We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please smile more!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Please smile more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

It's a good location on the harbour. The rooms are OK (though I thought £90 for single occupancy of a double with harbour view at a 3* was a bit over-priced). The restaurant is very good value and quality for hotel dining. If only the staff smiled a bit, and engaged in conversation with their customers! It's amazing how a bunch of people who don't appear to be enjoying their jobs affects the atmosphere for the customers.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Reception and restaurant staff lack of engagement
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    63
    38
    21
See reviews for
41
123
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saurrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

surly, monosyllabic staff with the exception of lounge barman (a student I think).
Very greasy breakfast but dinner ok

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank baracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkwall hotels

Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

We have just returned from a great stay in Orkney, which was only marred by two things : firstly the weather on some days being rather wet and windy (but great when the sun shines !), and secondly our stay at the Kirkwall Hotel ! I hadn't realised until I stayed there how good the breakfasts were at the many other hotels where I have previously complained of the breakfasts : The Kirkwall sets a new low ! My breakfasts on both days we stayed there were inedible : the poached eggs were cold (how ???) and the bacon was fried. There was a poor choice of alternative foods, other than the vile cooked breakfast. The staff appeared to not have the least degree of interest in whether you were fed a satisfactory breakfast or no. The prices at the Kirkwall are very high, even for Scotland, and are not justified by the standards. Staff seem willing but clueless.
On the plus side : the view from our room of the harbour was great, and dinner was OK : the food was good, while service was chaotic.
We met another couple who had stayed at the St Ola next door and had the same view for half the price and their breakfasts were OK !

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

GBP80.00 for a single night (single occupancy of a twin room). I chose the hotel because of the close proximity to the Ferry for the early (07.00) boat to Westray next morning. Room had no view.

Hotel has been renovated but is still bland and without character. On checking in, I was informed I would be unable to eat in the restaurant until at least 20.30 due to other bookings. The chippy next door proved to be a good alternative option with a lovely piece of fresh fish instead.

Missed breakfast due to 6.30 departure and to cap it all I had to physically shake the night porter awake to pay my bill.

I will not return.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Dornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

Apparently the hotel has been refurbished - certainly not the room I was in. The carpets were frayed and torn, the furniture was ancient, and the bathroom tiny. Staff were rude, on arriving for breakfast the waitress looked at us and said "Oh my God". The bedroom was above a bar with loud music which played until 1.00a.m.
Lunch was awful - I ordered mushroom tempura which turned out to be mushrooms in a thick fish type batter - disgusting!
On complaining I was given a discount of £20, then overcharged by £10!
Will never stay there again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

Resturant service fine but the food was very, very salty - everyone at my table thought the same.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

I will tell you that in all my travels (even to Cape Cod and the Maine coast) I have never had seafood as good as this. We squeezed in here (get a reservation or you might be out of luck) on a Friday night. Both my sister and I had a seafood salad plate with 6 different kinds of fish on lettuce with caviar garnish. My seafood-phobic boyfriend had the lamb. We were all so pleased we got in. The seafood was wonderfully fresh and light. It was devoid of creams and cover-ups that so many other places might use to hide a lack of freshness. The lamb was tender and bursting with flavor. If you are in Kirkwall definitely get yourself a table.

Helpful?
2 Thank Phillipstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing