We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Mere twice in the last few months. Both visits have been excellent but our stay last night exceeded our expectations further. The spa is really good and we ate in Browns with super food and great service. We upgraded to a junior suite which was superb. All staff friendly and very helpful. We'll certainly be back soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    238
    93
    32
    20
See reviews for
124
415
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hotel grounds were fantastic. We were met in the lobby by a very polite and well presented member of staff who offered to take us to our room. All the other staff we met were just as helpful and friendly.
Stayed in the club room 202. Room was lovely but very noisy as we seemed to be on the route to all other rooms and people passing the door didn't show any courtesy to other guests. We also had an adjoining room and there were a couple of young girls next door who were very loud getting ready to go out.
We probably retired to bed a lot earlier than them and we weren't awoken so that was ok.
Breakfast was good and check out was quick and easy. We had lunch in the golf bar and that was excellent.

Room was very clean, black out curtains worked really well. bathroom was beautifully arranged and the bath was lovely and deep and quick to fill.

Room Tip: You can either get a room overlooking the carpark or the grounds. If the view is a consideration ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Whilst visiting Chatsworth House to see the splendid Christmas decorations we decided to treat ourselves to a much needed mini break. Looking on Tripadviser noticed that The Mere Hotel and Spa in Knuttsford had good reviews and only around one hour from Chatsworth. A good opportunity to start the Christmas shopping at the nearby Trafford Centre which is only 10 minutes from the Hotel.

It was lovely to be greeted by Dave the happy, chatty and smiling concierge who escorted us to our room after a quick check in and room allocation from Helen a friendly receptionist. Our room at the back of the hotel which was on the lower ground floor with patio doors leading to a small patio , just what we had requested. The room was spotlessly clean, large 40in TV, a comfortable large bed, safe and plenty of boutique style lighting, also very well decorated. The bathroom hosted double sinks, over the bath shower plenty of hot water and quite impressive under floor heating, fluffy towels and the usual complimentary toiletries and again with boutique style lighting.

We both enjoyed an evening meal of wonderful fish and chips in the Club Bar, absolutely beautiful, would 100% recommend, the waiter who was Portuguese was absolutely brilliant, smiling, chatty with out being intrusive. A lovely atmosphere which was welcoming. Access to the bar was through the golf shop which was well stocked with all the major manufacturers with a very friendly and helpful assistant. Many of the shirts and jumpers etc had The Mere logo, if you like that type of branding. Many of the tables in the Club Bar over looked the Mere and golf course, a very pleasant outlook

We both a enjoyed a good nice sleep then to enjoy a hearty breakfast in Browns restaurant. Everything plentiful, good produce, well cooked. The only small niggle being that the plates being cold. Waitresses again friendly and smiling.

We enjoyed the well appointed Spa one late afternoon, again the staff friendly and helpful, the treatments prices not over the top. Spa was clean, changing rooms spotless with plenty of fluffy towels; we particularly enjoyed the Aromatherapy rooms and good sized swimming pool. The changing rooms were well equipped and was obviously well used by non residents. There are allocated times when children can use the facilities so you can avoid this if you require.
Unfortunately early evening we heard horrendous noise outside which was from thoughtless unruly guests in the room opposite, Dave dealt with the matter quickly and efficiently, everything was fine until 1.30 in the early hours when the same guests had a very loud domestic which again was dealt with immediately from the night porter. This has obviously no reflection on the The Mere Hotel, no one can predict the thoughtlessness of inconsiderate guests, the staff dealt promptly and professionally with the situation.
The Mere Hotel is a good base for visiting The Trafford Centre, Manchester Airport,
I can't rate the staff high enough, every member having a smile, a friendly 'hello', nothing being too much trouble, special thanks to Dave who goes the extra mile.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the mere and golf course others overlook a car park. We had room 003 which was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladylincs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ladylincs18,

Thank you so much for sharing your guest journey with us.

I was so pleased to learn that during your stay with us you had time to sample each part of our wonderful resort to its full potential.

I am aware of the disturbance you unfortunately encountered during your stay. Having investigated this matter we are confident the team here dealt with the issue as you say, promptly and professionally.

I will of course pass on your praise to The Mere for being outstanding in delivering an exceptionally friendly service.

Dave and Helen will also be delighted to receive recognition and great feedback from our valued guests.

Following on from your stay with us I believe we have since been in contact. I would encourage you to keep my contact details, should you wish to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

I would genuinely relish another opportunity to make sure you are well looked after.

Thank you for choosing The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband treated me to a day spa break after having our first child 3 months ago. I was a little nervous as it was my first full day away from my little boy but everything from start to finish was exceptional and could not have had a more relaxing time. The team were very welcoming on arrival and to start off with i was the only guest using the thermal suite which did feel a real treat! The food was delicious and a good selection offered as part of the spa day. A special thank you to Bethan and Hannah for my treatments which were absolutely fabulous. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKwonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My daughter booked a weekend stay at The Mere to celebrate her 30th birthday along with eight others. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The facilities at the Spa were excellent. Our evening meal was very tasty, although the friends who had the chicken were disappointed by both the quantity of the serving and the dryness of the meat. Other meals were delicious. The fish and chips portions were huge compared to the chicken meal. The leek and potato soup was equally delicious.

However, the weekend was marred as, upon our arrival, my daughter was informed that we could not have our lunch in the spa's restaurant even thought she had received a very recent e mail confirming that we could. We would not then have to get changed before and after lunch. However, the manager was adamant that we could not lunch in the spa despite admitting that it was their mistake. The situation was very embarrassing for my daughter and myself as the conversation was held in full view and hearing of our friends and other guests.

As the hotel part of the resort is across the car park, we walked across in our swimsuits and towelling robes (three members of the party are pregnant.) We were told that we could have complementary drinks with our lunch and an upgrade to one of the rooms that my daughter had booked. This was not the room that my daughter was in.

Although the hotel is very nice, our experience of The Mere was extremely disappointing and upsetting and as a result, my daughter's birthday weekend was spoilt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Welshlady13,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent spa break with us.

I have since contacted you directly following on from your BDRC guest feedback questionnaire.
Once again, I am sincerely sorry that we had made an oversight with your lunch reservation in our Spa Bar.

I believe the duty manager on shift dealt with the issue on the day to the best of his ability under the circumstances.

I do hope that this won’t deter you from staying with again in the future as it seems there were aspects of the hotel stay that you did enjoy.

We hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked the Mere Golf Resort and Spa as a surprise treat for my husband's birthday after much research. It was fantastic from start to finish and the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It really made us both feel valued as customers. We were shown to our room by a lovely porter, sorry I didn't catch his name and from the moment we opened the door, it had the wow factor with a free standing bath in the corner and the attention to detail and colour scheme everything was spot on. The resort is set in lovely landscaped grounds and my husband really enjoyed putting the golf course to good use.We both throughly enjoyed using the spa which was all immaculate and came away feeling extremely chilled out. We booked a table on the Saturday evening in Browns and were not disappointed. The food was amazing and again the staff were very helpful and attentive. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Thank you so much for such an enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vydaycka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just arrived back from our Fizz Friday package and to be perfectly honest both my husband and me could not believe what amazing value for money we experienced. I have had the pleasure a few years ago to be invited to a charity event at Mere but to be honest I was bowled over by the transformation From the moment we entered reception we were greeted by the lovely reception staff with huge smiles ,very clear explanations of where everything was and the details of our package. Our room at the bottom of the hotel was very clean and very very spacious. Off to the driving range and 40 balls later a very happy husband who had managed to hit the most furthest bollard on the lake.Back to the room for our bottle of Fizz and then dinner in Browns. We were going to go al acarte but to be honest there was not much difference in choice or price so we stuck to our two courses. Neither of us could finish the gigantic portions of Fish and Chips .....do cod actually grow that big??? The service in the restaurant both breakfast and dinner was very friendly and professional as we're the bar staff. Very sound comfortable nights sleep and we loved the under floor heating in the bathroom.We will be using the hotel again when we have to travel overnight to the airport as it was only a ten minuet drive.Twenty minuets into Manchester City centre.....so Looking forward to our return. Thank you Mere for a great experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Castigers,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous Fizz Friday experience with us, have you heard about the equally popular Sparkling Sunday offer?!

I am delighted to learn that you will be returning to us again after enjoying your first stay with us so much.

We here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa are extremely proud of the new hotel and its success thus far. I love to witness our guest’s reactions when they see the spectacular renovation for the first time.

If you are jetting off to sunnier climates this winter, starting your holiday here with us at The Mere is definitely a great start!!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon perhaps over the festive period.

Best Wishes

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
9.9 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing