We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orkney Archaeology Tours

Ranked #2 of 9 Tours in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orkney Archaeology Tours offer all-inclusive small group holidays, private tours and day tours led by professional archaeologists who are also accredited green badge Orkney Tourist Guides.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The tour was perfect for us, with a focus on archaeological sites but also including some more recent historical sites. Both Dave and Caz showed deep knowledge of the pre-history and history relating to the sites, with content which was serious and substantive without being heavy. In the tradition of the best documentaries, you don't need to be an expert to be fascinated as you are learning more, with the added excitement of being there. I was aware of the well-known sites but was surprised that many of the lesser-known sites were equally impressive in their own way. We would never have experienced those without this tour. The logistics were faultless: comfortable accommodation and travel arrangements, a schedule with flexibility to take advantage of the weather and avoid any crowds, and the small group size (8) allowing greater access to sites and a more personal feel to the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Orkney Archaeology Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've recently returned from this trip to Orkney and have to say it was one of the best holidays I've been on. The itinerary was very well planned allowing for enough time to be spent at the different sites that we visited. Caz was extremely knowledgeable and made sure everything ran very smoothly and also ensured that individual requirements such as dietary preferences were always met . The vehicle we travelled in was clean & comfortable. The hotel we stayed in (Ayre Hotel in Kirkwall) was excellent with very friendly staff & really nice rooms. I have paid single supplements on holidays before and ended up in poor rooms but not here. My room was superb with a great view over the harbour. The food was very good throughout the tour. I would definitely recommend this holiday. Gurdip Gill

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gurdip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan
1 review
“Orkney archeology tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We toured with Caz in the first week of September and while the weather was very blowy and rainy, she adjusted the schedule so as to make the most of the days. the tours were full of great Neolithic sites. Caz was very professional, knowledgable and patient. We traveled to some areas that would be inaccessible to large groups and had enough leisure time to experience local music venues, shop and just relax. I thought that six days would be too long a visit, but the days were very full and well spent. Loved the ease of traveling to different islands with the group and seeing so much of the Orkneys. thanks for a great time Ruth and Harold Blumenstein

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthB316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Orkney Archaeology, August 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was an amazing experience. We were taken on a most thoughtfully-organised itinerary around all the major archaeological/historical sites and also many less well-known. We were provided with clearly-explained current ideas about the background to/development of each place, ranging from prehistory to aspects of WWII. Our guide was helpful and interesting throughout, showing concern, not only that we appreciated the sites but also for our welfare. The vehicle was comfortable and we had good views, wherever we happened to sit. The trip took us to several of the islands of Orkney, travelling to some across linking "dams" and to others by ferry, giving us a really clear idea of the various types of terrain faced by prehistoric peoples and by the current friendly inhabitants of these beautiful islands. The hotel was most friendly and comfortable, and the food was superb throughout the week. I would really recommend this holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetdanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Orkney is under my skin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Shortly after my first visit to Orkney in 2010 (see my trip advisor review), I knew a return visit was a must. Caz Mamwell, tour guide and professional archeologist supreme, executed with finesse and brilliance a second week-long experience, taking us to several of the outer islands along with a splendid hike into the hills of Hoy to see the Old Man. Nothing beats the exciting and fascinating way Caz explains history through lore, legend, and local anecdotes. Her knowledge of Orkney knows no end, and her humor, storytelling and organization skills are miraculous. This second tour will no longer be offered, but you can bet I'll be back some day to repeat the first trip. Orkney has gotten under my skin, from the mysterious and wonderful standing stones of Brodgar to the crunchy deliciousness of Scottish flapjack...Caz's Archeological Tours make travel to Orkney uncomplicated for the foreign visitor.

Local business people are welcoming (and help you figure out all the small coins!) The free history museum and lovely shops are just minutes away by foot from the Ayer Hotel, where you will stay each night. A variety of breakfast items are available each morning and the supper menu is certainly varied enough to keep the guest satisfied during the week's stay. Nevertheless, take advantage on your arrival day and free morning to sample local specialties in the cafés and restaurants, where the gray exteriors belie the wonders within.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidR322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orkney Archaeology Tours also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to Orkney Archaeology Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing