We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Inhospitable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polrudden Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My stay at the Polrudden Guest House was a mediocre yet expensive offering. The decor, if carbon dated, would probably date back to Skara Brae or any one of the numerous Neolithic offerings within Orkney. That said, Skara Brae was devoid of the horrors of thick dark shag carpet, an abundance of wood chip and a severe lack of soundproofing!

The service was cold and unattentive. The tone was more of annoyance and inconvenience, as opposed to welcoming. Did I say it was expensive? I feel the Polrudden has cruised along for years on the ample back of business travellers' who have no real reason to complain, as long as the expenses claims were approved.

Orkney is a beautiful island but tainted with poor service and lacklustre accommodation. It is no wonder that less people are choosing to 'staycate' these days. On a positive note, the cooked breakfast was fine but there was no choice given in terms of type of egg or accompaniment. There was also Wifi but it didn't always work. When it did, it only served to remove you from your drab surroundings and wish of better accommodation.

It won't be my last time in Orkney but it will be my last time at the Polrudden Guest House.

Room Tip: Go somewhere other than the Polrudden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Polrudden Guest House with 2 young children and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived late in the evening (around 11pm) off the boat from Shetland on our first night but this was no problem.

The room was clean, and comfortable, if a little cramped (but we did have 3 beds between the 4 of us) and Linda offered to store the campbed during the days to give us more space. The cooked breakfasts were excellent.

The location is great for arrivals off the ferry - 5 minutes drive from the terminal. It's also a pleasant 10 minute stroll into town.

We'd definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The $ is way too much for what you get. Clean, nice room, but sleep is difficult as there is no insulation from sound at all. 60£ a night for a single is ridiculous for such a small town with not much to see. The selection of cold items for breakfast is also wanting. Some cereals, a tiny bit of fruit and a very bad yogurt. There are plenty of B and Bs here and I don't know their rates, but they are worth checking out before you book here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takayaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were given a double room on the top floor and were amazed at the size of the room as it was bigger than we had at some of our previous B&Bs. The room was well priced and came with the usual facilities including a towel warmer. The breakfast was tasty and our host was very welcoming. She had even arranged for the front door to be unlocked for some pre arranged late arrivals. A short 10 minute walk to the town centre or even shorter drive. There was ample parking space. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleveland_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spent 4 nights in Orkney, staying with Linda at Polrudden. Rooms were spacious, clean , well decorated and very comfortable. Linda an excellent host. Central location very handy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drumq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This guesthouse is close to Kirkwall Quay with a view of the sea but far enough away from the main road to be quiet. The bedroom and en-suite were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. Pleasant and welcoming owners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just back home after a two night stay in Kirkwall and would happily recommend the Polrudden Guest House to anyone looking for a quiet friendly spot to lay their head. It's about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and run by Linda who strikes a nice balance between being friendly without being too overbearing. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy ... maybe too comfy, I was nearly late for breakfast! The cooked breakfast was spot on and supplied with a seemingly endless amount of toast which set me up for the day ahead. It's a bit austere from the exterior but to be fair most properties on Orkney are. They're built to withstand the weather rather than look pretty. The warmth of the locals offset this though!

It's in an ideal place to explore the town, handy for pubs and shops and with more than adequate parking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leodhasach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
258 reviews
11.8 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polrudden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polrudden Guest House

Address: Pickaquoy Rd., Kirkwall KW15 1UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range: $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polrudden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Polrudden Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing