room got. The room was never cleaned the carpets where dirty. The lights where extremely dusty and they had spider webs on them. The shower was dated and dirty badly needed cleaning. The room had a flat above it which played music loudly which was extremely disruptive. The room is badly needing updated to bring it out of the 70's.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank peats2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We have recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. A number of reviewers report that they had poor experiences with either the accommodation or the food or difficult uncaring staff, we had none of these problems, but we stayed in the main building, not the annex ( which I didn't know existed until I read about it here), and we did not eat in the bar, only the restaurant.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. In particular the restaurant front of house staff were very good, although they were often very overworked when the restaurant was packed, and at such times the service did slow down quite a bit

Our room was comfortable, but not large and included a decent size wardrobe and small chest of drawers. The bathroom was fine, except that the flow volume from the shower was small

The restaurant food is very good indeed, easily the best we had in Kirkwall, but there are few restaurants to choose from. Coming from the south of the UK, we were amazed how cheap the food was too, but their prices are on a par with other restaurants in the area.

One note about the restaurant. it is called the "Garden View", and while it does have a view over a garden, the garden is very small and does need attention, so you will be disappointed if you expect to see something similar to the magnificent private gardens that are dotted around Orkney.

The hotel is on a narrow road which has little traffic on it as it as the road is for access only, and so it has no traffic noise to speak of - Kirkwall is quite anyway at any time of the day ( speaking as someone who lives in Cambridge). However the hotel bar did get noisy once during our stay, but even that quietened down quite early.

The hotel has a car park, which seems to be adequate, we never failed to find a space, but there is a public car park within 100m anyway.

when we visit Kirkwall again, this will be the hotel we stay at.

Room tip: as for a room in the main building
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

A lot of conflicting reviews for this hotel depending upon where your room is or where you eat, the restaurant or the bar.
Unfortunately I was in the hotel annexe which was dark, dismal and dated , facing on to an alleyway with a,very small window.
Facilities were pretty basic.
Given the shortage of good quality accommodation in Kirkwall I think that the Orkney hotel is rather complacent in thinking that this is adequate.
On the plus side the restaurant was outstanding with the best fillet steak I have had anywhere.

Room tip: Avoid the annexe at all costs
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We and our friends stayed in the Orkney Hotel for the week of the St Magnus Festival. It is comfortable, if somewhat old-fashioned, with large bedrooms. Service is friendly and helpful. It is right in the centre of town, but has free parking at the rear of the hotel. And the bar is splendid - over 500 malt whiskies to chose from!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews