We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”
Review of Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Epoque
Ranked #7 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was recently at a wedding here. PROS - The building and outdoor garden is a beautiful venue. The food was absolutely lovely as were the serving staff CONS - Drink prices were extortionate, the more senior staff were rude and bad mannered and it was overbearingly hot inside where we had to go after 11pm when the outside garden roof terrace shut. Surely they could have hired indoor airconditioning units over the hot period?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Used to come here regularly many years ago but now near impossible to get a table due to wedding parties. Eventually got a table last December and thoroughly enjoyed the food, service, atmosphere etc. so much so that we booked for this Xmas (12 months notice). Just received notification that our booking has been cancelled because of .... Yes, a wedding party!! We were offered a table on a Monday instead which is not optimal at all. Have given an overall of 2 as I don't think it fair of the Management to cancel. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a great night we enjoyed here. Celebrating our wedding anniversary we wanted somewhere special that wasn't going to break the bank, hence the perfection.
A beautiful building with our room opening on to the roof garden. The great bonus is you only need to walk down the stairs for fab food in the evening. the menu is so different and you can take your time. The whole place says "special occasion". highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and had a super evening. As the title suggests this is not a hotel, if you want something stylish and intimate it's for you. If you are looking for a large hotel experience with gyms/spas etc you are better looking elsewhere.
Our room opening onto a beautiful garden so we had our after dinner brandy there, a great end to the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockerfeller1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We checked into the Belle Epoque on the way back from a trip to the Lake district with my elderly parents . The room was okay althought a bit dark . The blinds on the windows were very dusty and the room had a door which could open onto a public terrace which had people enjoying a few drinks so was very noisy and did allow for much privacy. The bath room was spacious but a bit tired with a broken plug attachment which could not turn to allow the water to run out the bath . The bed had only one bedside light which was broken.

Our main issue was with breakfast which was by far the worst I have ever had anywhere.
We asked for the fruit salad to start. This had an odd taste of onion which I can only think could have come from from an onion being stored unwrapped in the fridge next to the uncovered fruit salad or yoghurt. We then ordered form the menu,one poached egg with tomato, two scrambled eggs, and one mushroom on toast. This took a full hour to arrived. Absolutely unbelievable as there was only one other table was occupied and this was by a single man. There were two people standing outside the kitchen door (staff I assume) which the young waitress did a lot of chatting to.I am not sure if this was the cause of the delayor if the problem was in the kitchen. As I said we had elderly parents with us otherwise we would have walked out.
When the breakfast finally arrived it was almost an insult. The poached eggs were stone cold served (slapped!)on two slices of cold ,dry toast. The tomato was a large ,whole one . Strangely luke warm on the out side and then fridge cold on the inside. Completely unseasoned. The mushrooms on toast was just that. Two mushrooms on two slices of dry toast, again all stone cold .They were barely cooked and no seasoning just plain revolting! The srambled eggs were watery and luke warm. There was no salt or pepper on the table . We also ordered two cuppachinos which took a full 25 minutes to arrive although there was hardly a rush on. We kept on hearing the coffee machine going so I can only assume staff were being served in the kitchen.The staff are friendly and I can only assume that there is lack of management. We will vote with our feet and never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Henryxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A delightful lunch with a friend in lovely surroundings with attentive and helpful staff. We chose the 2 course Artisan menu for £14.95 which was good value. Enough choice and either a starter or dessert as well as a main course. The hake was simply delicious and a great recommendation from our waiter. The décor is quirky in a good way and we were made to feel welcome and valued. Next time we'll try an evening visit. I'm sure we won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelBag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is in the centre of town on one of the two narrow streets, on entering it’s like taking a trip back in time where sumptuous furnishes and opulent fitting was the norm and quality ruled. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, No.6. this room has access to the rear garden terrace and patio, with the sun shining onto the area was charming place to rest and relax in the quietness.

Large opulent furnish bedroom and equally large well-furnished bathroom, the only downside was small wardrobe which included the drinks and kettle with cups that aside the bedding was luxurious and mattress exceedingly comfortable night sleep.

Evening meal was a WOW, my fiancée had booked the corner raised seating table for two, its set back and like eating in a round turret, is at the front of the building and exquisitely set table with a large candelabra provided the final touch over the table, the menu was equally enjoyable as was the attentive staff. For dessert I ordered the Baked Alaska, rarely seen on menu’s theses day, and they had gone to the trouble of inscribing “Happy Birthday” around the plate they served it on, nice touch as was the meal, the wine and the company.

The building is charming, and would be excellent for any special occasion as I walked past one of the private dining rooms which had the table laid and fresh flowers and fairy lights - looked lovely and very romantic.

B & B this doesn't not include a full cooked breakfast. The hot food is available including bacon or sausage sandwich or eggs on toast, boiled eggs etc. The full cooked offering is £4.95 extra and to be honest we both thoroughly enjoyed their offering. Service again was very good as the guy who should have been on had not turned in but another covered and couldn’t do enough for us.

Room Tip: Room 6 has great access to the rear gardens and relaxing settings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,026 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Angel at King St
Angel at King St
#12 of 14 in Knutsford
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque

Address: 60 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Brasserie Knutsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing