We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year eve in style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“New year eve in style”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

me and my fiancé and parents booked 2 rooms for the black and white themed ball on new years eve.

when you first arrive at the mere you are greeted with lovely views all round.

the rooms are very very spacious and well maintained, comfy beds nice seating area and nice bathrooms.

the night time event ran so smooth its untrue, welcome drinks of champagne and then into the james braid suite for evening meal and entertainment.

the only slight downfall and i hate to pick up on this was our table was made up for only 3 people and 3 chairs and there was 4 of us, so i was stood for 5 minutes or so till this was rectified.

the staff was very apologetic and brought us over a bottle of complimentary wine, which was a very nice gesture.

all staff throughout go that extra touch to greet you and are very friendly.

food was really nice for the evening meal and for breakfast in browns restaurant.

we also made use of the excellent spa facilities nice pool jacuzzi and steam/sauna rooms etc plenty of different room to relax in.

it was the best way to spend new years eve and we will defiantly be back next year to spend time there again, we were that impressed we are going to stay again shortly and my fiancé has started thinking about plans to hold our wedding there.

absolute 5 star treatment here

thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    285
    116
    38
    30
See reviews for
160
500
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We attended a wedding reception here and stayed overnight. It was well organised and the food was lovely. The meat was individual lamb loin/steaks not sliced roast lamb as I expected. The lamb was pink, tender and full of flavour, just as it should be. The evening buffet was just as good. We had a lovely room with a massive comfy bed, just a shame we were only there overnight. Evening music was a bit too loud, ending up with a sore throat with shouting to be heard. Forgot our swimming things so were unable to take advantage of the spa. We had a fabulous day. Breakfast was a poorer showing with scrambled eggs taking forever to appear after asking twice for them and the bacon etc was luke warm. The wedding party had a sideroom and think the main breakfast area got preference. The breakfast experience marred an otherwise brilliant weekend. The service 3 reflects the breakfast not the wedding food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I'm lucky enough to have spent about 8 weeks staying in the Mere Monday to Friday throughout September and October this year, and can honestly say it is Excellent...

The spa is superb, the gym facility is clean, modern, fresh, has an excellent swim-able pool, amazing hammam, good weights and aerobics equipment, and enve a spinning class which residents can use.

Rooms are well appointed, and the Mere Cat guard adds to the sense of the place being something a little special when compared to your average business hotel.

The food in the main dinning area is of a high quality (if the ambiance can be a little odd at times), and I recommend the banoffee dessert ! Food in the bar again is high quality, and tasty (although here the bar is let down by a lack of comfy sofas to sit in).

In our 8 weeks we were well looked after by the reception team, who were friendly, helpful and attentive.

Hotel wifi can be a pain (the signal is not too strong, but was in the process of being upgraded)

I'm told by colleagues who play golf the course is excellent too...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a great night at an annual ball we attend at Mere - this was the first year the hotel was available as an alternative to a 40 minute taxi home so we jumped at the opportunity. The venue and its ability to host a huge event were (from our perspective) just as successful as previous years but the hotel made the night an absolute winner - very comfortable, beautifully furnished and decorated with extremely comfortable beds and a high quality buffet breakfast the next morning. We will certainly stay again next year - I'm only glad we were part of the function though, and not attempting a quiet weekend away...!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This review is about the Christmas party night.... Not the main hotel......

Considering the hotel is so "plush" and scores very well on here, it's a shame they have let their christmas party nights drag them down. From the moment we arrived, the music was so loud it was difficult to hold conversation unless shouting, and the person playing music from the laptop played all the sing along songs you would expect at a Christmas party whistle the meal was being served (along with a range of floorfillers....)

Food was ok, if not a little small on portions and service alright. Compared to the tatton park christmas extravaganza the week before (which was similar in price) the mere is leagues behind which is a shame.

Wouldn't book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry to hear your Christmas night did not meet your expectations. We are in January undergoing the final stage in our development programme that includes the room where you had your Christmas party.

If you would like to contact me directly I could go through the details with you,

Many thanks


Tom Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the mere for a romantic night. The rooms ( I think I was in a junior suite) are spacious and modern, and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in.

However whilst the service was not bad, occasionally it left me frustrated that it was not upto the hotel standard that I expected. This was mainly due to noticibly slow room service, then equally slow service at breakfast.

It would not stop me staying again as it may have been a one off, but like me if I stay their again... Complain I suppose as I did not at the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancstrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are very pleased to hear the hotel exceeded your expectations; the beds receive many positive comments from our guests!

I am however disappointed to hear about your service frustrations in Browns, I will pass your comments onto the team; I am sure they will be equally disappointed.

It is great to hear you will be returning; I am sure your next experience will be very different.

Please feel free to contact me directly prior to returning and I will make sure I am around to greet you,


Many thanks


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Mere for one night. Great experience, very nice hotel, lovely rooms and good staff. Location is good, just out of Knutsford, near M6 and Manchester Airport.
Rooms were spacious and very clean, the breakfast is a buffet / help yourself and was good. We went out in the evening into Knutsford which is a nice place with plenty of restaurants. The hotel has two bars, one of the bars has The Mere's own cask bitter 'Mere Gold' available, which is very good. However this isn't available at all in the other bar, which was disappointing - so if I was to make one reccomendation it would be to put 'Mere Gold' in both bars !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,522 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,523 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing