We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would happily return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orcades Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orcades Hostel
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would happily return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hostel provided everything two 60+ ladies needed. Prior to our visit we had phoned and emailed the hostel from New Zealand and appreciated the time and effort Gita and family put into providing us with information. Our room was attractive, clean and comfortable, the ensuite generous, the kitchen new and very well organised and the lounge spacious and modern. The only criticism I would have is that arriving tired after a long day, the cramped entry and tired stair carpet was initially offputting but judging by the rest of the hostel I wouldn't be surprised if this hasn't been rectified already as all else appeared recently renovated. The staff were wonderfully friendly and as helpful as one could wish. The proximity to bus stop and supermarkets is a bonus and although a little out of the town centre we feel everything was done to make our three night stay a pleasure and recommend this hostel. The only reason I have not given an 'excellent' rating is we had just come from Islesburgh House in Lerwick, Shetland and that, as hostels go, has to be near incomparable!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is awesome. A ktichen and living room that you would be happy to have in your house. Our dorm was spacious and the bathroom was clean as a whistle.

The staff were accomodating and chilled out. If you're thinking about staying anywhere else you are a fool!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evanagoodtiime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hostel was great, loved the ensuite bathroom to the dorm of four beds. Beds were all ready to use (quilt cover was on the quilt). Free internet use is excellent. Lovely kitchen and eating area. I'm not a big fan of hostels but wouldn't think twice about staying here again because it was so much nicer than the average hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplejulie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Orcades is a top notch hostel, it has real mattresses on its beds, it is quiet, very nicely decorated, has everything one could ask for, a nice selection of herbs and essential seasoning in the kitchen (and to be honest, when backpacking it is great to find sugar and salt already there, and it is just one of these small little things that make a stay even greater). The lounge is very comfy with sofas and big tables to enjoy your meal and a fireplace. There is also a lot of info on the area and even though I did not meet the owner as I came in late, they were super friendly on the phone and left a similar note for me to find on arrival. A place that want's you to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

After 3 wet nights in my tent, booked in for 1 night only before moving on. Other guest in dorm caused trouble and staff dealt with him in a very positive manner. Good facilities. Was passing through Kirkwall several days later when my bike developed a problem so I stayed for 2 more nights. All staff very friendly and helpful. Even a new shed for bicycles. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctessem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Booked this hostel for 1 night because of bad weather forecast, we were due to be camping. Friendly efficient service on booking. On arrival found friendly family run hostel and were advised that there was a childrens football team staying so it might be busy in the morning in the kitchen area. Childrens football team very well behaved and not a problem. We booked the double room and this was more like a B and B standard, tea and coffee making facilities, tv in the room, ensuite, nicely decorated. Very soft bed but this is just nit picking, some people might prefer this! Only downside was party of ozzy travellers staying, it was their last night and they were having a party in the communal lounge area, they were very loud and antisocial and this was a shame as the communal area is very good otherwise. To be fair we should have told them to be quiet but were being typically stiff upper lip! Kitchen facilities of a high standard. Overall very good, slightly more expensive than other hostels but would recommend.

Room Tip: Double room is ensuite, tv, kettle but bed very soft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed for 6 nights spread over a 3 week period in Sept 2011 in 3 different rooms. I have stayed in many hostels over the years and this is undoubtedly the best. It is roomy, comfortable and clean. Everything works. Quiet location with off road parking and yet only a short walk from the town centre. Bike storage, great kitchen and lounge, ensuite in all rooms and under bunk storage facility is really clever and practical. Comfy beds. It is family owned; their passion to please, genuine nature and warm welcoming demeanour are a revelation. Recommended unreservedly.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kirkwall Youth Hostel
Kirkwall Youth Hostel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcades Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcades Hostel

Property: Orcades Hostel
Address: Muddisdale Road, Kirkwall KW15 1RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orcades Hostel is an independent, family run hostel in Kirkwall - the capital of the Orkney Islands. Clean, modern, friendly, comfortable and situated in a peaceful location but only 10 minutes walk from St Magnus Cathedral or 5 minutes walk to the supermarkets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orcades Hostel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing