We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardconnel B&B
Nearby Hotels
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Foveran(Kirkwall)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lynnfield Hotel(Kirkwall)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
156
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeaceful countrysidegoing the extra milescrambled eggs with salmonincluding fresh fruitwould highly recommend staying herebeautiful islandwent out of her wayroom was spotlessly cleanhope to returnroom was largewarm welcomecooked breakfastrelaxing stayher husbandkirkwall town centretea and coffee making facilitiesset us up for the day
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the warm and genuine greeting to the spotless modern room, the wonderful view from the room, the modern bath, comfortable bed, the spaciousness of the room, etc. to the delicious breakfast, this place is perfect. We recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Immaculate rooms with great showers, comfy beds and lovely views. We were visiting the Neolithic sights in Orkney so Ardconnel is in a great position just outside Kirkwall to visit all the monuments. John and Margaret were excellent and informative hosts and pointed us in the direction of a few good places to eat. The breakfasts were delicious too. Hope to return again soon when we plan our next European trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This b&b is situated just outside Kirkwall with wonderful views across the water to Kirkwall harbour. We found it to be very friendly and welcoming. Our double room was spacious and comfortable with nice new furniture. The en-suite shower room was also very well appointed with a plentiful supply of nice toileteries and towels etc. Everywhere was well maintained and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of fresh fruit as well as the full Scottish cooked breakfast. Everything was cooked to perfection.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable week in Orkney and would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Margaret and John Graham are the most hospitable and kindly hosts you can imagine. They run a spotless and comfortable b&b, with tasty and substantial breakfasts, and they also care for your every need. While we were there my wife had the misfortune to break her arm in a fall. On her return from the local hospital, John and Margaret not only allowed us to use our room much more than one would expect to on an active holiday, but also went out of their way to provide all kinds of support and local advice to help make the rest of our stay as comfortable as possible. Certainly the place to stay in Kirkwall.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May for a course at EMEC. The owners were lovely, very helpful and informative and could recommend places to go and visit, along with things to do in town in the evenings.The room was great, lovely big bed (in fact there were two in my room) with a large off suite. Both were clean and tidy.

I was initially on foot and the owner very kindly drove me the short distance into Kirkwall, showed me where my course was being held and took me to the local bike shop as I wanted to hire a bike. In the end that bike was not suitable for cycling round the island and the owner actually lent me his own bike instead!

Breakfast was delicious, not the greasy mess that so many Scottish breakfast can be. A good selection of alternatives too if you wanted to avoid the artery blockage - including gluten free things.

I would definitely go back here if I am up on Orkney again. The B&B is situated along a single track road through some fields, about 10 minutes walk from Kirkwall itself. The front of the B&B looks out over the bay. The distance into Kirkwall is easily walkable if you are on foot. Ample car parking space though too if you are bringing/hiring a car.

The price was amazing too. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews