We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orkney hospitality at its best!”
Review of Benmora B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benmora B&B
Ranked #6 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Orkney hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautifully appointed accommodation perfectly situated to enjoy Kirkwall, Benmora holds a prime position overlooking the harbour and is within minutes of the town itself.
Carolyn is the perfect hostess, attentive without being intrusive and cooks a great breakfast.
The house is spotlessly clean, bright and modern yet retains a cosy feel and the rooms are well provisioned with comfortable beds, plenty of storage space, tea, coffee and biscuits and beautiful bathrooms with soft fluffy towels.
Three ladies of a certain vintage had the perfect start to their week in Orkney. Orkney hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
52
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had a two night stay in Kirkwall and so instead of staying in a hotel, I thought I would stay in a B&B instead to give me the freedom to expore the town.

Benmora is incredibly clean, incredibly easy to find and seriously close to the harbour front.

When I arrived, the owner, Carolyn, was extremely helpful in that she wasnt there, but she had left instructions and a key for me to let myself in and get settled etc.

Wifi was good, bathroom was spotless (and cleaned spotlessly for my second day), and the gust lounge was very useful.

The next day, followed by a great breakfast, she even offered to drive me to my buisness meeting in a local business estate, however i ended up getting a cab because she had errands to run.

My final evening was spent in a number of pubs in Kirkwall and it was great to be back in bed wihtin 10mins of my last pint!

The final breakfast was brilliant - an dthe views from the dining room are awesome (shame the weather was crao duing my stay).

All in all, a great stay and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We use Benmora B&B everytime we need accommodation for our company. Carolyn is so helpful and pleasant to all guests.

So glad to find a really good B&B that everyone asks for checking of availbility first before any other places in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIslesSa... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, U.K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at Benmora in August 2011 for 3 nights. The rooms are really clean, comfortable and homely. The breakfast is superb. Carolyn, the owner, is great: nothing is too much trouble. The property is immaculate and I couldn't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve123Swindon_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Carolyn is a wonderful and generous host. She cleans the room and refills the snacks every day. The room is high quality; good matress, excellent big shower cubicle.
The view is a picture and the traffic noise minimal. There is a Guest Lounge with a different view of the harbour and approaches. All the boats, ferries and tall ships............
Breakfast, served in another room with a great view, offered more than we could ever eat and a wonderful choice served with a smile at a wide range of times. We were so grateful for the pack brunch she provided on our last morning ready for an early start.
Come and go as you please, plenty of guide leaflets etc.
A picture from the road is on Google Maps. Southernmost white house on harbour side of road. See the views for yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for the double room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Myself and my daughter have just returned from Orkney, and stayed at Benmora B&B. This is the friendliest,most homely ,comfortable, immaculate ,B&B I have ever stayed in and I have travelled worldwide.Carolyn the owner went way beyond expectations to make our visit very special. We can highly recommend Benmora to anyone planning a visit to Orkney. .
Also only five minute walk to shops and spectacular views. Looking forward to our next visit.

Keep up the excellent work Carolyn and THANK YOU

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isobel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Exceptional accommodation - clean, tidy, spacious with outstanding views of Kirkwall harbour and town - yet all within easy walking distance.

However, people always help in the 'making' of a good holiday, and Carolyn definitely added that caring touch in anticipating problems, finding solutions to those problems and delivering absolutely fantastic service throughout our 5 day stay, which made for a wonderful stay on Orkney. My dietary restrictions were very well catered for and the quality, variety and presentation of the breakfast was excellent.

Definitely accommodation I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmora B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmora B&B

Property: Benmora B&B
Address: Ben Mora Cromwell Road, Kirkwall KW15 1LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benmora B&B Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing