We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome at the Kirkwall Hotel.”
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Kirkwall Hotel, Orkney, in July 2013. Our welcome at reception when we arrived was excellent and we were made very welcome - we walked in off the street with no booking. Our room was large with a very comfortable king size bed situated at the back of the hotel - and quite quiet considering we were in the centre of town. We ate dinner in the restaurant on two nights, the food and service was excellent - bookings for dinner would be advisable because it is a very popular restaurant. Breakfasts were very good, got us off to a good start each morning! We totally enjoyed our stay and fully recommend the Kirkwall Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhippetWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Many thanks for your great review,we are pleased you had a peaceful comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed excellent food and service in our restaurant overlooking the harbour,we do advise booking as we are very busy but we will always do our best to cater for those who cannot get a reservation.great that you found our breakfasts very good we use quality local produce throughout all our menus,and that our lovely reception team made you feel welcome the moment you stepped through the door.It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I visited the Kirkwall Hotel retsuarant while we were here after being recommended by our tour guide from Orkney Uncovered. We had been advised that the Chicken St Magnus was excellent so we both elected to go for that. Delicious! We had a great desert too with a couple of Orkney beers. It would have been better if the Scapa Special had been on draught but it was very good all the same. Staff were hard working, fast and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for a lovely review,and thanks to Orkney uncovered for their recommendation! Head chef George created "chicken st magnus" 17 years ago! and although he has tried to take it off several times now due to customer demand it is a permanent dish on the menu! so we are delighted you enjoyed it,thanks for observing how hard working and efficient our staff are.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was not resident in the hotel. I was just passing trade for the restaurant but despite the hotel being busy a table was found for my wife and me. Although the service was fairly slow the waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful and any waiting was not detrimental to our enjoyment. The dining room was full but the spacing of tables was such that chatter form other tables caused no issue and did not spoil our enjoyment of the meal. We throughly enjoyed a very reasonably priced two course dinner. I would certainly go back and I would feel happy to recommend the hotel to others in terms of an evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrywallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you reviewing our harbour view restaurant,we are glad you found our hard working staff to be friendly (THEY ARE!) as you noted the restaurant was full,our chefs and waiting staff work hard to serve all our guests as promptly as possible,you would have been informed that there may be a wait and advised of menu items that are quicker for those in a rush.we are happy you found our prices to be reasonable for dinner,perhaps next time you might enjoy our lunch menu or our all day food in Skippers Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for several nights with a tour group, and aside from some minor grievances really enjoyed the hotel. The place has a lot of history to it, with the old-fashioned elevator and pictures on the wall of when the hotel was first started. I found the bar and restaurant to be excellent with very good food at every meal. My room was comfortable and well-looked after, though it seemed quite hot, and for some reason signs told me not to open the windows. The staff I dealt with seemed professional for the most part, and I would definitely stay there again if I am in Kirkwall.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are near the reading room which is a nice plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you,we are pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us,our hotel is indeed very historical and regarding the elevator( lift) we could have replaced it with a modern one but we chose (at great expense!) to replace the original one like for like and its a delight that you enjoyed it as much as we do!
As to the problem with your window that has now been repaired.It would be our pleasure to welcome you to The Kirkwall again.

Regards
Amanda McLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel for four nights, the room was very clean and comfortable experiencing pictures views over Kirkwall Harbour. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The restaurant was excellent giving a wide and varied choice to cater for everyone's taste. The service in the restaurant was quick and the food was of a very high standard being served in a very relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and we plan to return again next year.

Thank You
Joyce and Ken

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angels2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you ,we are delighted you enjoyed everything we work hard to achieve and I am sure future customers will find your positive comments helpful as will our lovley staff.we look forward to your return visit next year please get in touch with either myself or the proprietor Debbie directly before you come it will be our pleasure to meet you in person.

Kind Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I will make it clear from the start that we did not stay at this hotel so this review is based on the dining experience only.

On arrival, we were show to our table in the vast restaurant which overlooks pretty Kirkwall Harbour. The décor & furniture are somewhat dated, although the room itself has massive potential. The tables are very close together & there were people on either side of us, so if you are looking for an intimate meal, forget it.

I ordered the seafood plate to start & Moonface chose the Cullen Skink. I was really disappointed to find that the crab claw had clear been frozen & when I bit into it the flesh leaked water everywhere. The crayfish were dry & completely tasteless. Moonface's Cullen Skink had been pureed to an inch of it's life & although there was some flavour there was not one piece of whole fish & it reminded us of something that you would find served up in a care home.

Our main courses were marginally better - my scallops were well cooked & the sherry sauce was tasty. Moonface's sea bass was overcooked but the vegetables were reasonable.

We were so under enamoured with what we had eaten that we decided to skip pudding & go home.

The bill was presented to us by one of the young (polite but not terribly experienced) staff & we found that not only did we have our bill to pay for but the addition of someone elses. I called over one of the staff, an Italian man who I assume must be the restaurant manager & before he rectified the bill, we were subjected to a story of his career history & his thoughts on Great Britain. Bizarre to say the least.

Sadly, we would not return for a meal at The Kirkwall Hotel - there is absolutely no excuse for serving pre frozen fish when your guests are overlooking fishing boats - if it's not available fresh, then don't serve it.

A disappointing first culinary experience in Orkney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JustJamieRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are disappointed you did not enjoy our food and hospitality.we do offer private dining rooms for those wanting more intimate experience as opposed to our very popular atmospheric restaurant and bar.As for the crab we remember you and it was explained to you on that occasion due to adverse weather the creel fishermen had been unable to get out to sea so we did use the( still local) but yes frozen claws for which you were not charged for, also although we are looking out at the beautiful harbour and fishing boats sadly there is no longer a fish market here.the cullen skink is our Head chefs family recipe (from the north east of Scotland where the soup originates) and there are typically two ways to serve it chunky or smooth for our diners we make it somewhere in between and it is in fact only on the menu at all due to overwhelming requests for it to,sorry for the mix up with your bill,pity you didn't stay for pudding you perhaps may have enjoyed the fudge cheesecake.

Regards
Amanda Mclean
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 22 year old son. We booked a superior twin which was large and overlooked the harbor. It was a corner room(117) so it had lots of light and huge windows. Our son had a twin which was very small. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The breakfast was great. We also ate in the dining room for 2 of our three evenings and our meals were delicious. The town of Kirkwall is terrific. St. Magnus Catherdral a must see. We went to Shapinsay and the ferry was right across the street. It was a great location for touring the Mainland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath_irving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks for your review,we are delighted you enjoyed our harbour view rooms, our cooked to order breakfast made with locally sourced produce, and that you had delicious meals in our restaurant.we are ideally located for enjoying Kirkwall and for catching the ferries to Westray,Shapinsay etc..

Regards
Amanda Mclean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
157 reviews
12.2 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
215 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range: $110 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing