We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel excellant breakfast”
Review of St. Ola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Ola Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good hotel excellant breakfast”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

£60 a night ,pretty good value.Breakfast was first class

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
52
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loanhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel before and had a really nice visit, however this time it was not so welcoming. Had to wait what seemed like an age before the receptionist/barmaid finished pouring drinks in the bar before she finally greeted us. Then she asked for payment upfront and told us to be out by 10 am (charming). The noise from the harbour was expected but the boy racer on the moped speeding up and down the road at 11 pm was not!!! 90 pounds per night for this below average hotel was excessive to say the least. I will not stay there again, and as i am a coach driver, i will not reccomend this hotel to any of my passengers.

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed!!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have stayed in this small hotel 3 times now, always in the same room overlooking the harbour. The accomodation is fairly basic, but clean. The breakfast is lovely and fresh and the price is good. A good place to stay as it is right in the centre of Kirkwall. They own the pub downstairs and it does sometimes get a bit noisy at the weekends, but they do warn you about this when you check in and it is a busy and vibrant pub which is good if you want some night life! I have never noticed too much noise from downstairs when staying here, probably because we were exhausted after seeing everything in Orkney during the day! The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. Not suitable for disabled access as the stairs to the rooms are narrow and steep and turn half way up. The room I stayed in had a double bed and a single with en-suite shower room, it was fairly small but we hardly spent any time in the hotel as Orkney is so fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the harbour, the fishing boats and ferries make much better ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha_purdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The St Ola in Kirkwall is a great B&B to stay in. I stayed there while working. The staff are all very friendly and can't do enough to help you. Please bear in mind that this B&B is right opposite a working harbour and above two mostly busy bars. This doesn't bother you if you've done a days graft and get of to sleep no bother like me. The bar down stairs is also good and very laid back. Good portions for breakfast in the morning. Clean well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. I would recommend this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimTheCrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Walking by I almost missed this place in my search for a room. (Boyfriend stayed at train station with luggage). I think we paid 40 pounds for the night for a double twin room with a typical Scottish breakfast. The beds were on opposite ends of the room which made it nice for reading. The bathroom was small but manageable and the shower was one of the more modern ones encountered in Great Britain. All in all the room was clean and neat with newer furnishings and linens. The beds were comfortable. Our view was looking over the bar/restaurant patio next door. We never heard anything from the neighboring business but the weather was rainy and cool. As far as the Inn itself, all was fairly quiet with only a few noises heard.

The St. Ola is within walking distance of the bus station and on the western edge of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlonthegoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Lying awake in my hotelroom right now due to the noise from both the hotel's bar and from Helgi's pub next door, which is rather annoying as I have an early flight to catch tomorrow. It is also a real shame for the hotel as staff is nice and rooms are ok and recently redecorated (although rest of hotel is quite tired looking). Have called the bar twice and despite the staff wanting to be helpfull there is just not so much they can do as the building is too noisy and they clearly want to run two businesses at the same time...when I stayed here on monday night things were fine, but my advice if you are not planning to be in the pubs yourself until closing time is: avoid this place thursday to saturday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vogel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Having stayed in other hotels in Kirkwall we think the St Ola is by far the best value. The rooms have been refurbished, the front rooms have a great view, and the staff are the friendliest in Kirkwall. Breakfast is standard b&b fare but well cooked. The shower is small. But the wifi is excellent though I think it only allows one user at a time. Really you are staying here for the location, and once you find out howmuch the other hotels round Kirkwall are charging in summer you will tend to agree the St Ola is great value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
142 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
305 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ola Hotel

Property: St. Ola Hotel
Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Ola Hotel is situated in the heart of Kirkwall on the picturesque waterfront. We offer beautiful comfortable rooms, 2 very friendly bars and homemade food using the finest local produce on our all day menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your St. Ola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ola Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing