We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my other half went to a wedding here in August and stayed over after. Our first room was right by the wedding room so we asked to move as we thought it might be noisy if the party went on late (we're not that old, just had to get up early for stuff the next day, honest!). First room was a bit dark and tatty. The second was lovely - in the old part of the house. Very modern bathroom and nice view over the lawn. Service was really good and we had a lovely time. Breakfast was very good. We got the hotel for £85 due to being CityScene members through our work, which worked out cheaper than the wedding rate. Not sure I'd be happy paying full price though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packthesuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the review. Whilst we do cater for a lot of weddings and functions we are also popular for couples or friends looking for a quiet night away. Maybe we could welcome you back to the hotel for a dining experience in our Restaurant next time?

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 526 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for one night on our way from South Wales to Yorkshire. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, which unfortunately we did not have chance to explore as it was pouring with rain. Our room was very large with two double beds. The hotel is very much geared up for conferences, there were two taking place on the day we left. We ate in the bar area. The bar staff were very attentive. We would certainly stay again, although I would not consider paying the full price. The only problem we had was with the shower, which although was powerful the temperature was only warm even when turned up to the highest setting.

Room Tip: Our room was very large but had no outlook. Full price is very expensive. Look for a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneThePain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Its fantastic to read such good comments and I will be sure to share them with the team. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although the property has a quaint charm and country-like ambience, the amenities are typical of any quality 4 star accommodation. Tucked away in Knutsford, its surprising close to Manchester Airport (15 min) and plenty of local attractions. There was a wedding event the night we stayed so somewhat busy, but the hotel layout works well for these types of events despite the coziness of the property. The rooms are very spacious and well-serviced. The flat screen TVs are 25 inches - perfect size for hotel rooms. And the breakfast is good value - cooked-to-order eggs with a decent selection of typical English breakfast accompaniments and fresh fruit. Well worth the stay - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Royal-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. I'm glad you had such a good stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Mere Court Hotel standing in 7acres of grounds and gardens with its own private lake is an excellent venue for weddings,usually held at weekends,and for relaxing short breaks.
Staying at the Mere Court is like stepping back in time to an era of quiet elegance and excellent service
All the staff are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction.
Rooms are large and very comfortably furnished, a nice blend of turn -of -the -century elegance and modern conveniences:-flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities,telephone,iron and ironing board,hairdryer.etc. En-suite bathrooms have a jacuzzi bath and overhead shower.
The car park is a short distance away, approx.100 metres, from the main building but valet parking is available if required.
Meals are of a high standard, plentiful and varied.The massive breakfast is worthy of a mention - fresh fruit juices, jugs of cold milk,individual packets of cereals,fruit (tinned and fresh),croissants, rolls, pastries, plus the hot plate -sausages, bacon, tomatoes, baked beans. Eggs are cooked to order, as is the toast. Individual pots of tea and coffee are served when required. Again the service is faultless, friendly, attentive but never obsequious
A stay at the Mere Court Hotel is not cheap, prices range from £78-£150 a night depending upon the season etc. As an example, a mid-week stay for one night for 1 person - £78 room only, £88 bed and breakfast, £118 d,b b, but well worth it. For couples, the prices, pro rated, are a little higher. However,Mere Court does have special offers which can make a stay for a couple very affordable.
If you would like to have a glimpse of the past, of the grace, elegance and service of a bye-gone era then enjoy a short stay at the Mere Court Hotel. I certainly did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsisWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for a great review of our hotel. It is always nice to hear such good comments and great motivation for our hardworking team. I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a wedding at Tatton Park nearby. We booked 2 rooms for the family.
This is an old house set in the Cheshire countryside not far from Manchester Airport and Tatton park. It has a friendly receipton. There is a large extension with large modern bathrooms and luxurious good sized bathrooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a large free car park for visitors. There was a full breakfast inclluded in our rooom rate. The hotel has another extension used for weddings and confernces.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others, but all rooms seen were very generous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRDICKMAZEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We hope to welcome you back to Mere Court in the future!

Kind Regards


Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed one night on business mid week with a colleague and we were very impressed. The location is great and a few have mentioned a walk to your car but its hardly far and makes the place very quiet. The rooms were huge and nicely appointed (a whirlpool bath that remained unused) and a huge bed. A good rate using one of the internet bookers although they will also do the same if you phone them.

The place is a wedding venue big time and whilst it was very sedate when we stayed, I would imagine bedlam on wedding days. So unless you are going to a wedding, in which case you will enjoy the place, ask if there is one on first. As a wedding location, I would imagine its great.

Will stay again if in the area but will be careful when, if only for the wedding numbers.

Well done guys, a very nice stay indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

Regarding the venue being best suited for weddings, we always ensure that the other guests in the hotel are looked after just as well. We reserve private areas for residents dining in our restaurant to relax and have a drink without being disturbed. We also allocate bedrooms for guests who aren't with the wedding party away from the function so they can enjoy their relaxing stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

One word to sum up our whole wedding experience, perfect!!
Our first experience of Mere Court was after finding it on the East Cheshire list of venues in the area after our first venue, Moorside Grange, fell through, we had not seen Mere Court in our original search and were pleasantly surprised when we got there and felt it was meant to be. We were shown around by the manager, forgive me for not remembering his name, he was very helpful and friendly and lovely with our daughter, this was really important to us as we were a family that were getting married not just a couple and she was made to feel so welcome unlike some venues we had been to previously.
Our second meeting was with Karen, Wedding Coordinator, again lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Throughout the whole process she was great, always there to answer my many questions, some of which probably were silly ones but when you have your 'wedding head' on everything seems important!! The drama of me over paying was quickly and efficiently resolved as soon as it was noticed by accounts.
The Thursday before the wedding - We brought all our things to the hotel ready for the room to be set out on the wedding day. Met by the lovely girls on reception and handed over to a lady, sorry i don't know her name, a brief description of what needed to go where and she knew exactly what to do, being the control freak that i am its not often that i am confident enough to pass the reins to somebody else but i had full confidence with all the staff that it would be exactly how we wanted it to be. We mentioned that we had not heard from the dj and Karen was straight on the phone to him and requested for him to call us back which he did that afternoon which was great.
The morning of the wedding - Again met by the lovely, friendly girls on reception and shown into the room we used to store all of our things and have our hair done, which was perfect. The staff quickly and efficiently cleaned the rooms after the previous guests checked out and we were able to get ready properly in our rooms which was perfect. We had a sneaky look round the hotel while waiting for the hairdresser and were surprised to find even at the early time of 11am that the rooms were already almost set up for the wedding, very impressed!!
The day seemed to run like clockwork although it does seem abit of a blur now, Rob, master of Ceremonies, met me at our room to let myself and my dad know our guests were ready for us, from the minute we met him to the minute he handed us over to his colleague when he had finished his shift, he couldn't do enough to help. My dad was worried about what he had to do when we got in the ceremony room and he talked him through it, he guided the speeches perfectly and was there throughout the whole day checking we were ok and everything was the way we wanted it and even brought us canapés while we were having our photos taken so we didn't miss out.


Overall it was an amazing experience after seeing so many of our friends get married before us there was always something they wished they'd done, could have gone better, regretted etc but we couldn't fault a single thing, my only regret is that we didn't get to sample the baguettes in the evening, i didn't think id fit another thing in in my tight dress but regretted it in the morning when i woke up hungry :-)
All our guests commented on how great the day was, the food was amazing, the time in between each course, there was no waiting around at any point and everything seemed to run effortlessly. The rooms are to a very high standard and perfectly cleaned and kitted out. Our guests had booked rooms not knowing what they were like and were very impressed when they checked in. I think all the staff need to be praised on how well they do do their jobs. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The_Brindleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Brindley,

Your kind words have been shared with the team and its fantastic to read such a positive review. We enjoy looking after all of our guests and when we get comments like these, it means our hard work has paid off.

I will no doubt see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: $88 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing