We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cafe - with a very warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafelolz

Cafelolz
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are delighted to annouce that we have just received an award from the scottishhomebakingawards. We will be taking part in the national finals for 2013.
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cafe - with a very warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We walked in the door and received such a warm welcome. The staff were so helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The home-made food was fab and the wine was chosen well to accompany it. The coffee and cake to follow finished off a lovely lunch. Oh and the bonus is there's free wifi

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starrygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    68
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“COLD CAFE, NO HOT FOOD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

although this cafe is very confy with the nice deep fluffy sofas, it was cold. I needed to keep my coat on all the time (and it:s not first time it had to be this way). no hot food available at lunch time is v. disappointing. what else would you go to a cafe in winter for?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, Owner at Cafelolz, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are very sorry your visit to our café was disappointing. Our built in heaters have broken and we are currently trying to get them fixed. We have tried to compensate with electric halogen heaters but as it is a big area this is difficult to maintain. We are hopeful this will be fixed very soon though. In reply to the food service times we serve sandwiches, toasties, Panini’s from 10am – 3pm and a full lunch menu is available from 12noon – 2pm. We hope to see you return but should you wish to speak to us further don’t hesitate to contact us at the café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Another bad xperience. Card machine was broken but nobody bothered to mention it until leaving. Then had embarrassing experience of having to walk to nearest cash machine. You should have told its when we arrived. Took complicated and to many "rules"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alasdairferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine P, Owner at Cafelolz, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Sorry that you were disappointed with your two visits to my cafe. I have noted that you were not informed that the card machine was out of order and for this I must apologise. Due to high costs of running the card machine I have had to increase the minimum spend to ten pounds which I think is justifiable. I hope that our high standard of food and service will encourage you to revisit cafelolz on your next trip to Orkney. Please introuce yourself to me on your next visit if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's What a Cafe Should Be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Vacationed in Orkney and vistied Cafe Lolz quite a few times. This is what a cafe should be, relaxed, quick service, comfortable - especially the big couch at the back wall, and reasonably priced. The initial draw for us was the free WiFi, which worked most, but not all, of the time. But on the high side lots of tasty food and drinks. Really good coffee, and lots of home-made soup and cakes. Overall a great place to go and relax when you're hungry, cold, or both.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTummyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopped here each of the three days I was on Orkney. Wonderful baked goods (fruit scones are to die for), always fresh coffee, comfortable atmosphere, no rush dining.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafelolz also viewed

 

Been to Cafelolz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing