We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and had a lovely stay.

We arrived just before the wedding and had to get changed in the toilets as our room wasn't ready however reception was aware of this and got us a room very quickly so we could finish getting ready. Room was very big, clean and had a very comfortable bed.

The wedding was lovely, the food at the reception was excellent - it was hot!!

The only two issues I would have is that there was no hot water in the evening or in the morning and I was told it was due to everyone else showering at the same time but at 7.30 am I doubt anyone else was up. Also there only seemed to be one person serving on the bar and they kept having to go and find drinks from another bar (I'm assuming this but they did keep having to leave the bar area and there would be no one else serving). This however didn't affect us as we weren't in a rush.

Breakfast was lovely and there was a lady serving - I think she was called Jean or Jane, who was lovely and very accommodating.

Lovely little hotel would definitely recommend and would definitely go back for an over night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winniepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass your comments on to the team!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    150
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
92
192
8
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for only 1 night bought through a Travelzoo deal.
The deal included a 3 course meal and full English breakfast which I could not fault at all.
However, the room we were first offered was quite dated and had only two small velux windows which made it feel very claustrophobic, we asked for a different room and were moved to the room next door which was also very tired looking but did have a window with a view across fields.
The staff were very attentive and the hotel itself was lovely with a large pond (they call it a lake).
I would definitely go back again in the Summer when the weather is better, but then they are not likely to be offering the same deal then :)

Room Tip: Don't accept the room you are given if you are not satisfied, ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. For future deals, we may not run the same offer through the summer however feel free to call and enquire if you have a date in mind and we could potentially have another offer running.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Enjoyed an overnight stay, dinner, and breakfast for £99.00, really good value.
Check in very slow, only one receptionist, trying her best to do too many tasks on her own, she was very apologetic. Waited a good six/seven minutes, whilst a "man in a suit" with a badge, later identified as Jake, stood and watched. Not a good start, but things improved.
We were given a quiet room very suitable, clean and spacious.
Our evening meal was chosen from a limited menu, but we found the meals to be excellent. Congratulations to the staff in the dining room, a pair of youngsters who worked well together to provide first class service.
Slept well, not disturbed by the wedding and really enjoyed the breakfast. Again good service was provided by a lovely lady and same female youngster from the previous night, pity Jake wasn't around to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As 'Operations Manager' it is my duty to oversee all aspects of the business so I cannot always be present present during your evening meal in the Restaurant or for Breakfast the following morning. As you may recall there was a wedding taking place on this evening also. I am disappointed to also read your comments given that you approached me on the evening and on checkout you had told a member of my team that you had a wonderful stay. It would be great to welcome you back to the hotel again so call me personally to book and we can maybe talk through some of the problems you have had,

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Irritatingly slow computerised check-in process and parking rather remote from entrance and somewhat tricky to find the entrance at night, but very comfortable quiet room and the hotel located in pleasant extensive grounds. Excellent facilities for weddings etc. Good value for money dinner menu and superb breakfast. Would benefit from slightly more active management. Manager needs to try out the hotel from the customer's perspective.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank N502TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you found check-in very slow. Our team is trained to deliver quick and attentive service upon your arrival so i apologise if you found it to be slow on this occasion. Regarding management, I am unsure as to what you are meaning by 'attractive management' and needing to try from the customers perspective. I can assure you that we all worj together in a 'hands on role' to ensure we are offering the best service throughout so its unfortunate that your issues werent brought to my attention during your stay or on checkout.

Thanks again for the kind words on the hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed Sunday 2nd Feb. Booked Travelzoo offer (£99) for one night stay inc evening meal. Also booked afternoon tea with prosecco through Groupon (£5 each - bargain hunters!!)
Arrived Sunday lunchtime and met up with two other couples taking up same offer.
For once it was a sunny day and hotel and grounds looked stunning.
Reception staff nice and polite and made us feel welcome. Afternoon tea was booked for 1:30 and we were shown to our table promptly which was in a lovely, airy, clean and bright dining room.
Nice selection of sandwiches, scones with cream & jam, and also choice of three cakes! Plus a glass of bubbly and coffee, all delicious!
Rooms ready after lunch. Out of the three couples we had the largest room, the Kensington, which overlooked the grounds to the front of hotel. Well laid out and roomy. Jacuzzi bath with shower and lush towels and robes. Large TV and walk in wardrobe!
Walk round the grounds then in the bar (bit pricey, but expected at this class of hotel) for catch up with friends.
Booked evening meal for 7:30. This was in a different dining room which was very cosy, open fire (artificial coal gas fire) and beautiful chandeliers, once again very attentive staff and a truly delicious three course meal. Limited menu and we all chose something different and all enjoyed the food put before us, not one complaint for any of the courses. (The roast beef and Yorkshire pudding was to die for!)
Very comfortable nights sleep then down for breakfast. This was served in the dining room where we had lunch. Usual choice of cereals, fruit, juices, pastries etc and a choice of warm food - porridge, eggs Benedict and full English made to order. Tea/coffee and toast. Again couldn't fault the quality.
Hotel decor is both traditional and modern, but mainly traditional, especially the evening dining room and bedrooms. This suited our tastes and may not be to everyone's liking. We definitely enjoyed it and would go back.
Ideal for anyone wanting to have a comfortable stay before flying out of Manchester airport.

Room Tip: Ask for Kensington!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Its great to hear feedback from our guests and this review demonstrates to the team that their hard work does not go unnoticed! I hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went originally to Mere Court for afternoon tea. Very nice and so took them up on an offer for my wife and I and our friends birthdays. We arrived,and the dinner bed and breakfast could not be bettered. All the staff were very smart and attentive especially Grace at reception (thanks for the pens ) The food was excellent, the rooms comfortable and clean, and a settling atmosphere for us. So much so we all went back for another afternoon tea and again the girls were wonderful.My recommendation...seize the moment....., go, and enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a deal and the girls will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johntimms99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our afternoon tea offering is extremely popular and its great to hear such positive feedback on our offering. I hope we can welcome you back for another one soon!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked a DBB deal with travelzoo, read reviews after purchase and was quite worried as they were not great. Both myself and my husband travel frequently leisure and business and could write a book on hotels. On arrival the reception staff was very welcoming and the same again this morning on departure. Restaurant staff were all excellent both for afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast. The bar staff were great and experienced, one of the best g&t ever ! The food was superb. We had the afternoon tea which we just couldn't finish, had read quite bad reviews about this, I am assuming they have got this hotel mixed up with another, food was fresh and plentiful, glass of fizz excellent too ! Our room was beautiful and very clean and inviting, one of the best night sleep in a while. The evening meal was superb, staff again very attentive. Breakfast was again excellent, chef managed to make a full English look like fine dining, we will definitely be recommending and most definitely visiting again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank the3grieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. This has been shared with our team. We pride ourselves on our food offering and service on the whole so its so rewarding to read such positive comments. I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
9.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Property: Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing