We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor white christmas”
Review of Tatton Park

Tatton Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.24*
and up
Tatton Park Entry Ticket Including Mansion, Gardens and Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in 1,000 acres of the most beautiful deer park, the former Egerton family home is open for you to explore. You're welcome to uncover centuries of history at the Tudor Old Hall and witness life above and below stairs in the Mansion. Wander at leisure through huge glorious Gardens and take the kids to meet very special rare breed animals at our working Farm. You'll love stopping off in the Stableyard where you can sit back, eat, drink, browse and buy. With over 100 events a year it's the perfect day out! For nearly 400 years the estate was the property of the Egerton family until it was bequeathed to the National Trust in 1958. Today it is financed and maintained by Cheshire East Council.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very poor white christmas”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Poor poor display. What was advertised as a white christmas display turned out to be a few bits of white and a few trees. Could not go upstairs. Plus they charge even if you are a National Trust member. A total disaster plus a choir singing out of tune!!!!! Cafe closed due to a function. Do not waste your money going to this.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    588
    227
    105
    92
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What White Christmas??”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On 7th December, my friend & I both travelled over 100 miles to meet and see Tatton decorated for a "White Christmas". After each paying £5 to park our cars we went to the courtyard for lunch. If it wasn't for a large lit tree outside the restaurant, it could have been any time of year especially as the music being piped out from the merry-go-round wasn't even Christmas related.

We had lunch in the recently opened Gardeners Cottage which was the only positive experience of our trip. It was very tastefully decorated with a roaring log fire and full of seasonal atmosphere. The staff were very hospitable and the food was excellent.

However, we then paid £9 each to visit the house. As you were unable to look at the whole property, we were back outside in under 40 minutes! Granted, the entrance and one room were heavily decorated in white, but the rest of the rooms were really gloomy and completely lacked any Christmas atmosphere. I fail to see how a charge of £9 per person can be justified especially on top of a £5 parking fee. We are both NT members yet were unable to use our passes for anything at Tatton!

Anyone intending to visit the area for a festive experience would be better off walking around Knutsford!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rogers087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonPark, Public Relations Manager at Tatton Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding the White Christmas Mansion at Tatton Park and we are very sorry if you have felt your expectations have not been met – we would be more than happy to go into detail with you further if you contact us direct or please fell free to see the detail contained in a previous reply on Trip Advisor about the Christmas Mansion that should cover much of the comments you make. To add to this, traditionally the upper floor at Tatton of the Mansion would not have been decorated to the level of the ground floor and the costs of carrying the decoration through would add significantly to the ticket price. Your ticket price pays for the theming, musicians and high level of staffing – Tatton is not run by the National Trust and does not have volunteers in the Mansion and all income goes straight back in to the cost of operating the event or conservation of the estate and buildings. Thanks again for your valued feedback and we are please you enjoyed your experience of the Gardener’s Cottage tea room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Gardeners Cottage Restaurant 5*”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant is on three floors, the higher floor and lower floor have garden views. We were seated in the middle floor room on our first visit and enjoyed cake and tea, we did have a 30 minute wait for the table as we hadn't pre booked, but it was well worth the wait. The dining room was light and airy, the table was set with china cups and saucers and the chairs were most comfortable. There is a vast choice of tea which comes in a teapot which we got 3 good sized cups out of. The waitress was very attentive, but not overpowering, all in all a most enjoyable visit. We did notice some people's food orders looked exceptionally good which prompted a second visit, but his time for a Christmas meal.

Having learnt from our first visit that it is advisable to book, we booked a table for our second visit by using the enquiry page on the Tatton Park / Gardeners Cottage website which all went smoothly). We had a warm welcome from Becky when we arrived and she showed us to our table which was on the upper floor and we were lucky enough to be allocated the window table (we had requested a table in this room as it has garden views). Again, the table was perfectly set and as we had chosen to dine from th Christmas menu there were crackers and festive trimmings on the table. The meal scored 10/10, there was plenty of extremely tasty and well presented food which we all thoroughly enjoyed, the best Christmas meal we have in a restaurant by far. Jake was our waiter and again, the service was unobtrusive yet efficient and we were well looked after.

We would highly recommend the Gardeners Cottage Restaurant, well worth every penny. Would suggest that you book your table in advance as it does get busy but that is only because it is so good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChichesterCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
608 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Tatton Park has a £5 fee to enter the park; as well a the NT charges. The house was interesting, with good coloured furnishings and some excellent C18 collectors' pieces, as befits a stately home. This was owned by the Edgerton family. The kitchens were a bit sparse - need a few more items. We looked out over the estate - currently 2500 acres - it had once been 25,000.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“‘White Christmas’ was naff, not to mention a total rip off!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I don’t know why I suggested to my partner that he should take his parents to Tatton Park for the day since I have been before and was pretty disappointed the first time round! We paid £5 to park per car, which was fine but on arrival we couldn’t get into the Gardener’s Cottage tea room because you had to book! Book? For a tea room? Apparently they had nothing for an hour and so we ended up fighting our way through The Stables ‘restaurant’, which was more like a greasy spoon cafe and was total bedlam – not a pleasant eating experience at all for the grandparents; we were crammed into a hot and noisy corner after queuing for far too long in the chaos. We had a brief look around the few shops available and then the Christmas craft fair, which was also pretty pointless.

We decided we’d better try and make the most of the day and went to look around the special event ‘White Christmas’ mansion. I should point out that despite the fact the grandparents are National Trust members, they still had to pay admission....admission for four adults and one child came to a whopping £41. Yes, you read it correctly....£41! I am not entirely sure what the £9 per adult fee was for...we were told to see musicians, a choir and some baking going on in the kitchen; I am still trying to work out what the White Christmas part was all about too...there was one extremely badly decorated room, with a few fake and very naff white trees, lit up with neon blue light and some twisted white sheets on the floor (like a cheap Santa’s grotto but worse) and that was it for the ‘white’ part (well, my partner’s face was pretty white after paying the admission). Yes, ok, there were a few nice Christmas trees and a choir but the idea was to move through the rooms as people come in behind you and there was nowhere to sit to actually enjoy it anyway. When we got to the kitchen, the baking had evidently finished...although there was a smell of baking in the air and a tray of mince pies behind one of the costumed staff. The member of staff starting asking my partner’s little boy if he liked mince pies, with a big smile on her face. In fact, she asked him twice. He nodded and chatted with the lady and despite making out she was going to offer him one of the pies, she didn’t. It would have been a nice touch.

Anyway, after about 25 minutes (probably less) of wandering through the incredibly dull rooms, we were out of the mansion, £41 worse off and stuck back in the Christmas craft fair! AVOID THIS RIP OFF...the managers of Tatton Park are taking advantage of visitors and the festive season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fallen_Perseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonPark, Public Relations Manager at Tatton Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Putting on a Christmas event is a very expensive matter – we have used an internationally famous florist/design company to assist in creating the displays, a huge amount of greenery from the estate that takes a whole team of staff from the Gardens and Mansion a long time to prepare and work with the florist team and then we have to pay for a number of musicians, choirs, lighting, demonstrators and staff to all help create the wonderful atmosphere of a Stately home dressed for Christmas and the entertainment we provide to make it hopefully a unique experience. Tatton is not managed or financed by the National Trust and does not get any money from membership and is actually fully financed by the local authority who originally stepped in to lease the estate when the Trust were unable to finance it after it was left in lieu of death duties by the last Lord Egerton in 1958. Therefore every penny taken in ticket income and park entry charges go straight back in to keeping Tatton open and conserved for future generations and in this case paying to put on the event. The costs of decorating and putting entertainment on in the Mansion are not fully met by ticket income alone and we are very reliant on the secondary spend on site from the park entry and at the shops and catering in helping to generate additional income that all goes back in to the care and conservation of Tatton. We can assure you that the ticket prices are in line with competition and with the other spend we just cover the full costs involved if we get the attendances we anticipate. National Trust members do get in free to the Mansion outside of events and it is important that all visitors who wish to see the event help contribute towards it. Our research shows that 92% of visitors have rated the event either Excellent or Very Good and we are very sorry if you feel otherwise but will of course use your feedback when planning for next year’s event. This Christmas event has been running at Tatton for 20+ years and is generally enjoyed highly by all visitors. The Christmas Gift Fair was free to enter and most of our visitors enjoy having this indoor attraction.

We are sorry that you had issues with the catering establishments – we had an extremely busy weekend and the waitress service Gardener’s Cottage tea-room is limited with seating and when we are very busy there is a waiting time or booking option. The Stables Restaurant is able to have larger numbers throughput and was also exceptionally busy but you would not have to wait long here to get a table.

Thanks again for your feedback, which we will use when reviewing the event for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatton Park also viewed

 

Been to Tatton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing