We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Hotel and Spa However...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A Good Hotel and Spa However...”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed the Spa. The room was comfortable and had air con which was needed. The overall experience was good apart from one episode. As me and my girlfriend were driving out of the exit we were confronted bya very rude group of golfers. It started when we were driving down the exit road of the resort when one of the group shouted expletives about the fact I was driving whilst he was taking a putting shot. The language and abuse left us very upset. After informing staff at the resort we were given a blank look. Oh I don't know why this happened Sir. Beware of very territorial and abusive golfers when driving I'm and out of the resort. Other than this it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddison9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Alan9149
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your feedback with us.
May I apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa for the incident that happened upon leaving the resort.
Should you wish to speak to me directly, please do not hesitate to contact me via email lauren.yates@themereresort.co.uk or alternatively 01565 830155
Kindest Regards
Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    285
    115
    37
    29
See reviews for
156
495
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel. Positives:
- check in staff were amazing, really friendly and helpful. They even provided us with some dressings for a cut I had sustained earlier on my finger- for which I am very grateful. Also allowed us to check in a little early as the room was available.
- the room was wonderful! We had a junior suite: which was huge, had a gorgeous bathroom and MASSIVE (very comfy) bed. Another plus for me was that the curtains were very thick, which meant that the room was super dark at night.
- breakfast was lovely
- the spa is AMAZING- I'm a spa lover and these are the best facilities and treatments I have ever experienced. Thank you so much to my therapist, Steph, who was wonderful.
- In general, all staff were very helpful.
- this is a bit odd, but the bedrooms smell amazing! I meant to ask what this was but totally forgot- can you tell me please?
- general decor and cleanliness was superb
- our room was very quiet- I was worried that we would be disturbed by our location next to the carpark andguests from a wedding that was taking place returning to their rooms, but we weren't at all by either - so either they were a very considerate wedding party or we had a very well sound proofed room (or maybe both!)

Only a few negatives:
- service in the golf bar was VERY slow, no matter when we went: we had 2 meals here and a seperate drink. A bit frustrating to be waiting to place your order while 5 staff are congregated at the bar. But really a very minor niggle- we were on holiday so weren't pushed for time and when the food did arrive it was very good.
- we would've liked to have a walk by the mere but weren't allowed- perhaps this could be possible in the evening when the golfers have stopped playing? I understand why it's not possible during the day.
- room service took FOREVER, even to get through took about 30 minutes on hold. When the food did arrive, our order was wrong- to be fair this was rectified, but it was a bit unfortunate after such a long wait.

In general: a WONDERFUL, relaxing stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a busy and popular venue so little chance of checking in early. My wife and I booked restaurant dinner, bed and breakfast and two rounds of golf with YGT for an anniversary treat. On arrival we were immediately impressed by the surroundings and decor and the Pro was pleasant and helpful, readily altering tee times and willing to assist, top marks for him. We played the course and while the front nine was typically parkland the second nine especially the last four were outstanding,with brilliant use of terrain, as you would expect from a James Braid layout. The greens unfortunately had been heavily worked upon and were the worst I have played on in 30 years, On returning to the pro shop to complain the Assistant Pro informed me that they always scarify them at this time of year and was quite dismissive, therefore I went to the Reception Desk with my concern to find a group also complaining. From what I saw they received as little satisfaction as I did, the reception staff being equally dismissive. To clarify the state of the greens, they appeared corrugated and heavily sanded and ponderously slow. I decided I would raise the matter next morning with the Pro but unfortunately he was absent. From a non golfing standpoint everything was excellent, our room was first rate and the bathroom equally excellent, our anniversary was marked with both hand made chocolates in the room and complimentary glasses of sparkling wine at dinner. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and service from the young staff both efficient and pleasant, the food was better than expected in a hotel, even a first class one. In addition the hotel has a real gem on reception in Dee whose second name should be Lightful, delightful, dreadful pun I know, she coped with me locking myself out of my room and initially misreading my room number with good grace and kindness to spare,apologising for my mistakes and doing her best to stop me feeling a ******* (fill in as appropriate). Other negative points, the tables outside were not wiped clean and a dirty ashtray was left on ours, before our lunch was served. Finally, if you are going to sell golf weekends, when the greens are in that state, please inform potential customers, giving them the opportunity to go elsewhere. I have raised my concern with Your Golf Travel the largest player in the golf breaks market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a wonderful experience we have had a great Wedding venue everything went smoothly for my daughter's wedding 9.8.13 from start to finish due to the professional staff. Meal was delicious nothing was too much trouble all the Mere staff made our special day extra special. I stayed the night before the big day with my daughter and her 4 bridesmaid's and we all had fun in the pool and spa where we were all treated with the same high standard of care. Attention to detail by Danielle our wedding planner was of the highest quality and both my daughter and I felt as though she was a friend on the day. Also Cherish was so helpful the day before setting up the room and also great on the day. We were amazed by how friendly and helpful everyone was even the concierge couldn't have helped us more. My daughter and her new husband didn't want to come home, so ended up staying another night. I can't wait to return again maybe soon for a midweek break. Thank you all so much for our happy day.

Diane and Stewart Owen - Worsley

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the golf course have brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane11_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We hired the mere for our wedding July this year.

The staff where fantastic went above there call of duty on making our day special

They even let's us bring 200 vodka jellys for free which everyone enjoyed

The food

Starter we had prawn and crab which was amazing the main meal ( at our tasting all 4 where very poor if I am honest) we had chicken boring really nothing great. Desert was Eton mess. That was nice

Like I said the wedding day went great

But day after we came to collect our gifts etc and it was just mess everything all over the place we have had a few gifts lost as well which we can't ask our guest to purchase again

So really that really ruined our day

The rooms amazing and breakfast amazing

Room Tip: If you are getting married at the mere ask for the back room for breakfast we had the whole room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ben H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your feedback with us.
I was delighted to read that on the whole you, friends and family enjoyed an amazing wedding day here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.
I have passed on your comments to Steven Lazarus the Food and Beverage Manager for his attention.
May I apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa with the confusions/frustration’s you encountered the following day as this is by no means the level of service we wish to deliver to our guests.
Should you wish to speak to me directly, please do not hesitate to contact me via email lauren.yates@themereresort.co.uk or alternatively 01565 830155

Kindest Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel has all the makings of a 5* hotel but just overlooks a lot of small things that in my opinion really affect your stay. Good points – staff are all very polite and friendly and the concierge gets a special mention as he is a credit to the hotel. Also the food in the club house was great but do be wary of the overly territorial club members, who seemed perturbed by non-members and I heard making very unnecessary and rude comments about other guests.

The rooms are nice but nothing special and just lack the finesse of a true 5* hotel. The tea and coffee making facilities were poorly stocked, we ordered a twin room and had to pull the beds apart, the TV stopped working twice and we had to call reception, the desk light didn’t work, no bath and we could hear people walking past the room and as we were close to the lift we were disturbed several times.

The main reason I have only given a 3* was due to the lack of air conditioning in the room. It was the 24th July when we stayed and very humid. I don’t particularly feel the heat but even I was melting and my mother really suffered. We did report this to the front desk who promised to manually override the aircon so it went down to 17 degrees instead of the 19 degrees it was stuck on and to bring a fan. We went to dinner and on our return neither had been done. The room did however feel cooler but after an hour we had to call again as it was unbearable and we were brought a fan. I don’t expect to have to call twice, in addition to the issues with the TV, and the room was still too hot with the fan. I did raise my issues on check out and was offered a 20% discount immediately which was helpful but didn’t compensate for the lack of sleep and ensuing tiredness that affected our trip to Tatton Park that day.

I understand the hotel is family run and I hope they take on board my comments as it could have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJones34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here with family for one night a few weeks ago, as a mid-way stopping point on our way up to the Lake District. With extended family living nearby, these seemed a good location for an overnight stay.

All the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, modern and well-furnished – no complaints. The view you get is dependent on the price you pay – my parents paid extra to look out over the golf course, whilst my room overlooked the car park, but this did not particularly bother me.

The service in the clubhouse bar was a little slow, but that was made up for by being able to sit out in the sun with beautiful views of the golf course whichever way you looked. The tableware was very modern – ‘double glazed’ glasses for hot drinks – which made a nice change! The pro shop were very good at sorting my father out with a hire golf club and balls to go and spend some time on the putting green, and the staff in the on-site spa were very happy for us to have a look around and stick our nose in everything! The pool changing rooms were nicely appointed, and the pool itself was really lovely (though I was surprised to see there was no lifeguard).

The waiting staff in the evening had just had a day ‘learning’ the new menu, and were clearly very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the choices on offer – they were able to easily answer the questions we put to them, and gave sensible recommendations. The value, as well, was good. At breakfast too there was a wide choice of good food on offer.

There was some slight confusion when checking out, as my room somehow had disappeared from the system, but staff worked quickly to resolve the issue and were very apologetic for the delay.

It was a shame we were only able to stay one night – I would definitely return for a longer break.

Room Tip: The more you pay, the better the room. If you want a view over the golf course, you will need to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing