We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical holiday at the perfect villa”
The Farmhouse at Gigan, picture perfect!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse at Gigan, picture perfect!
Crystal clear water, comfy sunloungers and plenty of pool toys for all! Enjoy eating out on the shady terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Farmhouse at Gigan, picture perfect!
Crystal clear water, comfy sunloungers and plenty of pool toys for all!
Enjoy eating out on the shady terrace
The living room has comfy leather sofas, log burner & TV tucked away in a corner cupboard
Hand built kitchen with granite work surfaces, AGA 6:4 conventional cooker, table seating up to 12
One of the two principle en-suite bedrooms.  6ft bed, luxurious linen, double aspect
Smart en-suite, fully tiled in travertine.
Second principle en-suite bedroom (downstairs)
Upstairs living room, great space for youngsters to hang out & play, watch a DVD or grab a book.
Super comfy TV sofa, comfortably makes two extra beds if needed.
Enjoy relaxing, swimming and just having fun!  Fully alarmed pool and safety cover at night.
Enjoy the bounty of our orchards!
Enjoy plenty of tasty treats in your complimentary welcome basket!
Upstairs you will find three luxurious twin/double rooms - plenty of space for all!
Upstairs bathroom, twin sinks, bath & separate shower
One of the three upstairs bedrooms.
Great room for youngsters or grown ups alike!
Plenty of quiet spots for relaxing in the shade!
Enjoy relaxing in the fabulous thatched retreat, perfectly located to make the most of the views!
Great play house for our smaller guests
View of the restored Moulin de Coulx from the garden
Bikes for all, enjoy cycling on quiet country lanes
View from the thatched retreat!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tombeboeuf, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tom_Nutt
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Magical holiday at the perfect villa”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A group of ten friends stayed over a week for one of our weddings. It was a superb holiday at the lovely Gigan, with the owners, Prue and Andrew, being unbelievably helpful. The villa is perfect for a group of friends or a couple of families and against the backdrop of the stresses and strains of a wedding it proved a relaxing haven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches that make it a home from home
Liked least: Another loo/bathroom would have been useful
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedJane
Weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect peaceful enclave in a beautiful region of France”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I can't praise this property highly enough. Once you drive through the gates you will not want to leave. For the time of your stay you will have your own little portion of France with its extensive grounds, wonderful pool and the tastefully decorated and fabulously well-equipped farmhouse. Everything about Gigan feels really special. Even with ten of us (and a family in the other smaller property) there was bags of space and no feeling of getting on top of each other. Prue is extremely helpful but not at all intrusive. I can't recommend Gigan highly enough. The region too is well worth a visit. The driving is easy with virtually empty roads (in June) and we didn't pay a penny in parking the whole time, an added joy for any Brit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: eating on the long table outside
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie W
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

What a welcome awaited us at Gigan last week. Prue greeted us warmly and showed us around the glorious farmhouse and grounds that we had rented for a week for 3 families. Our group was made up of 6 adults and 4 children aged 10 years and under, the property provided ample room and facilities for a party of this size. A luxurious welcome basket of goodies awaited us, a lovely touch.
Communiction with Prue prior to our arrival enabled us to find our way from Bergerac airport easily. She had kindly offered to do a shop for us before we arrived which we declined as we had plenty of time to do this ourselves but we gladly took up the offer of a meal prepared for that first evening. I would heartilly recommend this, fantastic choice for grownups and children, reasonably priced and absolutely delicious.
The house, garden and pool definately have the wow factor, we really couldn't have asked for better. The children had the time of their lives safely being able to loose themselves, roaming in the gardens,swimming, playing football, table tennis, just so much to keep them entertained.
As for us, plenty on offer in the area from markets, beautiful old towns, tree climbing. much more than we could fit in to a week. We dined out every evening at the gorgeous table either cooking in the excellently equipped kitchen or on the bbq outside, often eating vegetables from the garden.
Our last night was spent eating outside at a fantastic restaurant called La Terrasse in a nearby hill top village, recommended by our brilliant host.
Overall a wonderful, relaxing holiday in the most beautiful of settings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stelladav...
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for families”
Reviewed August 14, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Just returned from the Farmhouse at Gigan, four adults in two families with 3 under three's for a week.

Where do we start?

Prue & Andrew are perfect hosts - welcoming & friendly, helpful throughout the stay, but unobtrusive if they are in their private property on site.

The Farmhouse is stunning – so many people say the photographs do not do the house justice, and we would agree. It is so homely and well laid out, with the upstairs and downstairs sleeping areas practically forming two separate apartments, which gave both families a sense of having their own space on a night and morning.

Don’t worry about having a different group staying in the other property – the layouts mean on an evening if you are all sitting out you will neither see nor hear one another
The mezzanine area is great for the kids to run around in safety, with loads of toys for all ages from baby to teenager provided. The TV has a DVD player so your Bob the Builder can travel with his/her daily fix.

The kitchen is first class and equipped to a high standard, from the AGA stove to the Le Creuset. You’ll find excellent chefs knives, many pans and baking trays, all the need utensils for cooking from the basic to the complex. We scratch cooked all of our evening meals and the kitchen had pretty much everything.

The BBQ is brilliant and fully stocked on arrvial, great for a couple of pyromaniacs like us. Andrew at one point feared one of his favourite trees might not be around the next morning... Great for watching the sun set and seeing the Milky Way come out over a glass of wine.

Top marks for the pool – it is heated to a balmy 29 degrees, meaning the kids (and dads) can spend hours in it without getting cold. It is slighty salty, which is far better than chlorine, and is kept very clean. The hard safety cover is will also reassure those who have small but very mobile children.

The surrounding area is peaceful and worth exploring, especially the Bastide towns, such as Monflanquin and Eymet. Prue provides a really useful guide to the local towns too. Bordeaux takes about 1hr 30mins by car, Bergerac is around 45 mins – be sure to explore the old town if you go.

Quality is paramount; from the heavy pool towels to the cold beer & wine in the fridge on arrival, much thought has gone into these properties. Everything is new or in great condition, from the children’s floatation vests poolside to the sterilisers and highchairs.

Hats off to Andrew and Prue, they’ve really considered what a family abroad might need and executed their ideas with an impressive attention to detail.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LS90
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Gigan. The detail of everything made the place feel like a home from home. It was very beautiful; the perfect place to relax. Everything we needed was there. The property was very clean and comfortable. I had many favourite parts which included the rose garden, the outside eating area, the pool and the view of the windmill. Overall the stay was fantastic!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graceleac...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most beautiful property I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed June 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

The property is beautiful with amazing attention to detail. It feels so homely and it was luxury to sit outside around a gorgeous big table eating your meals and enjoying the weather
The pool is big and closely situated to it is a great seating area for relaxing in the sun.
Close to the property is a local village, Tombeboeuf, where there is a boulangerie selling all sorts of tasty pastries and breads. The village also has a restaurant, local shop, butcher and pharmacy so everything you should need is in a very close distance to the property.

It is an amazing place and I would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,609
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing