We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second visit and on both occassions it was very relaxing and. The atmosphere's great,the Hotel is in a great location, the food is excellent. The owners went above and beyond to accommodate any queries and were very informative about the History of the Islands and places to visit. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and were also always ready with advice. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
103
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a great place, we booked at the last minute and the owners could not have been more helpful , from the welcome on arrival and the room which was cosy and well equipped to the fantastic satisfying meal and even a special room with access to the outside for our dog. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landymanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The building is lovely, the owners and staff are highly considerate and all the staff seem happy in their work which is always a really good sign The food is excellent: We've eaten in Five Star places that were excellent too but not better. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only visited the bar, so my review may have limited appeal for anyone considering a stay. The bar eaterie is located up the stairs and is of the traditional, dark, wood-panelled & stuffed with vintage memorabilia variety. There was plenty of comfy seating and the welcome was warm. Its clearly a popular place for bar meals and they seemed to be well patronised by locals too, which is always a good sign.

Kirkwall is a lovely place but if it happens to be a busy day in town, dining options can start running out quickly. Handy then that a number of its hotels (like the West End) also offer dining to non-residents.

Other parts of the hotel are a complete contrast when it comes to interior decor. If you're a child of the seventies & eighties and long for the good old unsophisiticated days of wood-chip wallpaper, patterned carpets and copious use of pinewood, then the West End Hotel is a great place to go to indulge your nostalgia.

Recommended spot for a nice pint in relaxed & friendly surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived at the hotel very late (off the Aberdeen ferry) but they were expecting me, check-in was already arranged and the hotel owner told me how to find the car park. The room was compact but had enough space to store baggage. The room had a 4 post bed, which was a very nice tough – but the bed had way too many cushions on it for me. The bed was very comfortable and I managed to sleep on it perfectly fine. The only issue I had was with the shower (although I didn’t mention this to the owner) the shower had a cold medium and hot setting, but cold was, well cold, but medium and hot were boiling hot, so managed the issue by switching it from cold to medium very frequently.

The hotel bar is well stocked with plenty of drinks, all at great value, which makes it an ideal place for trying out older Whisky.

The breakfast had a good spread of items for a small hotel; I kept to bowls of grapefruit and excellent cooked breakfasts, with different items served on the 3 nights I stayed.

The hotel is in a quiet part of town, which makes for a great night’s sleep, with lots of different independent shops, providing a nice change to the usual chain shops.

Overall, an excellent hotel, and if staying in Kirkwall I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our favourite place to eat on every trip we make to Orkney :)
We have been eating here for 4 years now & they never fail to disappoint!! The food is always fabulous & well presented & the portions are large!!
It is a must for us to visit on all our trips as my son is a huge fan of "chicken in a basket" & holiday would just not be complete without it :)
The owners are very friendly & welcoming, recognise us every time we go in which is a lovely touch.
Look forward to returning in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DippyDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A quiet location (with a private car park) close to the cathedral - less then 10 minutes walk. Helpful, friendly staff redeem the old fashioned and rather cluttered interior - it felt a bit like staying with an aged aunt who hadn't done any renovation for 20 years. Fairly basic facilities, rooms small but clean, with a good breakfast and small, informal restaurant and bar. No lift. I'd stay again as the competition didn't look up to much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
11.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 14 Main Street, Kirkwall KW15 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers simple comforts but is still in the top two or three places to stay in Kirkwall. In 1824, it was built just outside Kirkwall by a retired sea captain, and became Orkney’s first hospital in 1845. Today, owners Gifford Leslie and Robert Dawson provide a warm welcome and comfortable guest rooms. Each with a shower-only bathroom. The property has been refurbished in the past few years and it now fresh and inviting. Cost-conscious meals are served in a small restaurant and bar. Fully licensed to sell alcohol, the hotel attracts both locals and visitors. The West End Hotel, in many ways, is the ideal blend of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Kirkwall
Hotel West End
West End Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing