We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent welcoming hotel.”
Review of The Ayre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent welcoming hotel.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 10 nights. It is now even better than when I stayed here last 5 years ago. Improved rooms, custom built extensions with 18 new bedrooms, and new breakfast/lunch/dining room also a refurbished existing dining room. Excellent management from Wendy & Lyall Harray. Good friendly efficient staff. Great welcoming atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble!! Very good food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very comfortable beds and well planned bedrooms. The recently installed lift is a huge bonus. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    150
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
30
121
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

we stayed here with our daughter and it was lovely, the travel cot provided was a bit tired looking but it done the job. we then came back after our son was born, they only had one highchair so trying to have lunch with a toddler and a young baby meant one of us had to hold one of our children. The food was lovely, staff friendly and helpful but the lack of an extra highchair was a bit of a pain

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaM101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and the staff were very friendly, the room was perfect and the hotel had been recently refurbished.
However the hotel guests bar was being renovated while I was staying which was inconvenient but the staff were very apologetic about it.
I will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked the Ayre having read the positive reviews and we realise that you can't please everyone but we don't recognise this as the place others are reviewing so favourably.
In it's favour, the hotel is centrally situated for visiting Orkney. It is also clean and not noisy.
The bedrooms have, for the most part, no or restricted views and are smaller than most hotel rooms we stay in. As a comparison we would say that given a choice between the Ayre and a Premier Inn it would be no contest - Premier Inns have larger rooms and bathrooms at approximately half the price.
Breakfast was taken in a soulless "events" room and was adequate. We had the temerity to ask for a pot of tea one morning and were told in no uncertain terms to get our own! So, whilst some of the staff were pleasant, it was not universally the case.
Perhaps we should not have prepaid..........

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very well situated close to the kirkwall pier and close the town center.
Hotel renovated
Rooms are clean and some have a beautifull view on the sea
Bathroom are clean and the water is hot (very usefull in this country)....
Breakfeast very good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebDBS16JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My son and I were making a return visit to Kirkwall and booked in to the Ayre.
We decided to eat in the first night and check out the menu.
We were glad we did because the food was excellent.
Notwithstanding the fact that there don't seem to be too many alternatives for dining out that we could see in Kirkwall we would have continued to eat there anyway as I don't think we would have fared better elsewhere.
I see from a recent review that the staff cooked a special breakfast for an early departure, who perhaps caught the same time flight out that we did - despite inquiring there was no specially cooked breakfast for us other than some toast and cereal.

Room Tip: We only slept in one so I can't compare them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierowall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Ayre Hotel was a wonderful place to stay - a clean, bright, modern room with exceptionally friendly staff. We were catching a flight early the next morning so they arranged an early breakfast for us with porridge and scrambled egg with smoked salmon cooked for us just as we arrived. It seems to be all newly updated. The breakfast room was really comfortable with tasteful upholstery.
The staff really cared about our experience - even letting me print out our boarding passes for the flight without a murmur.
The bed was massive. The best night's sleep I could have had. Great room, great staff. Exceptional

Room Tip: The view of the Harbour is exceptional if you can get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theHallofEinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
10.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayre Hotel

Property: The Ayre Hotel
Address: Ayre Road, Kirkwall KW15 1QX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ayre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ayre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Kirkwall
The Ayre Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing