We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it and struggle to fault.”

Belle Epoque Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For over forty years we have only bought the highest quality ingredients and produce from people we know and trust. We buy as much as we can from local farmers and small artisan producers. All our meat is raised and grazed in Cheshire, from certified farms and hung for a minimum of 21 days. We also grow our own organic garlic and herbs on site for use exclusively in our kitchens.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it and struggle to fault.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a great time in nov 2011, yes I know a while ago but read on... We paid for the private dining so we could take the children and it was great, we got over charged but as soon as I pointed this out we were refunded.
Ie also eaten here with partner a few times both lunch and an early dinner with the kids, aged 4 & 1 - this was our last visit in nov 12. Staff were pleasant, but not intrusive and food was great.
The decor is sumptuous and I'm saving up to get married there, come the day...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captainess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    69
    34
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“high class food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Came at the weekend and loved it. The food was of a very high quality, the service delightful. love the decor and lighting here. Always a treat. Definitly will keep on coming. Can't recommend enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Decent food but service not slick enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I was part of a large group that dined here as part of a function.

First impressions were good - lovely venue and tables set very well, with beautiful flowers.

To start, I was boring! Soup! It was fine.... Nothing special. However, the main thing I noticed was the slow service. There was a considerable wait from the 1st starter arriving until the last. Rather than serve 1 table at a time, they served 1 dish at a time. Therefore, all of starter 1 was sent out and then starter 2 .... This simply meant that every table was waiting to start. And food was getting cold!

For mains I had pork. This was lovely and the prunes complemented it perfectly. Bit stingy on the veg tho!

The dessert wasn't really to my liking. Chocolate tart with Turkish delight ice cream.

The service issue continued for all courses. I was also stuck right in a corner... So much so that the waiters had to pass my food to other guests...

Helpful?
Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was looking forward to finally trying out belle époque - I was disappointed. It may be because we had the Christmas menu but we found the food to be distinctly average with a very dry turkey Christmas dinner and stale chocolate torte. On a positive note the starters were ok and the wine list isn't bad but the whole experience certainly wasn't as good as I had been expecting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Business Event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I recently took 10 clients to a private dining evening at the belle Epoque. I've often wandered past the restaurant (i live a few miles away) and thought it looked really nice.

Suffice to say we had a really top night, good food, good wine, nice environment. Staff were friendly. Minor (and I mean minor) observation would be that at times there was a lack of "flow" to the service - difficult to explain but probably more to do with staff experience (?) rather than some sort of deep rooted issue. Possibly being upstairs and away from the hubbub of the main service team plays a part in this??? I do maintain this is a minor observation and would not prevent me from booking a meal here again. Indeed I intend to use this for personal dining in 2013!

Fully intend to return to the hotel at least once a quarter with clients. Also pleasantly surprised at the cost per head for a larger party of this nature (ie quite a bit of wine drunk) worked out at £60 per head

All of my clients were very complimentary on the evening and the restaurant played a major part in this success.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Epoque Restaurant also viewed

Ollerton, Knutsford
Knutsford, Cheshire
 
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to Belle Epoque Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing