We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
329
185
77
34
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
185
77
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite jacuzzi bath afternoon tea wedding reception lakeside room lovely grounds travelzoo deal wedding venue four poster bed wedding breakfast room was large this lovely hotel sandwiches waiting staff evening meal birthday treat function room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 642 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The hotel and its grounds are very nice. Booked an afternoon tea as a birthday treat, our allocated seating area was located in quite a dark corner of the room,, unable to change seating despite being only guests in the room at that time ( so not much atmosphere).

The waitress enquired if either of us had dietary requirements I just explained I didn't eat fish , however when the sandwiches came a third of them was tuna, apart from that it was ok.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Please accept my apologies for the misunderstanding with you requirements. Please be assured of our best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

This was our first stay at Mere Court as our usual choice of airport hotel was prohibitively priced this year. We were concerned that the extra distance from the airport would be a problem and that we may be disturbed by a function of some kind. Well, we definitely struck lucky. Our ground floor room with views across the field was lovely, spacious and clean with a huge comfy bed. The shower wasn't great however as it completely flooded the floor. The hotel was really quiet during our stay so it was really nice to sit outside with a glass of wine to relax after the drive up. The taxi to the airport arrived bang on time and we were collected very quickly from the airport on our return. All in all, a really lovely start to our holiday and it may well have become our number one choice when flying from Manchester again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank staplespigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

I am delighted you enjoyed our park and fly offer. It is always great to hear about such a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We booked a room as part of a wedding we were attending, beautiful setting when we arrived however that stopped when we came to reception to check in. We at first were given a room with three single beds which took three attempts to get a working key to get into... not what we booked. We then asked reception to swap to be told the hotel was full. Eventually they said they would see what they could do. Luckily another party wanted three single beds so they swapped us with no apology. Upon being in the room there were no glasses for the water bottles, toiletries and towels missing and it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in a couple of weeks the amount of dust everywhere over all the surfaces. Mound in the shower and generally a very unpleasant smell of damp in the room. Went to have a shower, this only lasted 2 minutes as it went scorching hot and then freezing cold. The beds were very comfy I do have to say. To top it all off we placed a Do not Disturb sign on the door so as not to be disturbed and housekeeping came bounding into the room at 9.15 without knocking ruining the lie in we wanted.
When walking round the corridors finding our room at 2pm there were trays of food and drinks that were still there when were leaving the room to check out at 11am...
Other people staying that were part of the wedding party stated other guests walking into their rooms, holes in doors and similar problems to ours with cleaning or lack of should I say as well as issues with the boiler.
Reception really didn’t seem that bothered about any of what was said and said they would pass the comments onto a manager.
If you are going to charge £140 for a room, at least make sure you get the fundamentals of hospitality right.

A response from a member of management would be greatly appreciated on this as it was simply unacceptable.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller10101999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered. I will review the points made and ensure we have a robust plan in place to rectify the issues raised. Please beassured of our best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Stayed yesterday evening before our flight to Greece. With a one year old felt a 10 minute travel time rather than over two hours was best.

Good check in, lovely room and had everything we needed for an early night (taxi picked us up at 3.15am).

Lose one star for £5.20 cost of a beer! But other than this as long as car still where I left it can’t complain at all. Worth the stay and parking lot price

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Booked a Feature Room for one night, 20th August, and requested a Spa Bath as advertised. Confirmed by e-mail on the 14th. Arrived at the Mere Court and given the Highgrove room which turned out not to have a spa bath. Went down to reception where we then given the Sandringham, but no apologies, from the reception desk!
Staff should really escort guests to their rooms rather than being left to find them themselves.
This was the start of the issues, and most of the following were listed on our Customer Feedback card the following day:
No hot water in bathroom. Informed reception, who said that we were in the room nearest the boiler and they would have it checked. After a while, hot water came out for less than a minute before turning lukewarm again, so no spa bath after all.
Toilet didn't flush properly, and there was a leak from the cistern. We were told maintenance who check the following day, but were given a couple of extra towels to put on the floor. Tiles loose next to toilet.
Door to the bathroom didn't close properly as the top hinge to the frame wasn't screwed securely.
Kettle lead too short to reach from table to socket, so had to put on floor. Also no spoons provided. Instructions given for using Tassimo coffee machine, but no coffee to use with it. Also two of the electric sockets were not fitted tightly to the wall.
Make-up powder on dressing table and tissue on floor, so no evidence of cleaning done before we went in the room.
To cap it off, we were first to dinner at 6:30 and waited nearly an hour for our main meal, then when we ordered dessert there was only one piece of chocolate torte available. Surely the waiting-on staff should know this before taking orders, and hardly worthy of being a 4-star hotel with an AA Rosette!
On leaving, we handed our Customer Feedback to the receptionist who said she was unable to do anything, but would leave a message asking the Manager to ring us on the Thursday. No call, so I rang the following day, only to be told the Manager was on holiday and they would ask the Operations Manager to get in touch. Two weeks later we are still waiting...
Terrible customer service

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews