We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Service were a disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food and Service were a disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel on a two night easter package as we were attending a wedding at Mere with my Son and Wife. It got off to a real bad start we had a meal included which we had in the restaurant and the food was sub standard and not something I would expect of a place like Mere, I ordered Mussels for starter which were cold, the mains were bland and not edible. Not only that with a 2 year old child in tow we had to wait over one hour for our mains to be delivered. After making numerous complaints nobody took ownership and not once was I offered any good will. Disappointed and wont be staying here again despite the facilities being lovely. Staff are in need of hospitality training and development of dealing with complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    284
    113
    36
    29
See reviews for
151
493
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very modern, the reception is what was once an inner courtyard which has been roofed over and gives a lovely blending of the old part of the hotel with a modern style. Reception staff were excellent, friendly and efficient, and gave us a brief heads up on what was where as this was a first visit.

Our room was on the ground floor, a little bit of walk from reception and overlooking a pleasant small garden area. The room also modern in decor, very nicely done to a high standard, lots of lighting options so you could make it perfect. All the amenities you would expect, climate control, hairdryer, safe, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities (with a good amount of basic tea and coffee plus some other tea options), flat screen TV and the most adorable little MereKat toy on the bed (very cute!). There is a plentiful range of wardrobes and drawers for those staying a few nights, and the room was nice and spacious. Bed was very comfortable.

Bathroom was done to an equally high standard, granite tops on the double sink, and underfloor heating. Fluffy white bath sheets and a selection of toiletries. The only niggle would be the shower, the water pressure was somewhat feeble and the temperature changeable although thankfully not to extremes.

We ate in the club lounge, this having been pointed out as more casual than the main restaurant, and can recommend the steak and kidney pudding, the chips particularly were lovely -freshly home made !

Breakfast was good, quite a wide selection of options hot and cold, cereals, fruit, pastries, and the usual range of hot stuff, mostly self serve but if you wanted your eggs done differently to scrambled they were happy to make them to order for you. Surprisingly good coffee.

We will be back, the location is great with speedy access to the motorway network around manchester and we were very pleased with the room, and the hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_M_Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a Friday night as an overnight before a visit to Joderal Bank. We took a special "Spring Break" package @ £150 which included a two-course dinner at the hotel's Browns restaurant and an upgraded "Mere" bedroom.

The room was excellent in every respect, spacious, modern contemporary decorations, great attention to detail (like the iPod docking station) and 40" Samsung TV, all spotlessly clean with a large very comfortable pillow-top bed. A lovely bathroom, again with great attendtion to detail from the heated and backlit mirror, double basins, granite worktops, to a large towell radiator, his and hers towel robes etc. to be quite honest hard to fault so let's try...

Bedroom:
Er... The wires to the TV were all a bit messy, need tidying up with some of that spiral wrap stuff, the King size bed would have been even better with a single King mattress rather than the two smaller ones, that's about it.

Bathroom.... Stylish and practical, but if you were re-designing it the addition of a Jacuzzi bath would have been nice touch together with underfloor heating.

Dinner at Browns was a pleasant affair, the food was excellent, actually beyond reproach and the presentation exemplary by any standard, but it was all let down a bit by the rather haphazard service, somehow the service just did not flow, I was trying to work out why this resturant only has one AA Rosette, perhaps the service is the reason why, but the food is defiantly at least Michelin Star quality if not nearly two.

All in all a great hotel in fantastic grounds and great place for a weekend away without any noticible downside.

Justin.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio_Vampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Eight of us went to play two rounds of golf as part of an all inclusive deal.The experience was horrible. I was expecting good food in the best restaurant but we were directed towards a very limited menu of two courses of very basic food. The traditional beer was good but served in a lager glass; apparently they do not have beer glasses!
We decided to upgrade our meal and were told that we could eat in Brown's restaurant for a £10 supplement. We were told there would be a delay but did not expect it to be two hours; especially as the restaurant did not seem busy. The restaurant is like sitting in the middle of a motorway reservation. It is a large hall/ reception area with no views. Brown's Bar is the same - very claustrophobic for a group of eight.
The food arrived without any vegetables, and our wine came after the meal! We spoke to the duty manager; the supplement was waivered but this did not make up for the disappointment or problems we experienced. Breakfast was again in Brown's restaurant but was lukewarm or cold, with a delay in serving coffee. All in all an experience that will not be repeated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tut22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are clearly disappointed but not altogether surprised by your review as you threatened you would be putting your thoughts on trip advisor, many of which we disagree with.

We have done a full investigation into your concerns and have made some adjustments to our service procedures. We also note you were particularly aggressive to a number of the team here – something we are not happy about.

Customer service is something we work very hard at here at The Mere and we are sorry on this occasion you felt we got it wrong.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to talk this through on 01565 830 155,

Many thanks,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is possibly the best hotel i have ever stayed at. We stayed in March as we got a deal of Secret Escapes. £80 for the night and breakfast included which turned out to be an amazing deal.The spa facilities were amazing especially all the different sauna rooms. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_8966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This review refers only to the Spa, which we booked in advance and visited for the day on 17th March; we did not stay at the hotel overnight. Firstly I would like to say that the treatments (massage and facial) were excellent, very relaxing and professional, and the ladies at Reception were polite and efficient.
On arrival at the Spa there were no spare seats in the pool area or in the relaxation room, so our only option was to sit in the Restaurant and have our lunch earlier than expected. Lunch was merely ok, very unimaginative: a couple of salads would be a good option for Mains. My daughter found quite a large piece of plastic (which looked like a piece of the rim of the creme fraiche carton) in her dessert. The waitress seemed unconcerned and we are not confident that it was reported to senior staff.
I went for my treatments shortly after lunch while my daughters luckily found two unoccupied loungers in the pool area. I returned feeling very relaxed at about 3.45, intending to go for a swim. We had been told that the pool was for adults only until 4.30 but in fact families with children began to invade shortly after 4. The members probably resent having to make way for 'day trippers' and the end result looks like the hotel and spa maximising profits at the expense of their guests' comfort. I never did have my swim since the pool was now overcrowded and very noisy.
My daughters went for their treatments at 4.30. I was left with no option but to sit in the Restaurant drinking coffee for an hour. We were able to enjoy a short time in the relaxation room after my daughters' treatments; the room is blissful but there are only four beds.
There was no reason to stay any longer. Thanks for the complimentary glass of wine, but we wouldn't choose to return. All in all it was a very disappointing experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,


Thank-you first of all for the great comments about the spa team – I will pass your comments on. On the day in question we were clearly very busy – too busy you might say. We will review our capacities to ensure this does not happen again.

With regards to your comments about the Spa Bar I have passed these onto the team to carry out some training and evaluate our procedures.

I would love the opportunity to speak to you in person with regards to this and express my apologies personally.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to talk this through on 01565 830 155,

Many thanks,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The thing I really like about Mere is the fact that the welcome is always so warm, particularly on the cold January day of our visit.
The staff are great, and my appropriately named club sandwich, served in the Club Restaurant & Bar was well prepared, well-presented and utterly delicious. Great views across the Mere too!
What more could you want?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing