We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect balance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Shirley and Gerry have found the perfect balance at their delightful B & B: warm and welcoming hospitality, great food, magnificent views, yet privacy when required. I believe it is more than a 10 minute walk to town though, so I caught a taxi from the quay in Kirwall - 2 pounds 80p. I had a small but snug single room on the ground floor, with a beautiful ensuite and reliable wi fi, and a delicious breakfast as well. Unfortunately I could only stay 2 nights but would highly recommend this perfect spot, whether it's for one night or 10. You will be well looked after. [Note for smokers: you can smoke just outside the front door, or in the back garden - filled with birds and beautiful plants. If it's raining, Gerry kindly let me smoke in the conservatory which was also filled with beautiful plants and flowers, many of which would be familiar to other travellers from the "colonies".] Don't bother researching other places: just book this one!

Room Tip: If solo, see if you can have the single room at the front. There's no traffic so it's very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic stay at this excellent B&B in Kirkwall. Gerry and Shirley made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The room was great, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast area and the guest lounge has the best view in the world. You could just sit there all day and look at it. Breakfast was great and Gerry even made us smoked salmon and eggs. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Thanks Gerry and Shirley!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

There are many places to stay in Kirkwall but one like the Hildeval won't be matched. It is tempting to keep this jewel to oneself but the service, hospitality and quality of acommodation has to be praised accordingly.

Location is superb, just off the beaten track (a 10 minute walk), excellent views, quiet and contemporary whilst keeping in with the sense of place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pozaicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for six nights in May. Shirley and Gerry are really very welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the view from the breakfast room can leave you speechless. Very clean and cosy place! Definitely made us feel like home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well what can I say! Shirley and Gerry are the most hospitable owners who make you feel right at home from the minute you walk through the door. The room was clean, large with the best bed I think i've ever slept in. The bathroom was also large and spoltless as well. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and expertly cooked. The breakfast room is up the stairs allowing you to look out over Kirkwall and out to the bay thanks to a huge window that takes up the length of the wall. This was stunning especially with the snow added in! All in all a fantastic trip and I will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April. Shirley and Gerry made us feel most welcome and could not have been more helpful in ensuring our time in Orkney was great. Their B&b is modern, immaculate, and spacious. The beds were very comfortable, and we woke to lovely breakfasts, beautifully served every morning. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed there in the Easter break fro one night. Gerry & Shirley were very welcoming! Lovely breakfast and amazing view from the breakfast room. We could keep our bikes there too. Zara is a very friendly dog too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stokrotka_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
159 reviews
11.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildeval Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildeval Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hildeval Easthill, Kirkwall KW15 1LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: $92 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hildeval - 4 Star Bed and Breakfast Accommodation set in picturesque Kirkwall, only a short walk from Orkney College and the town centre. All of our rooms are en suite, with flat screen tv/radio/dvd, wifi access, hair dryer, steam iron and ironing board. Breakfast is served in the dining area which has stunning views of Kirkwall bay and Orkney's North Isles. At Hildeval Bed and Breakfast, we try our best to go the extra mile to make your stay at our guest house a pleasant and memorable one. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hildeval Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing