We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Firstly I dont write many reviews but I am making an exception for this experience.
The trip was booked as a present and started well.
The room was lovely , traditional four poster bed and a view over the extensive gardens. The bottle of chilled champagne was a nice touch.
The dinner was good without being exceptional but the atmosphere was just right. We had a superb time and will be going back .

Room Tip: We had the Windsor Suite which was excelllent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your positive comments have been shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    137
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
181
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Superb gardens and grounds are the outstanding feature of this country house hotel. The bedrooms are really comfortable and the food is very good. What let's it down is the lack of character in the bar and communal areas which are rather too corporate and need upgrading in line with the expected ambience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its beautiful grounds. I am disappointed to read that you feel the bar area is too 'corporate'. We pride ourselves on our homely environments and good homemade dishes with a relaxed and friendly service. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The Mere Court is a wonderful place full of character. The rooms are really comfortable with all amenities supplied. The food is excellent and the staff are fantastic. The hotel comes into it's own when you include the grounds. The lake and the gardens are truly delightful and offer a beautiful short country walk without leaving the grounds of the hotel. I would imagine the hotel would be splendid as a wedding venue particularly a summer wedding. In fact I can imagine it would be ideal as a venue for any large gathering. I would recommend the hotel as an excellent place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
What a fantastic review!

Thank you for your lovely comments and our team are always happy to hear such positive feedback.

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

absolutely fabulous wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone, everything was great definitely a 10 star hotel couldn't fault it one bit, everybody in our party had the same view from start to finish superb, also friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review,

I am really pleased to read such positive feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet location in lovely grounds. I stayed here for two nights and had a meeting in the conference centre. The room was very hot for me, even after I turned off the radiators, the heat was from the pipes running round the room. The room was clean and very spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was ok, we had to send the steaks back as they were overdone as was the fish that I ordered too, however was soon rectified.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We have started to try and heat the rooms a little more with the cold weather upon us. My apologies that on this occasion, it was obviously not needed with the room being of a good temperature for you. I'm pleased that we managed to resolve the issue with your meal also. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I attended this hotel for a wedding reception. Staff on the whole friendly, service during the reception was fine but the breakfast service left a little to be desired.
Facilities were good and atmosphere very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debdobs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the review and positive comments about the Wedding. We welcome all feedback to improve our Hotel so I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience but I am unsure as to what led you to feel like it left a lot to be desired. I would be more than happy to hear about it if you want to give me a call.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The 1st receptionist was having a bad day. The food for lunch & dinner was poor. Dinner was sent back for being overcooked & there was not enough lunch for the group so had to wait while everyone else ate. Shower in the morning was tepid then cold. 2nd receptionist had the personality of a road sign. When I checked out I was ready to give my constructive feedback but was given the bill to pay without anything other than sign here. So much potential for such a great hotel but really need to look up customer service in the dictionary for for reception. The concierge at the conference centre could not have been nicer though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your review,

All our staff are friendly and welcoming on reception so I am unsure as to what has led you to feel that they were having a bad day or lacking personality. It is a small team who all enjoy contributing to Mere Court's success which can also be noted by the amount of positive feedback we receive on reviews. We are always happy to hear feedback and greatly welcome it and I really wish you had brought it to my attention on checkout so we could have helped rectify some of the shortfalls you experienced.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Property: Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing