We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

The Mere Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mere Golf Resort & Spa holds the reputation as one of the best maintained and highest quality golf course in the North of England. The 18 hole, 6,882 yard, par-71 course at The Mere was designed by James Braid, and created out of 150 acres of Cheshire parkland in 1994. The course offers the charm of the Cheshire countryside, with stunning views of Mere Lake, and mature trees; yet offers a selection of challenges to test the precision and driving skills of golfers.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

6 of us stayed 2 nights with the adults escape offer.

Check in good. quick room not ready but took our bags and we could get on with our day.

Our room was lovely, very comfortable and clean, had great sleep.

Had lunch outside which was fine, evening meal in Browns was excellent we all had a good meal, nice cosy bar to sit in before/after meal.

Breakfast good.

The hotel has high standards and is well looked after, the staff are a credit to the company. All the staff we encountered from check in, Browns, housekeeping and Spa are warm, friendly professional, Peter the concierge was very helpful.

Other halves played golf, the course was challenging especially the 11th hole.

Use the pool which is big enough for a decent swim, the Spa is very nice and very clean.

Had a great stay and it was good value, I would and will visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickiIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    47
    18
    12
    8
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dissapointing spa day”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked a spa day for my daughter and i for us to relax together before the start of her gcse s ,I booked a hours treatment each but we only ended up with 40minutes i did tell the lady at the dessk on the spa she who apoligised and said she would give us a glass on sparlking wine with our meal and get the manager to have a word with the girls who did our treatmentmy daughter does not drink so this was not much good.
The hotel is lovely and the staff are very nice but did feel we got ripped of on our treatment it did spoil what would of been a perfect day

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1kimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel and spar”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We got married at the mere in 2012 after the renovation, we returned for our aniversary last year and again this year. The staff are great, food is excellent and it is an all round nice place to stay. There are often offers available so it is well worth asking about them before you book.

Helpful?
Thank Steve-Emma2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My daughters and granddaughter treated me to afternoon tea & bubbly here. The sandwiches were fresh, scones/cakes delicious and atmosphere very chilled & relaxed. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good wedding venue”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited here for a friend's wedding reception. The venue was very pleasant and the food excellent. The only negative comment I would make is that there was not much room for guests to sit between arrival and moving into the dining room.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshireman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mere Golf Course also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to The Mere Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing