We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent wedding event, but not wheelchair friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The event was managed superbly, the food was very good, staff efficient and friendly. A wide choice at breakfast. Garden rooms are large and well equipped. For an able bodied guest pretty much a faultless experience.

Access for wheelchairs is via a steep ramp at the front of the building (steeper than the recommended building regulation gradient). Unfortunately the Conservatory, and Garden Room bedrooms canot be accessed apart from around the back of the building - which is not very attractive, and then a temporary ramp was called for. The staff were very attentive, moved temporary ramps about, set up a Z-bed and even offered to lift an electric wheelchair (plus passenger) up steps. I cannot give any advice how this can be easily inproved without extensive alterations, so wheelchair users please be aware.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the wedding you attended recently. I am sorry to read that you felt the disabled access was not as you were expected, unfortunatly being a grade 2 listed building with have a lots of alterations that we arent able to make. on the overhand i was glad to read that the staff did their very best to accomodate you.

I do hope that this will not stop you from returning to the hotel in the future.

best wishes

Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 509 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here a year ago and made very welcome at short notice at a night. As a result I booked this week a small conference and stayed again. Did not disappoint, excellent catering and eye for detail on function servicing. Will book again!

Lyn, Bristol

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 858Lyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear 858Lyn59,
I was delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us and do appreciate your helpful feedback. The team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here with a collegue for business purposes , located just off the m6 it's a great location . The hotel has character , it's clean , staff are friendly and foods really good and priced well !.

I would stay here again if in the area again !,

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear TJD5, I was delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us and do appreciate your helpful feedback.

I would confirm that your kind remarks have been posted on the staff notice board; as I find it is so encouraging for the team to know their standards of service are appreciated

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future
Regards

Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have had the pleasure of experiencing several facets of the hotels service delivery over the last couple of months and I am a huge advocate. Dining experience is superb the superior rooms and suites would satisfy the most discerning of guest and the conference facilities are best in class for the area. New GM very personable and has injected some very tangible passion and professionalism into his team there. Would highly recommend this venue for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house have a tad more character. Suites exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear SteveF,
thank you very much for taking the time to post a great review on Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and that the hard work being put in by all the team to improve our service is paying off.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Can I please take this opportunity to compliment you on the facilities and professional standard throughout my stay – the conference centre, refreshments, room and general atmosphere does you a great credit.

Further, for the first time in my life I was a “special dietary requirement” and knowing that any requirement out of the ordinary in a professional establishment is a frustration you can do without, can you please pass on my personal thanks to Mike, Dave, Tony and the rest of the team who catered for my needs perfectly. They where professional and understanding throughout, we built up quite a rapport early on and every time I appeared at the service door the next meal was ready, served with a smile and a spot of good humour & banter. This went way beyond professional and offered a personal touch that I was taken aback to receive, I never once felt that I was an inconvenience to the running of the kitchen.

Thanks again, when I return, I hope it will be minus the “special dietary requirement”!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gareth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Upon our arrival, we had a lovely and professional welcome to the hotel. Staff helpful and very pleasant. Enjoyed a fabulous meal that evening, lovely food and wine and great service.
Stayed in the Presidential Suite, highly recommend the upgrade for a room with a difference!

Room Tip: Book the Presidential Suite for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Jenny F,
than you very much for your kind and lovely feedback.
The team and I hope to welcome you back to Mere Court Hotel in the
near future.
Kind regards

Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel staff were excellent, all very helpful, didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment, stayed on a BB, good breakfast, stopped in the Sandringham suite, do feel the hotels ready for refurbishment, beds decor etc all need upgrading, but when done it will be an excellent venue for weddings weekend breaks etc, lovely grounds etc..,Locally Knutsford a Lymm are worth a visit great shops bars restaurants café's.

Room Tip: Visit Knutsford for bars restaurants etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, I was glad to read that the staffs were excellent and very helpfuly. We are just about to start a refurbishement program in all of our bedrooms to include soft furnishing, furniture and bathrooms update.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future, and perhaps you will try our award winning restaurant on your next visit.

Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,027 reviews
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
113 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,519 reviews
9.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.6 mi away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: $88 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing