We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, good value and good service”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food, good value and good service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we came here for an evening meal and loved this place, the staff are really well trained, the food was amazing, i had chicken and haggis with a wine sauce, really tasty and very good value for money. The desert was to die for orkney fudge cheescake. This place was busy with locals and tourists alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotslass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for a excellent review,we are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us in our popular busy restaurant, its very encouraging for us all when customers kindly take the time to post positive comments,perhaps in future you may consider staying with us.

Many Thanks
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    130
    72
    45
    22
See reviews for
47
137
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked two rooms for one night. I paid a little extra for one room to have a harbor view and thought it was worth it. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Dinner in the hotel was excellent. The dining room was full but it never felt overwhelming. The soup was piping hot, bread was freshly made, seafood platter was marvelous, wine was good, serving staff were helpful and friendly and the tablet cheesecake was sumptuous.

Breakfast was efficient with full Scottish, kippers or smoked fish available. Service was very efficient which was great as we had a trip starting at 8am that day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for a brilliant review,we are delighted you enjoyed everything we work hard to achieve,your comments are much appreciated by our hard working staff and I am sure future guests will find them useful,we do hope you may stay and dine with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location in the centre of Kirkwall overlooking the harbour. We were not disappointed. Our room was very large, beautifully furnished and had all we needed. Breakfast was excellent and we had dinner twice - both evenings we ate local produce which was very well cooked and presented. Drinks were reasonably priced especially the wine. Go for the house wine - excellent value for money. Staff were very efficient and friendly. The only complaint is that some of the chairs and carpets are looking a bit tired and the stairs could also do with a lick of paint.

Room Tip: Room on the front for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review we are delighted that you enjoyed our 3 star hotel overlooking the harbour,and that you choose to dine with us twice from our local produce menu,we recently changed our house wine and we are pleased you found it to be excellent and great value,our hard working friendly staff will appreciated kind comments.We are a privately owned and family run business,ever winter we are continually upgrading.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Kirkwall Hotel, Orkney, in July 2013. Our welcome at reception when we arrived was excellent and we were made very welcome - we walked in off the street with no booking. Our room was large with a very comfortable king size bed situated at the back of the hotel - and quite quiet considering we were in the centre of town. We ate dinner in the restaurant on two nights, the food and service was excellent - bookings for dinner would be advisable because it is a very popular restaurant. Breakfasts were very good, got us off to a good start each morning! We totally enjoyed our stay and fully recommend the Kirkwall Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhippetWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Many thanks for your great review,we are pleased you had a peaceful comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed excellent food and service in our restaurant overlooking the harbour,we do advise booking as we are very busy but we will always do our best to cater for those who cannot get a reservation.great that you found our breakfasts very good we use quality local produce throughout all our menus,and that our lovely reception team made you feel welcome the moment you stepped through the door.It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I visited the Kirkwall Hotel retsuarant while we were here after being recommended by our tour guide from Orkney Uncovered. We had been advised that the Chicken St Magnus was excellent so we both elected to go for that. Delicious! We had a great desert too with a couple of Orkney beers. It would have been better if the Scapa Special had been on draught but it was very good all the same. Staff were hard working, fast and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review,and thanks to Orkney uncovered for their recommendation! Head chef George created "chicken st magnus" 17 years ago! and although he has tried to take it off several times now due to customer demand it is a permanent dish on the menu! so we are delighted you enjoyed it,thanks for observing how hard working and efficient our staff are.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was not resident in the hotel. I was just passing trade for the restaurant but despite the hotel being busy a table was found for my wife and me. Although the service was fairly slow the waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful and any waiting was not detrimental to our enjoyment. The dining room was full but the spacing of tables was such that chatter form other tables caused no issue and did not spoil our enjoyment of the meal. We throughly enjoyed a very reasonably priced two course dinner. I would certainly go back and I would feel happy to recommend the hotel to others in terms of an evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrywallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you reviewing our harbour view restaurant,we are glad you found our hard working staff to be friendly (THEY ARE!) as you noted the restaurant was full,our chefs and waiting staff work hard to serve all our guests as promptly as possible,you would have been informed that there may be a wait and advised of menu items that are quicker for those in a rush.we are happy you found our prices to be reasonable for dinner,perhaps next time you might enjoy our lunch menu or our all day food in Skippers Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for several nights with a tour group, and aside from some minor grievances really enjoyed the hotel. The place has a lot of history to it, with the old-fashioned elevator and pictures on the wall of when the hotel was first started. I found the bar and restaurant to be excellent with very good food at every meal. My room was comfortable and well-looked after, though it seemed quite hot, and for some reason signs told me not to open the windows. The staff I dealt with seemed professional for the most part, and I would definitely stay there again if I am in Kirkwall.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are near the reading room which is a nice plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacksonWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you,we are pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us,our hotel is indeed very historical and regarding the elevator( lift) we could have replaced it with a modern one but we chose (at great expense!) to replace the original one like for like and its a delight that you enjoyed it as much as we do!
As to the problem with your window that has now been repaired.It would be our pleasure to welcome you to The Kirkwall again.

Regards
Amanda McLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
250 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing