We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
118
105
52
29
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
105
52
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge bar four poster bed dining room st magnus cathedral great bar central location comfortable bed bit dated business trip traditional hotel friendly hotel large room local produce stayed here for nights high standard meal orkney
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 319 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

Our experience of The Orkney Hotel was one of disbelief and disappointment. The decor is lovely but the service was horrendous. Two bars in separate areas, served by one bar person. How does that work? It doesn't! We waited and waited and waited until the owner, who was about to walk past us, halted when we asked about a certain drink. He opened the requested bottle and placed it on the bar. No glass or ice offered. Then the owner was unable to ring it through the till as he had no idea how to work it. We chose a table and our food. Yet again a long wait to make our order. To cut a very long story and a short visit from going on and on.....I would not recommend this place for food basically because the service let's it down. Shame because it looks great.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Nice hotel in the centre of Kirkwall. Good food, nice bar with a lot of whiskies!!
Prices are average, so you are not paying to much.
The staff is very helpfull and friendly.
If the hotel is available you should definitly book it!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Service was good and the room was a good size as well. The bar is very contemporary and the staff were helpful, as well as knew their way around whisky! Would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PutneyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a twin room (214). Nice room though a bit dated but I think rooms are gradually being refurbished. The room was also up two flights of stairs and along a couple of narrow corridors. That said, the room was comfortable and the bathroom was large (the wardrobe and drawers were in it!). Windows opened which I like - can't stand stuffy rooms so that was a plus as it was unusually warm for Orkney. Also there are no lifts so quite a few sets of stairs to be negotiated.
We ate every evening in the downstairs bar and no complaints there - food was delicious and nicely served. The bar staff were very nice and helpful. Be careful if you're ordering one of the 400 whiskies - some of them cost an amazing £130 per 25ml!
I wasn't too impressed with breakfast - mushrooms were tough, sausages could barely be cut and my fried eggs were frilly round the edge and crisp. I had porridge one morning and it had not been made with salt in it so was tasteless - a pinch of salt during cooking is a must. Also I like a potato scone with my breakfast but not on menu.
The hotel is centrally situated - about 200 yards from St Magnus Cathedral and the main Kirkwall shopping street.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JoynerSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Kirkwall has many cafes but few restaurants, so we were pleased to find the bar at the Orkney Hotel.

The welcome was friendly, and although we were warned that there may be a delay due to their being busy in the hotel upstairs, the meals were served promptly.

The food was excellent and the prices very reasonable. All in all, a definite recommend, especially for anyone inclined to sample the 300-strong whisky menu.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews