We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dog Over Peover
Ranked #4 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful country pub that I have eaten in a few times and now stayed twice. On both occassions the staff have been fantastic and extremely welcoming. The room I had was spacious (Room 1), clean and I enjoyed some luxury extras with Teapig teas, Lake District toiletties. The food in the evening and the breakfast were amazing and even though I was staying alone I felt at ease. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a stay away in the country, roaring fires, good food, wine and company. Well Done all at The Dog.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

My friend was asked to leave by some horrifically rude waitress because she was feeding her 4 month old son absolutely disgusting she was told she wasn't allowed to feed her baby in the pub! I cant believe

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebsar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This lovely country pub really is a jewel! I have been to a number of places in this area for a drive out but this one stands out from all the rest. We stopped here one Sunday for lunch and ended up staying till late into the evening. The food was utterly fabulous with very generous portions. I had the small Sunday lunch and boy am I glad as this was beyond generous. The staff were so friendly. We were treated like one of the locals which was lovely. It was child friendly and pet friendly. I can't wait for a summers day to come back and sit outside and watch the world go by. I am so pleased I came here and will be back very soon. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were treated as VIPs from the moment we entered the hotel. What can I say, the food was fabulous the large rooms were spotless and well kept, bed lovely and comfortable. I would say that the stars of the show were the staff, they were cheerful, efficient and seemed truly pleased to be working there. Also the Inn is a real ale venue...The only down side was my own fault. I thought the hotel was in the middle of Knutsford where in reality it is in the middle of the lovely village of Over Peover 15 miles from Knutsford, a lucky mistake

Room Tip: Only stayed the one night; stay longer the area is beautiful for walking/cyclingor just a peaceful r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Dog was Recommended to us and what a great shout! Everything was of excellent standard, ambiance, service, food (try the slow roasted lamb shank and you won't be disappointed). Definitely going on the list for a return visit.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had our silver wedding celebration with 12 family members on saturday 15th Feb.
Food was excellent ,staff were very friendly and excellent service , would highly
recommend, this was third meal here and all were of similar standard.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have eaten here many times now and every time the service and food have been excellent! There is something for everyone on the menu and the range of local beers and drinks is great we would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
5.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,052 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
199 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
176 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
6.8 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog Over Peover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Over Peover

Address: Wellbank Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: $103 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dog Over Peover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Hotel Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing