We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West End Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the West End. Robert and Gifford really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. The rooms were very clean, well presented and very comfortable. The dining room was very clean and food was of a very good standard. It is a great place to locate yourself when visiting the southern end of the Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
105
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The owners of this hotel do their utmost to provide a truly unique boutique style accommodation. It is well located to explore Kirkwall. The room I was allocated was on the small side but adequate. The décor was excellent and the rooms were warm and well ventilated. The Teddy’s were a bit freaky but I suppose add to the character. The bar area is a great place for a pint and bite to eat. The food was not memorable and a little on the pricey side. An excellent nights shut eye was had electric showers provide limitless hot water. the breakfast was excellent and piping hot ....a first! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmatt748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Hexham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very accommodating of our late arrival on the ferry from Shetland. Lovely old building with antique furniture, including a four poster bed, and lots of detail and ornaments. Easy walk to town centre.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

An amazing hotel with amazing service. Robert and Giffy are excellent hosts who are friendly and generous with their time to spend making guests very confortable. The hotel is walking distance to the main tourist attractions and has one of the best restaurants in Kirkwall.

The rooms are very comfortable, especially the Captain Buchan room, which is more like an apartment! The breakfast room is like dining in a beautiful castle drawing room with very nicely decorated grand piano. The breakfast is always a local faire and always very nice!

Parking at the front or the rear of the hotel is free and booking a car from the airport is highly recommended to tour all the sites of the mainland island.

Room Tip: Choose the Captain Buchan room. On the ground floor and has separate sleeping and living rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is an excellent small hotel! It has everything I want in a country hotel - comfortable beds, relaxed chatty atmosphere, quirky decoration and a professional but personal approach by the owners.

We stayed here on our first night in Orkney, then came back for our last night too. The food was also excellent - among the best we had in Orkney.

You should definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoutness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrive in Kirkwall not knowing where to stay and used Trip Adivisor to find the West End Hotel. We arrived and the manager Robert showed us to our rooms, we travelled as a single and a couple and had separate rooms. The rooms were very comfortable and come complete with your very own teddy bear.
My single room was quiet even on a weekend and was very comfortable.
The hotel has a bar which is frequented by some lovely locals who we chatted with but wasn't a massive party place.
The best thing about this hotel was Giffie, the other manager. Giffie went above and beyond, a member of our party had a birthday and he put up happy birthday signs at breakfast, gave her a birthday card. He also told us the best places to go, got the info from the tourist place sent over within minutes. And when we had to leave early, we jokingly gave our breakfast order at 11pm the night before in the bar by mouth. And no kidding Giffie was up early and had our breakfast ready at 7am as we walked in the breakfast room. And it was all correct. The Wedgewood breakfast room is a sight to behold.
Giffie and Robert made our few days in the Orkney's feel like we were just at our own home. We will be back there nest time. Service was second to none. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband I had just finished bicycling 1,000 miles from Land Ends to John O Groats and had three days before we had to catch our train. We decided to visit Kirkwall in the Orkney Islands for a well deserved rest and relaxation and we were very fortunate to discover the West End Hotel. It was perfect. Our room was lovely. It had been newly decorated and included a luxurious tub. The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to all that we wanted to see in Kirkwall. The hotel is charming and elegant and at the same time very comfortable and inviting. They have done a wonderful job restoring this historic building. We enjoyed our meals in the breakfast dining area, the restaurant and the pub. The menu was quite varied and delicious so we ended up having all our meals in the hotel during our stay. But the best of all were our hosts Giffy and Robert. They were welcoming, friendly, helpful and delightful to get to know. It’s a long way from our home in St. Louis to Kirkwall, but I hope we will have the opportunity to return to this special hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
272 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
205 reviews
11.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 14 Main Street, Kirkwall KW15 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers simple comforts but is still in the top two or three places to stay in Kirkwall. In 1824, it was built just outside Kirkwall by a retired sea captain, and became Orkney’s first hospital in 1845. Today, owners Gifford Leslie and Robert Dawson provide a warm welcome and comfortable guest rooms. Each with a shower-only bathroom. The property has been refurbished in the past few years and it now fresh and inviting. Cost-conscious meals are served in a small restaurant and bar. Fully licensed to sell alcohol, the hotel attracts both locals and visitors. The West End Hotel, in many ways, is the ideal blend of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Kirkwall
Hotel West End
West End Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing