We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Walkhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the first Premier Inn that was not up to expectation. We stopped going to Travel Lodge and this had the same ambience. So much so we wondered if it was a recently bought TL and reconditioned. The room was clean but smelt as did the hallway. So much so that we had to open the windows in an attempt to get rid of the smell. It looked out onto the refuse area and in the morning when the window was open had a distinct slight odour! Had to run up and down to reception because the remote TV control batteries were flat. The people were lovely and accommodating, but the whole experience reminded me of the T L when T L was much better. Not somewhere I would go again. Would definitely choose a different P Inn. Food was OK, range good but it all tasted of re heating and the cabbage/bacon veg dish tasted rancid. All very disappointing. I hope Premier Inn is not going the way of Travel Lodge. We stayed earlier in the Carlisle P Inn and it was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clhanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    124
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
82
141
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I selected this based on proximity to our local office and the fact it was off the motorway for a one night stopover. The hotel is easy to find in a country location on a main road but that doesn't affect the sleep. I was welcomed by cheery reception more akin to the high standards you get in the USA, in fact the whole hotel experience mimicks more a usa inn than the uk norm. In as much you get a good size comfortable bed, no frills but plenty of space with TV and coffee facilities in room and a decent bathroom (small critique I don't like shower curtains prefer doors and I do like power showers, the shower was adequate but no force to be reckoned with.) IAfter 6 hour drive I needed a walk and strode of for a couple of miles through the surrounding lanes in the dark, no paths but not busy so got the good air. Hungry now ate in the inn and it was excellent. Top service, quick and well prepared food, only gripe being a couple of the specials had run out but I took the venison and it was fine. Breakfast was all you can eat and again excellent, I only wanted continental as on a diet but the full english looked mighty fine, my porridge was perfect thanks. Checked out no fuss, decent size safe car park. All good and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked an overnight stay and found everything to our satisfaction. The room was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We chose this not only because of the special offer (£19) but because we wanted to go to Knutsford and liked the fact that the attached pub was a Chef & Brewer. From the directions we did get the impression that Knutsford was a lot closer and was surprised to find it was approximately 5 miles from this hotel so you would need to keep this in mind should you want to be closer to the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 306thegriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good value for money, nice large room. It is very conveniently located and next-door to a good pub with nice meals. Only the level of cleanliness could be a bit better, there was makeup on the bathroom door and a squashed mosquito on the wall just next to the bed – both were easy to wipe off with a wet tissue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked as an overnight stop-over. We received a friendly welcome, the room was spotlessly clean, spacious, and had all the facilities we needed. The bed was so comfortable that we asked what kind it was as we would like one. Was a bit worried that the room might be noisy as it was on the ground floor, right next to the hotel entrance lobby, but we had no disturbance at all - the corridor door outside our room was fitted with a door closer which operated very slowly and did not slam at all. We had a choice of softer or firmer pillows, also extra bedding if needed. We did not eat there so can't comment on that. All in all it was excellent accommodation, and all for only £29.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgoundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

No problems with room, noise, breakfast etc all very good for price we paid. We booked this stay back in aug as non refundable deal and paid upfront. Received confirmation confirming the correct number of breakfast we had ordered. a week before the stay received an email confirming out stay again but this time it listed 16 breakfasts! Rang up and was told it would be sorted out when we checked in. arrived with two young children after long drive to be told more money had been taken from out account that day and they would refund the breakfasts we hadn't eaten. should they have been able to take money out of my account two months after I had made my payment? Anyway no appologies, made to feel like our fault, took ages to try and get the refund to go back on card, had to phone bank as told bank was declining the refund, actually member of staff had but in their details wrong. Took ages to sort out. This was not a one off, at least two other people had the same problem

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review. Naina Social Media Team, Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A really good night stop. Fair price, great welcome, comfy room and good food. The adjoining pub food and service were first class. The one comment is that the "soft " pillows seemed to be as firm as the firm ones.

Room Tip: We were happy with pot luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.9 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
3.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Address: Warrington Road | Hoo Green - Mere, Knutsford WA16 0PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the beautiful countryside of Mere, near Knutsford. It provides easy access to the M6 and M56 motorways. The historical town of Knutsford is a short drive away with its cobbled streets, specialist shops and fashionable bars/restaurants. Close by are Tatton Park, Tabley House, Dunham Park, Arley Hall, Jodrell Bank, local golf courses or further afield Oulton Park, the Trafford Centre, Manchester and Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Knutsford Mere Hotel Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing