We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another business stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another business stopover”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I needed somewhere between Chorley and Preston, got my sense of direction muddled, ended up well south of both but it was so worth it! The welcome started from the brick entrance and gentle drive to the hotel- the interior was definately not what I would have expected from the outside. The exterior classic and elegant, the interior modern and chic- staff were all friendly and professional and suitcase taken to my room whilst I had a very late lunch. My room, with balcony, overlooked the golf course and was spacious and a delight. Loved the mugs instead of cups, Merecat sitting on the bed was a cute touch. Remember to take your shoes off, (I always do when I enter a bedroom anyway), the delight of discovering the bathroom had heated flooring produced a few delighted giggles Treated myself to an aromatherapy massage in the evening- the extra miles I had to drive to get to the hotel suddenly not mattering. Wifi free, parking plenty and only downside-- £5.00 service charge when delivering food to the room. Breakfast lived up to the rest of the hotel. Definately stay here again even if it is 40 miles south of where I actually needed to be

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieS6KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review regarding you recent stay with us, I was deligted to read about your experience and very much hope you will visit us again!

Once again many thanks

Jessica

Jessica Bennett, Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    285
    115
    37
    29
See reviews for
154
494
20
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently stayed at The Mere with my friend for a special spa treat and it didn't disappoint! The spa facilities are fantastic and perfect for our mission of 2 days of pampering! Our room was lovely and the beds were SO comfortable we nearly slept in and only just made breakfast! The staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough to assist us which really made our stay.

We really enjoyed all the meals we had whilst we were there, we only ate in the spa lounge but I can really recommend the risotto and the creme brûlée! My only complaint was my friend reacted badly to the toiletries that are provided in the room and ended up with a rash. We didn't recognise the brand so don't know if they are ok for all types of skin but we will just bring our own next time! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha3968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mere prior to flying from Manchester airport. It was the best night sleep in a really comfortable bed I thought I may not wake up! The spa factilities were really great and relaxing. Browns restaurant was excellent and the staff were all helpful and friendly. All in a comfortable and relaxing night prior to a long flight - fantastic.

Room Tip: The hotel is new and the rooms are very clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamhanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent the day on Saturday with my daughter at the Spa, our Birthday treat from my husband and son. Treatments were fantastic, very courteous and professional service. Enjoyed the pool and facilities although would have been nice to be served drinks while relaxing at pool area. Lunch very enjoyable, included in the package. Disappointed in one member of the Spa staff who was not very welcoming or helpful when approached otherwise a perfect relaxing day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank-you for your review on your recent spa visit. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your day with us, we do serve drinks by the poolside and I am sorry you missed this service.

If you could contact me directly I would like to gain some details about the member of staff you spoke to; as customer service, as you can see from previous reviews, is our highest priority.

Many thanks

Tom

Tom Davies, Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic weekend spa break at The Mere. We stayed in a Mere Double which was a beautiful room with luxurious fixtures and fittings. Loved the attention to detail in the room, . Loved the huge bed and the lovely lamps. The bathroom was big and well lit and loved the little lights in the wardrobes ! The hotel is spotless whereever you went and the service from the staff excellent. We had a whole day in the Spa being pampered and enjoyed using the leisure facilities. Brown's restaurant had a lovely choice of meals but we chose to eat in the Golf Bar which was simpler but still extremely enjoyable. Can fully recommend the Salmon and the desserts of Sticky Toffee Pudding and Apricot Creme Caramel. Full English Breakfast in the morning - self service so eat as much as you like - excellent ! We will definitely be going again soon :-)

Room Tip: Dont feel pressured to chose a suite or large room - we had the Mere Double and it was a huge bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexyfunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom D, Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write this fantastic review; I will personally pass all of your great feedback onto the team.

We hope it isn’t a year until your next visit; you could take a look at some of our fantastic Christmas spa breaks.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you want to book as I would like to personally thank-you for your review.


Many thanks
Tom

Tom Davies, Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This 1 night break was from a competition I had won, and although it was 3hrs away from our hometown, I was definitely not giving it up!
We had a normal standard double bedroom that was decorated to a very good quality. There were so many different lamps in the room, which most of the time you needed on, because even in the day, the room was quite dark. It overlooked onto a small section of the golf resort, but we also got a fantastic view of the lake.

The bed was extra comfy and the meerkat soft toy was a nice extra touch.

Complimentary bath robes and slippers were provided, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The fridge was well stocked with goodies, although we didn't delve into these as they were a little over priced.

The bathroom was very spacious, having a double sink, heated towel rail and a lovely power shower. Complimentary shower products were also provided.

Lots of work space for business travellers.

Can't comment on room service as we didn't order anything, however we did sample the golf lunch bar in the day and everything was reasonably priced and the food was of a good standard. This got filled with golfers very quickly (we also spotted a few famous snooker players whilst in here!).

In the evening we sampled Brown's cafe which was extremely nice although quite expensive (although probably not expensive for regulars!). A 2 course meal and 1 round of drinks came to almost £70. However the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The continental breakfast the next morning was fantastic too. Such a massive variety of foods to choose from. I obviously went for the full English (it's gotta be done!) and it was divine.

The reception staff were also very helpful, ordering us a taxi the next morning to take the short ride into Knutsford.

Unfortunately I forgot my swimwear so didn't get to sample the pool/spa area.

Overall, brilliant hotel, very high quality in all ways.

Only downside, this definitely is a hotel just for golfers. During the day we went to venture out on foot to see what we could find, and there was nothing for miles, so because we were there due to winning a competition and nothing else (i.e. to play golf) we got bored pretty quick. I'm sure my OH would have been satisfied laid on the bed all day watching TV and relaxing, but I get itchy feet and want to explore! We did have a good wander around the hotel and the golf grounds, which were extremely pleasant, but theres only so much walking you can do on a golf pitch!

To see video footage of our room, follow this link that I have put on Youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8OuXq_pGuns

Perfect for golfers or couples wanting an extra relaxing weekend, and those that don't forget their swimwear!

Room Tip: Different rooms offer different views so if you have a specific view in mind, ask when booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLouise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Went for 1 night spa break with 3 friends with treatment, dinner and breakfast included. Hotel is very nice, staff very helpful and friendly and the spa is good too. Food very good -can't really criticise this hotel! Nicely decorated and clean. Would definitely recommend - not bad value for money either.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nice_hotel_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing