We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Knutsford
from $22.40
More Info
from $21.14
More Info
from $30.39
More Info
from $62.10
More Info
Reviews (2,534)
Filter reviews
2,534 results
Traveler rating
1,147
778
316
159
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,147
778
316
159
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden flower show national trust mansion house nt members gardeners cottage home farm merry go round car show adventure playground rose garden formal gardens gardens are beautiful play area farm shop scones sunny day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,534 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited with my wife and 5 year old grandson. We visited the farm and gardens. Adding together the entrance fees, parking, light lunch and a trip on the "train" we spent just shy of £100. Think this was a touch high and perhaps should have skipped the train and brought a picnic. Thought the farm wasn't great but on the other hand my grandson absolutely loved it. Garden buildings seemed to need a bit of TLC as a bit worn. Maze was poor and needed a refurb. Given that my grandson had a great day, including the comprehensive playground area, I will give it a good rating. Great for kids.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Bramhall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Like so many other reviewers, having to pay £7 to park when you are already a National Trust member really isn't great. I suggest that the NT website needs to have this very clearly stated on the opening webpage for this property. We reduced what we spent at the property as a result of this charge. Whilst the gardens and house are really good, we just felt that it wasnt maintained to the usual excellent standards that the National Trust achieve at so many of their other properties. I appreciate that income is essential for Tatton Park to exist, but it just felt too money grabbing which was offputting. Some of the shops were just plain tacky and the cafe was expensive and mediocre. Some really lovely spots though particularly the Japanese garden and Italian garden and fern house. The staff provided great information as we toured the mansion, and were very enthusiastic. Some better wayfinding around the gardens is needed as it took us ages to work out how to get from the gardens to the entrance to the mansion. Whilst we had a good day, we wont be back too soon - other NT properties to discover and revisit!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank wanderingwolves999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

it cost 7.00 to park for the day but we did know that before we went.A map near the car park would be good to show you where to go we had to ask members of staff on three occasions where things.We paid £13.00 which included gardens mansion and farm enjoyed the Gardens then went to farm few animals and steam tractor plenty of picnic tables and things for children to make etc. Mansion was good very interesting and good guides very informative. If you want to eat in the Gardner's Cottage it is advisable to book as we tried to get a table twice but it was fully booked up. Bought coffees in restaurant long queues more like a canteen and food was quit dear sat outside as it was a sunny day. Had an Ice cream has there was an ice cream van there plenty of walks to on in the woods and around the grounds you will see deer walking around as well. Enjoyed it play parks for children and a few fair rides.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Caron612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonPark, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the good review Caron612,

We're currently building a new visitor welcome centre in the car park (you probably saw the scaffolding!), and this will feature maps of the estate, leaflets and more - hopefully a big help for you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Had a day out at Tatton Park today. Although I do have to say £7 for parking is a bit pricey, as I do know a few were complaining about the cost. We had lunch in the restaurant come cafe my husband had chips,beans and 2 sausages for £8-95, bit pricey I thought. And I had a jacket potato with tuna this was served with coleslaw and lettuce I sat and looked at it as there was no cucumber or tomato how mean was that. With 2 drinks total cost was £18-95p. We enjoyed the mansion and the gardens but didn’t bother with the farm as we were told that was chargeable also.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Showhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

Visited on Sunday, and found it to be a really disappointing experience. The playground is very good albeit busy but it was a nice sunny day. The cafe we found dreadful and horrendously overprice £4.50 for a packet sandwich and £11.95 for some dried up sausages and chips and a queue out of the door with two manned tills. Over 25 mins to pay!! Tables were covered in trays of plates and food. In this day and age and having experienced some wonderful National Trusts this was the worst by far and there is no excuse especially with those prices.
We had a big walk around the park with our dogs and there was not one bin for poo bags, so we walked for two hours with our dogs poo. Again inexcusable if the council and NT expect people to pick up after their dogs.
We won’t be returning and hope improvements can be made to this lovely and clearly busy, well utilised park.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank emmacA8272VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonPark, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Thanks for the feedback emmacA8272VX,

We are so sorry that you were disappointed on the day. Our food is freshly cooked and prepared on the premises daily by our own chefs and all the team take great pride in our restaurants.

Clearly however, on this occasion we seemed to have failed on your visit, we do everything we can to ensure that all our customers are happy with all their experiences here and it is concerning and unusual for us to receive negative comments regarding our food quality, as we usually receive plaudits.
Unfortunately it is very difficult for us to comment on your food after the event but we seem to have made some mistakes. If you had asked to speak to a supervisor on the day, they would have happily dealt with your concerns immediately, rectifying the situation and ensuring that you left the restaurant satisfied.

We will be speaking with our supervisors to try and establish where we went wrong on your visit. As we take all comments seriously and will review procedures to ensure these and similar mistakes do not happen again.

On the dog walking, we provide two bins at the Knutsford entrance and one at Dog Wood entrance - the main entrance and exit points for dog walkers in the estate. We have further bins available around the Stableyard area. In line with other similar properties, we do not provide bins throughout the parkland to maintain the integrity and aesthetic of the estate - and yes, dog walkers and other members of the public are expected to pick up after their dogs along with any other waste they generate - leave no trace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews