We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont Book an early morning wake up call”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shore
Ranked #8 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont Book an early morning wake up call”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night only , requested 0600 alarm call in order to catch 0700 ferry and had to move room as original room had no phone . Got woken at 0245 by alarm call and got virtually no sleep after that , did not get alarm call at 0600 as requested . The bar food was OK , haddock a bit tasteless . No early cooked breakfast available ,I was given a breakfast tray in the restraunt when finishing dinner to take up to my room .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
We certainly didn't get this one right and can only apologise for the interrupted night - staff on duty had thought they had met the request by offering a room change to meet the need for an early call as well as providing individual radio alarm in the room. We have discussed the issue with staff and reviewed our training and instructions for operation of the telephone alarm system. Regarding the food service, as a small inn we offer room only rates with a cooked or continental breakfast served from 0715. Breakfast trays are available to those who wish them. Our food service continues all day through to 9pm with bar and restaurant menus. Great pub grub, and particularly our fresh haddock and chips, is our speciality - so it is disappointing that this particular portion didn't match the reviewer's expectation. If the reviewer would like to get back in touch with us we will see if there is anything we can do to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    57
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
77
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here in May 2011 with friends, the hotel is excellent. Rooms are great, and staff are very friendly. The hotel has a very homely feel, with comfortable furnishings & staff who are always smiling. We also had a meal one night at the hotel, it was very good. The hotel is right next to the sea which is always a bonus for us. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at The Shore for 2 nights in April. The location is great - central, close to the harbor, and easy to get to just about anywhere in Kirkwall on foot.

The staff was friendly, and helped us understand transportation options around Orkney.

The room was fine - average size, decent working shower, and clean. There was free wireless internet that seemed to work just fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angra311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

we can find no fault, main greeting through to departure, we felt welcome and experienced friendliness from staff and local customers alike. The rooms are not massive but are completely adequate, clean, cosy and well equipped. The attention to detail is 1st class and far superior to other supposedly 5* establishments and we have seen just about the lot. throughout the establishment there isn't a speck of dust to be found and a clean fresh smell is experienced. A good selection of food on the menu and you simply cannot fault the quality. Loved the cooked breakfast and the smoked fish chowder is just scrummy. many thanks for your hospitality, we will return.

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsonduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Conveniently located place. The rooms are rather spacy, the bathroom meets its purpose. A lounge, a bar and a restaurant are in the ground floor. If you have a light sleep, it can be a bit noisy - but wasn't much a problem for us. Usually one staff member on service during breakfast et cetera, and a good selection of drinks and whisky. Of course, it's not the Ritz, but you wouldn't want this sort of hotel in Kirkwall anyway :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

clean and newly upgraded bedrooms make it a great place to stay, good wifi connection and quality resteraunt

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Arriving in this hotel, we were a little bit disappointed. Booking an expensive room with harbour view, we expected more value for our money. The rooms are good, and the service is good as well, but the hotel is definitely too noisy if you're looking forward to a couple of nights of good sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneliesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Property: The Shore
Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore Inn the perfect stay overlooking the harbour in Orkney Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing