We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the 'Buttries'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Straigona B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Straigona B&B
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Liked the 'Buttries'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Julie was very helpful with local knowledge. As a long term sufferer of a bad back I found the bed was very very comfortable. The cleanest B&B we've ever stayed in. Very convenient for the airport but don't worry about noise this is Orkney!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gladkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmr192, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Very pleased to hear that the bed was so comfortable and always good to hear that all our cleaning is appreciated. Hoping the rest of your trip went well and maybe we will see you back again. BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
126
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fresh baking, considerate hosts, and plenty of small touches which are often missing: black out blinds for those super bright Orkney summer nights, useful practical range of toiletries, maps and local books.

Professional, easy going and friendly hosts with very standards and clear ideas of how they think a B&B should be run! Ask Julie for her home made vegetarian sausage for breakfast, whether you are a vegetarian or not.

You will need a car as it is a 5 minute drive out of Kirkwall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Julie & Mike made me feel really welcome, saved my neck with scarf, gloves and hat when I was not prepared for the windy and cold weather, gave me lifts into town to save me the walk to the airport and the bus trip, replaced the liquid soap dispenser that got soap onto my blouse, made me vegetarian dinners and a packed lunch, gave me travel advice about the islands, chatted with me when I felt lonely, made me laugh with the messages on the personalised objects in the room and breakfast room... giving the perfect example of how to do tourism and what a home away from home feels like. Unfortunately, circumstances made it so that I only spent 3 nights there, of the 7 I spent in Orkney. But I really hope I'll go back :) It's the kind of place you think of fondly for weeks after you leave and the very nice kind of place you really want to return to :) I won't insist on the breakfast and the (baked) treats, others have already done that :)
The only disadvantage for travellers without a car is that the last bus towards Straigona in the evening is a bit past 7.

Room Tip: Inganess offers views to the airport, the sea and the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRAIGONA, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We really enjoyed having you stay and thank you for such a wonderful review, makes all our hard word more than worthwhile. You know where we are if you return! Brgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Julie & Mike have created a brilliant B&B, where nothing is too much trouble and everything you might want is provided, along with many things you didn't expect to be provided. For example, there was an amzing range of toiletries, lovely tray bakes, packed lunches, offers of maps, torch, binoculars, etc. We had the family room, though there were only 2 of us, and that was very spacious and comfortable, with easy chairs, plenty of storage space and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Julie in particular is very knowledgeable about Orkney and can give useful advice about where to go and what to do. If we return to Orkney, we shall certainly stay there again. The only thing to be aware of is that you do need a car because it's a little way out of Kirkwall, but that suited us being near the airport, because we were flying out to Westray after staying at Straigona.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrea4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRAIGONA, Owner at Straigona B&B, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you! Always nice to know we are on the right track and always a pleasure to meet guests who are so interested in Orkney - I was at Cuween Hill last weekend, first time since I was 14 I think and remembered to take a torch! BRgds Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my second stay here and I will be back as soon as possible. Location convenient, hosts so welcoming, food and rooms excellent what more could anyone ask for!! I stayed for 3 or 4 nights last year, this year it was 6 nights- next time i would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The b n b was excellent. Welcoming, great en suite family room, clean, comfortable. Amazing home baked cakes fantastic breakfast. View over looking the air port. The location, if you have a car is near the airport and a five min drive from Kirkwall. The only reason for the 4 stars and not the 5 is there's not much to see in the area in may, attractions open in June.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannahmabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langrolay sur rance
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice and hepful hosts, Julie organised for us a nice part of our tour: she booked for us ferry and accomodation! And we had great time in Straigona with nice bedroom and wonderful breakfast . Thank you , Elisabeth and Jean-François

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#1 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straigona B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straigona B&B

Property: Straigona B&B
Address: Tankerness | Tankerness, Kirkwall KW17 2QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straigona B&B is ideally situated 5 miles from Kirkwall and close to the airport, enjoying stunning views over Inganess Bay and the island of Shapinsay. All rooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, TV with Freeview and DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, toiletries, bath robes, individually thermostatically controlled radiators, shaver point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straigona B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing