We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVED this place”
Review of The Foveran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foveran
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We loved our time in Orkney, helped in great part by our stay at the Foveran. We loved the location, which was outside the city of Kirkwall and overlooking the Scapa Flow. We had a lovely room with a view and nice ensuite bathroom.

The breakfasts were delicious and hardy, and served in the lovely dining room, with great views of the Scapa Flow.

The staff was helpful with advice on sights, etc. We had easy access to town and sights all over the island.

The dinners were so amazing. We thought we might eat there one night and then do pub dinners, but ... no way... we ate there every night! And we met so many nice people, both other hotel guests and locals, while we had pre-dinner drinks in the lounge.

I definitely want to go back to Orkney, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I look forward to that day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank diane_calhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

A restaurant with rooms, we had 2 nights bed and breakfast with one dinner. Food really exceptional, very helpful service and to see hen harriers with a birthday dinner was an unexpected treat. Lovely views from the lounge though the overall ambience of the hotel was a bit like a very smart suburban bungalow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked the Foveran for our first trip to Orkney based on its excellent TripAdvisor reviews. It exceeded our expectations. The rooms are modern, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. The staff was attentive and friendly without being intrusive; they have a lovely island way of taking time to chat if you'd like to.
Dinners (and breakfasts) were memorable--freshly and perfectly prepared local ingredients, from fritters with local Grimbister cheese to scallops beautifully grilled to a sticky toffee pudding we ordered on a whim and ordered again the next two evenings. We cannot think of a happier way to spend a week in the Orkney Islands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nlb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A mixed experience. The room was clean but quite small and based on some reviews here I had expected a much more stylish type of furniture. The bathroom was on the smallish side and water pressure was weak.

They have a nice area in front of the house where you can sit and enjoy the view over Scapa Bay. The lounge, though, was overheated and a bit crowded in the evenings, with all the restaurant guests waiting to go to their tables or later enjoying a coffee.

The Wifi simply did not work in my room at all. Ever. Staff made some half-hearted attempt to deal with the problem but never enquired whether the suggested alternative eventually worked (it did not). On the afternoon of my arrival, they apparently had a small dog locked up in the building next door that kept whining and barking. Other than that (and once the restaurant guests had left) the location away from the road ensured a quiet stay.

Overall, I would recommend this place more for the excellent restaurant than for the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for four nights during the Orkney Folk Festival, based in Stromness. Outstanding choice. Close enough to Kirkwall (10 min to town) and Stromness (25 min to town) to be handy, but far enough out to be quiet and relaxed. Great views, outstanding breakfast, great staff. Only regret was that the Festival schedule made it difficult also to have dinner, although staff was hugely accommodating and arranged dinner for me early one evening so that I could enjoy at least once. Booked a single room and it was perfect size and convenience for the four days. Highly recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Booked The Foveran on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, having been impressed by the fact that the restaurant is a favorite of the local folks. Paul and Shirley Doull have worked the Foveran into a top-notch establishment. The rooms are well-appointed and beautifully decorated in a blonde wood Scandanavian style, as is the restaurant. The bed was comfortable and the location is quiet, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. As noted by others, the view from the restaurant is of Scapa Flow, which is only a few hundred yards from the hotel. A truly serene setting, even given the violent wartime background of Scapa Flow. The breakfast was hearty, to say the least. Generous portions, piping hot and delicious, set us up for a day of touring the ancient monuments in Orkney in a driving cold rain. After a day of being drenched, the hot shower felt unbelievably good. Dinner was the proof that Paul is a master chef. The menu has something to appeal to everyone. Our party had steak, fish, chicken and vegetarian entrees and all raved about their choices. Desserts simply defied description, they were so good. The service staff are outstanding, consistent with the quality of the food. Paul and Shirley obviously insist on excellence in every aspect of their operation and it appears to me they have achieved it!
Well done and many thanks for an outstanding visit. We will definitely recommend The Foveran to anyone we know who plans to travel to Orkney.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Family run establishment incorporating clean, well appointed accommodation with fabulous food provided by Paul and his staff. So good that we ate in all week!
Had a wonderful stay and would definitely come again and bring more friends next time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Greenisland51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
2.6 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
10.3 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
2.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foveran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foveran

Address: Foveran Foveran Foveran | St.Ola, Kirkwall KW15 1SF, Scotland (Formerly Foveran Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range: $105 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Foveran 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Foveran, we offer a warm welcome, relaxed dining and eight comfortable en-suite rooms. Set in open countryside with stunning views over historic Scapa Flow, only a few miles from Kirkwall, an ideal base to explore the unspoilt splendour of Orkney. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foveran Hotel Kirkwall
The Foveran Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing