We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkwall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkwall Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

The location of the hotel is great. The service was very very good. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were really polite and very helpful. Our room was a little on the tired side and could do with being redecorated, but that is really just cosmetic as the room was clean and there is so much to do in orkney that you will not be in the hotel for all that long. The food served at the hotel was fabulous, and the breakfast in the morning was amazing! My top tip would be to take your car with you or hire a car while there as there really is so much to do on Orkney. The orkadian people are so so friendly, and Kirkwall is a great place to party once you've seen the tourist attractions! My other tip is buy a Scottish Heritage ticket to allow you in to the attractions, such as maeshowe, skarrabrae ect..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    63
    38
    21
See reviews for
41
123
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I had a suite room, which wasn't expensive compared to the rest of the island's hotels and gave me a corner room, fabulous views across the harbour and a jacuzzi bath! Quite a change given I was going to camp... Right from the first phone call they were helpful, professional and friendly, even phoning the local restaurant for me to check for my lost card. Breakfast was huge, freshly cooked and there was a good choice. One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treepixie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Most enjoyable evening spent in the hotel restaurant with close family we were staying on the Island with. Pleasant surroundings, the dining room is extremely comfortable and ambience is just right. All staff are very friendly and attentive to your whole dining experience.They are even lovable!! :))
Food was quite delicious, always served hot and each menu choice was delivered plentiful.
Overall a suberb meal was enjoyed by all and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend nor visit again on our next trip to the northern isles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is in a great location, overlooking the harbour, but the whole place needs some TLC. Some parts were fine, but our bedroom was very tired. For example paint was peeling from the bathroom window, there was some mould in the corners of the shower, and a crack in the bedroom door was covered with adhesive tape. Most of the staff were very good, but there were a couple of grumpy exceptions. The dining room was ok, and the food ok, but the decor was a bit lacking. For example, there were picture hooks on the walls, but no pictures. I wouldn't refuse to stay there again, but It can be said to be just adequate.

Room Tip: The road outside is noisy, so you may need to choose between a noisy harbour view room, or a rear/si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed as part of an archaeology group of 26 and I hoped we would be assigned one of the front rooms. We were and it was lovely waking overlooking the old harbour. The room was high-ceilinged and comfortable and the en suite was fine; as is usual the room had been divided into two and the en-suite carved out in one corner so cornices only on two sides (only an architect would notice or care!)
We were on the first floor so walked up; guests on higher floors complained about the cantankerous and ancient lift. Food was basic but good; all courses had to be ordered in advance. The bar was well stocked with dozens of malt whiskies.
Our last dinner was at the Ayre just down the front and although newer and less grand it seemed to have a better atmosphere and food compared to the Kirkwall.

Room Tip: try for first floor overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christy21040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Clean but dated rooms. good service. Nice reading room overlooking the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurstie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Booked a very last minute 4 day solo trip to orkney and didn't want to spend too much on accomo this time. Had a nice and welcoming stay in a lovely superior twin room overlooking the harbour (room 117?)on my 2nd night. The reception staff was really friendly and was ever so helpful and accomodating (had to leave/acccess my luggage several times as due to this being a very last minute trip ended up having to stay at three different places over my 4 night stay in orkney - see other reviews for st ola hotel and peedie hostel - yes I ended up experiencing a wide spectrum of options in kirkwall ;-)). I also had dinner here one evening and really enjoyed the scallops, again served by attentative staff. Breakfast was good too. The only 'downside' is that it comes at a price compared to other options in kirkwall (esp. If travelling alone - I paid 92.50 pound for the room) , however of the three options I experienced I would say it is the best quality accomodation at (depending on your budget) a reasonable price for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vogel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Property: Kirkwall Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing