We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, no atmosphere, I don't recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkwall Youth Hostel
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent two nights here and we did not enjoy our stay. The staff was not friendly at all, the hostel is closed between 10 and 17 every day, so you need to vacate the premises and cannot even have a lunch in or come back during the day. Our room had a nice view of the garden but the opposite one was facing a wall. There are not plugs in the rooms, only one main light, no little bedside lights if you want to read at night. The building is old and was last refurbished in World War II or something. No deco, no cosiness at all. Very plain. Ok if you merely want a bed, shower and kitchen, no atmosphere at all. It was indeed very clean, as you can hardly spend some time there. At the end of your stay they will also ask you to remove all the sheets, duvet covers and pillow cases. I found it a bit irritating as they close for 10 hours a day and it should allow them plenty time to do it themselves.

Room Tip: Choose another place
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Kirkwall Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was here only for one night when having a night out in Kirkwall. I've previously stayed in Orcades Hostel, so that's my only comparison...
What you get here is a bed, a toilet and a shower. Filthy as I am I wasn't bothered to use the shower. The rooms are plain and simple. You will have to make your own bed
when you get there. You will also have to wander through hallways to get to the toilet, and the toilets are old and worn, but still clean. To have a shower you need to go back into the hall and start wandering about again.
The staff seemed friendly enough, and they'll give you the code for the door if you want to go out at night.
The building in itself is not exactly sugar to the eyes, but it's a dwelling for the night, and only ca 20 mins walk from the town.
There are better places to stay, but this is not a horrible option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pistasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and found the kitchen and dining room well equipped and easy to access.
The showers and toilets were adequate and clean.
But the sheet that covered the mattress was covered in hair and had to be brushed away before we felt able to use the bed.
Staff were pleasant and mixing with students and travellers from across the globe was a big plus.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bubbaboy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Kirkwall Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Kirkwall Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank carolp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
254 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
5.8 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Youth Hostel

Address: Old Scapa Road, Kirkwall KW15 1BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kirkwall
Price Range: $45 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkwall Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkwall Youth Hostel is a friendly and welcoming hostel close to the historic town and beautiful 12th-century St Magnus Cathedral. A former World War Two base and school hostel, Kirkwall Youth Hostel is located in a quiet location on the edge of the Royal Burgh of Kirkwall. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Youth Hostel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing