We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel, but pretty dated”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently. My room was on the top floor and small for a double. Its a nice looking hotel from the outside and location is good for walking into the centre of Kirkwall. The hotel is pretty dated though and feels more like a guest house with old carpets and dated bathroom. Slightly surprised to see its listed 2 for Kirkwall, but the service was good and breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jare_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for West End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed one night after arriving late on the ferry from Aberdeen. We had a very nice room - a suite, with a living room, nicely displayed antiques, a large comfortable bedroom. The couple we traveled with had a third floor (attic) room in which they could only stand up in the middle. We were happy. They, understandably, were not. (The rooms were the same price) The hosts were certainly pleasant, and the breakfast, while not outstanding, was quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rickey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

While the West End is a hotel, it really has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. Giffie and Robert are very welcoming and generous hosts - Giffie stayed up quite late for our arrival from the ferry on the first night. Our room was cozy and the tea and shortbread biscuits that were left for us were a lovely treat to come back to in the evenings. Breakfast was excellent - especially having it in the dining room with a mix of popular showtunes playing in the background. We would recommend dining in at the West End as well, as the food is quite delicious. One of the desserts we had - a slice of cheesecake made with Orkney fudge, was the perfect end to the meal. The hotel is in a good location within Kirkwall, a short walk from St. Magnus' Cathedral. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights (3 different rooms) and enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The rooms are beautifully appointed, warm, and quiet. The restaurant provides excellent fare, and will cook your fish for you if you notify in advance. The bar is cozy, and features Balfour, the friendliest face you will find on all Orkney. Breakfasts are well-prepared and abundant. The hotel is just across the street from the main collection of shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 7 was exquisite. All were beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good hotel, welcoming host, wonderful breakfast. Clear that they care for the establishment so much, shines through. I will be back. Also quiet location and a well stocked comfortable bar to spend an evening in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinburghcouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in August this year,the rooms were excellent,the food was out of this world, the owners Giffie and Rob are great hosts and can not do enough to make your stay the best Would highly recommend and will be going back next year.

Room Tip: Every room is of same high standard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second visit and on both occassions it was very relaxing and. The atmosphere's great,the Hotel is in a great location, the food is excellent. The owners went above and beyond to accommodate any queries and were very informative about the History of the Islands and places to visit. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and were also always ready with advice. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
278 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 14 Main Street, Kirkwall KW15 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range: $127 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers simple comforts but is still in the top two or three places to stay in Kirkwall. In 1824, it was built just outside Kirkwall by a retired sea captain, and became Orkney’s first hospital in 1845. Today, owners Gifford Leslie and Robert Dawson provide a warm welcome and comfortable guest rooms. Each with a shower-only bathroom. The property has been refurbished in the past few years and it now fresh and inviting. Cost-conscious meals are served in a small restaurant and bar. Fully licensed to sell alcohol, the hotel attracts both locals and visitors. The West End Hotel, in many ways, is the ideal blend of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Kirkwall
Hotel West End
West End Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing